I Kill the Mockingbird

I Kill the Mockingbird

by Paul Acampora
4.6 5

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.67
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora

When Lucy, Elena, and Michael receive their summer reading list, they are excited to see To Kill A Mockingbird included. But not everyone in their class shares the same enthusiasm. So they hatch a plot to get the entire town talking about the well-known Harper Lee classic. They plan controversial ways to get people to read the book, including re-shelving copies of the book in bookstores so that people think they are missing and starting a website committed to "destroying the mockingbird." Their efforts are successful when all of the hullabaloo starts to direct more people to the book. But soon, their exploits start to spin out of control and they unwittingly start a mini revolution in the name of books.

I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora is a middle grade novel perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird andGo Set a Watchman. This title has Common Core connections.

“The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud. . . . You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand.” —The Bulletin

“Fans of Janet Tashjian's The Gospel According to Larry series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement. . . . Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment.” —VOYA

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781626720572
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication date: 05/20/2014
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 275,545
File size: 656 KB
Age Range: 10 - 14 Years

About the Author

Paul Acampora is an avid reader, an enthusiastic dad, and a ferocious fan of being human. Paul lives in Allentown, Pennsylvania, with his wife and two kids. Paul is a frequent contributor to the Scholastic Storyworks magazine. I Kill the Mockingbird is his third novel for young readers.
Paul Acampora is an avid reader, an enthusiastic dad, and a ferocious fan of being human. His first novel Defining Dulcie received starred review from Publisher's Weekly, School Library Journal and Booklist, and was a School Library Journal Best Books of 2006 and a VOYA Top Ten. Paul lives in Allentown, PA with his wife and two kids.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I Kill the Mockingbird 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
Mr. Acampora’s latest book is titled I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD (Roaring Brook Press (May 20, 2014)). The book is a middle grade novel about 3 friends and their school’s summer reading list. Harper Lee’s TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD is on the list and was a favorite of the kid’s English teacher who suddenly passed away at the end of the school year. The friends hatch a plan to honor their teacher by getting everyone talking about and wanting to read the classic novel by making copies of the book scarce. As their plan starts to work, the kids realize they started something much bigger than they expected. I really liked Mr. Acampora’s last book, RACHEL SPINELLI PUNCHED ME IN THE FACE, and was anxious to read I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD. I personally have not read TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD yet, but it is definitely going on my “to be read” list after reading Mr. Acampora's book! The characters in I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD are very realistic middle school-aged characters and it made them enjoyable to read about. I love all of the humor in the book, and it even made me laugh during the more tense parts because of it. I loved the Christmas pictures scene, Fat Bob, the scene where Michael was reading FAHRENHEIT 451. Overall, the book is a quick read but there is an awesome story packed into those 176 pages!
lovelybookshelf More than 1 year ago
I Kill the Mockingbird is such a clever novel! Best friends Lucy, Elena, and Michael come up with an idea to honor the memory of Mr. Nowak, one of their favorite teachers: They want to get everyone to want to read To Kill a Mockingbird. You know how sometimes demand increases as supply decreases? Well, their campaign feeds upon that effect, and quickly becomes bigger than they ever imagined! A backdrop to the novel is how Lucy and her family are dealing with the aftermath of her mother's cancer scare: "Books carried us away. They'd definitely carried me through this past year." This is handled in a positive but genuine way. I usually make copious notes to myself as I read, but I was so involved in this short little book, and ripped through it so quickly, I made no notes at all! This is a fun, smart read with sweet characters who obviously care about each other deeply, and it is chock full of moments that will resonate with fellow book lovers. I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
TeacherAnn More than 1 year ago
I loved a lot of it, but the main point was also a bit obscure.
Carnitas_Fever More than 1 year ago
Lucy and her two best friends love to read.  As Jr. High comes to a close, their English teacher gives them a reading list for the summer.   One of the books, To Kill a Mockingbird, is on the list.  As Lucy's favorite book, she is afraid that having the book on a required reading  list will destroy any interest for other students. Lucy and her friends begin a campaign to get everyone to read, To Kill a Mockingbird.  Is their plan spiraling out of their control?   Will they be able to contain the anarchy they created, just to get other kids to read a classic book? The story makes a good social statement about "classic" books.  To some, they are classic because they are good.   To others, they are classic because someone else says tells them they are supposed to be good.   Only we can be the judge, but in order to be the judge, you have to read it. This is a trio of great characters, who are supported by a town of other strange and interesting characters.   Now I want to know what they are going to read next summer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My friend was reading this and it really looks interesting. I will continue to look for it in paperback.