by Cherie Claire

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Years have passed since the Acadian Gallant family was separated from their patriarch during the British exile from Nova Scotia, but Gabrielle and her mother refuse to give up. They travel to the sleepy shores of Bayou Teche for Joseph Gallant's return, while Gabrielle also waits for a visit from Captain Jean Bouclaire, a Louisiana privateer who has stolen her heart.

Captain Jean Bouclaire has finally decided to settle down and he knows the right woman to ask. On his way to join Gabrielle he is challenged to a deadly duel that results in his exile from the Louisiana Territory. Now a fugitive, he must decide whether to flee the colony or risk his life for one last glimpse of his dark Acadian beauty.

"Ms. Claire's characters are vividly portrayed against the atmosphere of the swampland, and living in exile in a strange land and dealing with all that it entails. I felt I was right there with Jean and Gabrielle."
--Suzanne Coleburn, The Belles and Beaux of Romance

"Ms. Claire's treatment of the Acadians' (Cajuns') removal from Canada and their difficulties in settling in Louisiana are richly described. These are passionate people who are forced to endure hardships and who survive in spite of them. It is love that propels them to continue the search for happiness. This is a well-learned lesson for us all."
--Romantic Times Magazine

"The story is just chock-full of action and keeps the readers enthralled as it races to an end."
--The Romance Journal

• Historical American romance, set in Louisiana in 1769
• Book Three of Cherie's The Cajuns series
• A full-length novel of 90,000 words (about 365 printed book pages)
• R-rated content: Steamy love scenes!
• Originally published by Kensington Publishing Co. (Ballad Books)

The Cajuns series follows a family of Acadians (Cajuns) who travel to South Louisiana and start anew after being exiled from their Nova Scotia home. The first three books follow the Gallant sisters as they attempt to reunite with their father in the wilds of Louisiana and Delphine (Book Four) takes place during Louisiana's role in the American Revolution. The Dugas family saga continues with A Cajun Dream (Book Five) and The Letter (Book Six). For a family tree, visit

The Cajuns historical saga
Book One: Emilie
Book Two: Rose
Book Three: Gabrielle
Book Four: Delphine
Book Five: A Cajun Dream
Book Six: The Letter

The Cajun Embassy contemporary series
Book One: Ticket to Paradise
Book Two: Damn Yankees
Book Three: Gone Pecan

Viola Valentine Mystery series
Book One: A Ghost of a Chance
Book Two: Ghost Town

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158508745
Publisher: Cherie Claire
Publication date: 05/21/2016
Series: Cherie Claire's Cajun Series , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 466,012
File size: 856 KB

About the Author

Cherie Claire is the award-winning author of The Cajun Series of historical romances, including Emilie, Rose, Gabrielle, Delphine, A Cajun Dream and The Letter, and The Cajun Embassy of contemporary romances, including Ticket to Paradise, Damn Yankees and Gone Pecan. She lives in South Louisiana where she works as a travel and food writer when not indulging in Cajun culture. Visit and write to her at .

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Gabrielle 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. I cried at the end. You need to read them all in order. I'm ready to order Delphines story now. So excited.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A pirate, a strong woman, and a hot romance in sultry Louisiana . . . what more can you ask for in a historical? With a thrilling plot, Cherie Claire keeps the reader turning the pages, and the historical detail is added seamlessly. If you've read the first two books in this trilogy, you've been waiting for this touching ending--and you won't be disappointed. This story stands well alone, but if you haven't read the earlier books already, it will make you want to run out and buy them!