From a Killer's Mind

From a Killer's Mind

by Jason Helford

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

From a Killer's Mind by Jason Helford

"Fans of Thomas Harris' The Silence of the Lambs and Shane Stevens' By Reason of Insanity may find a new favorite author here."
- Kirkus Reviews

John has been a successful serial killer for his entire adult life, committed to his craft without detection or disruption. He’s spent years perfecting his process and meticulously planning out each kill, honing his abilities to horrible heights; however, when one kill doesn’t go as planned, his confidence is shattered, and his dark life starts down an even darker road, to either his salvation…or his ultimate downfall. John finds his private sanctum infiltrated by chaotic characters from the most unlikely of places, putting him through an existential crisis of the soul. As John loses control, his true crucible begins.

From a Killer’s Mind, the debut novel of writer Jason Helford, is a mind-bending, scary, and emotionally honest trip through the life of a serial killer, laying bare the killer’s soul for all readers to see. The remarkable twist at the core of this novel is something that will leave you open-mouthed, shocked, and completely hooked, until the very last page.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940045186315
Publisher: Jason Helford
Publication date: 07/30/2013
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 446,574
File size: 348 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Jason Helford is a first time author, having recently published his debut novel, From a Killer’s Mind, in July of 2013. He’s a devoted husband and father, an avid comic book collector and an enthusiastic craft beer drinker. Prizing originality and creativity more than anything else, his favorite authors are Hunter S. Thompson, Chuck Palahniuk, Ray Bradbury, Terry Brooks, Margaret Weis, Tracy Hickman, Robert Asprin and Albert Camus. Please don’t be offended if you are an author and your name wasn’t mentioned, he probably likes you, too. He lives in Maryland with his wife, Bella, his daughter, Maddie, and his goofy dog, Sunset.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

From a Killer's Mind 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Title: A Publisher’s Read From a Killer’s Mind by Jason Helford Reviewed by K. Royce 7/24/16 8:00 p.m. John has a need that drives his every move. This need tells him when to eat, when to wake up and when to go “shopping”. After one of his shopping trips, to get a middle-aged blonde woman, things begin to unravel. A passing sign triggers some repressed memories of his childhood abuse and causes John to start a break from reality. Things continue to spiral out of John’s control when he gets home and has further dissociative blackouts. When he finally comes to, a woman is die. And once the police are involved, John fears he will no longer be able to hide his dark side. Jason Helford gives the reader a disturbing glance into the mind of a serial killer. The kind of story that should not be read alone at night, well honestly it doesn’t matter when its read. This story lingers within your thoughts long after the pages have stopped turning. It is believed that matters of the psyche always leave readers examining their own consciousness. And when the author starts a story at 100mph, not conforming to similar books within this genre which take a steady pace, hooking the reader after several chapters and some never find that sweet spot, “From a Killer’s Mind” is the opposite. This read plagues the mind and hooks readers instantaneously. This read is for anyone that enjoys a good thrill. It is not a typical horror story where after a few chapters the plot is easily figured out. The twists continue to come from start to finish and the language of the story pulls the reader in, almost as if they are the one suffering the psychotic break. Helford’s writing style and descriptions of the crime scene are not for the faint of heart, but if that can be tolerated this book is definitely worth a read. I give this story 5 out of 5 stars. Enjoy! K. Royce
77517 More than 1 year ago
A psychological thriller! Detailed murders that paint a vivid scene putting you right in the midst of it all. This is one of those books that lingered in my mind when I had to put it down. The killer, John, is beyond demented. Haunted by what I would call his horrific and very abusive childhood. His true feelings manifest into what the Author describes as deformed cherubim beings, that are far from angelic. Poor John only feels peace while acting out his plans of murder. Once his feelings manifest into these beings, the peace eludes him. This causes John to have flashbacks of his torturous childhood. It doesn’t stop there, not by a long shot. Soon John’s cherubim are joined by manifestations of his mother and father. Inflicting more and more memories to arise. Causing more and more turmoil. This in turn, makes John step outside of his usual meticulous planning, in search of the peace and control he craves. After a failed attempt at gaining his peace. He somewhat learns to control these manifestations with his mind, by thinking of them doing something and they respond by doing what his thoughts entail. John tests this process by sending them on test run, away from him. Once away from John, his manifestations take their on their own personalities. The groups splits up. Some cross paths with citizens and police. Sending John’s already chaotic world into a tailspin. The concept of this story is mind boggling. I absolutely loved it. So many unexpected twists and turns. It definitely kept me guessing. The details jumped right off the page holding me hostage to the graphic horror of “A Killer’s Mind”. If blood and gore make you queasy this might not be a book for you. If you’re a fan, I recommend you snatch this one up. You won’t be disappointed.
GReba More than 1 year ago
This book is so TWISTED! Though the story walks the line of psychological thriller, making you think you are forever in his head as the other beings come into play, the truth is a bit harder to digest.  I mean there is actual interaction between his "other selves" and the world at large....grant it they definitely wish they never met them, but that's beside the point...and yet when the final curtain is falling, nothing.  Just POOF.  I will admit, the powers of interaction the author bestowed upon these others was curious; what they could and couldn't do, how they listened and whether their response was what John intended, and then of course there's the way they can umm...."process" his targets. Then there's the fact that we're experiencing everything John is and watching him struggle with reality from the inside out is pretty darn trippy. In short, a story perfect for the time of year for fans of dark Fiction and/or Horror.  It can be quite graphic at times and in truth, paints anything but a pretty picture; then again, when your medium is flesh and blood (emphasis on the blood), I do believe it was never meant to be.  So consider this for your next creepy-in-your-face read...you won't be sorry! **review copy received in exchange for my honest review....full post can be seen on my site*
Book_Addict76 More than 1 year ago
Wow. I loved this book! It was scary, thrilling, very well-written, and the twist was a complete surprise. It's a very fast-paced read that I could not put down. I don't want to give anything away because the plot is so unexpected, but this is the most original take on a serial killer story that I have ever read. The character development is so interesting; I really got inside the mind of the main character, John. It's so hard writing a review of this book without ruining the surprise for everyone, but I had to take a shot at posting my review. Can't wait to check out this author's next book. I totally recommend this book to anyone who likes psychological thrillers, and good fiction in general.