I Wish You All the Best

I Wish You All the Best

by Mason Deaver

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Overview


Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's stunning debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.

"Heartfelt, romantic, and quietly groundbreaking. This book will save lives." -- Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

It's just three words: I am nonbinary. But that's all it takes to change everything.

When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they're thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met. Struggling with an anxiety disorder compounded by their parents' rejection, they come out only to Hannah, Thomas, and their therapist and try to keep a low profile in a new school.

But Ben's attempts to survive the last half of senior year unnoticed are thwarted when Nathan Allan, a funny and charismatic student, decides to take Ben under his wing. As Ben and Nathan's friendship grows, their feelings for each other begin to change, and what started as a disastrous turn of events looks like it might just be a chance to start a happier new life.

At turns heartbreaking and joyous, I Wish You All the Best is both a celebration of life, friendship, and love, and a shining example of hope in the face of adversity.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781338306125
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date: 05/14/2019
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 1,439
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author


Mason Deaver is a non-binary author and librarian from a small town in North Carolina where the word "y'all" is used in abundance. When they aren't writing or working, they're typically found in their kitchen baking something that's bad for them or out in their garden complaining about the toad that likes to dig holes around their hydrangeas. I Wish You All the Best is their debut novel. You can find them online at masondeaverwrites.com.

Read an Excerpt

"I . . ." I can do this. Just keep breathing.

There's that tightness in my stomach, like something is just twisting and twisting and it won’t let go until the moment is over. And everything will unravel, and I'll feel free.

"I wanted to tell you two something."

Dad looks at me now.

This is it.

It's kinda funny actually; the script I wrote for myself, the one I typed in Word so I'd cover everything I wanted to, it's just totally gone from my memory now. Like someone zapped it all away.

Maybe that's for the best; maybe this is how I'll be the most honest with them.

If it just comes from me and not some rehearsed version of myself, maybe that will help; maybe that'll be better?

I tell them. Slowly.

At first, relief floods over me. I think I can actually feel myself relax.

I just wish that feeling could've lasted longer.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I Wish You All the Best 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Ellis_Jones 7 days ago
I can never get enough of #OwnVoices stories. Mason's book meant everything to me; as a non-binary person I never had any representation growing up. I knew I didn't belong and I knew I was different but I never knew why and I never had a term for it. I feel like this book is going to chance so many lives in the way that i changed mine. This book showed me there's not only one way to be non binary and there's no such thing as being non-binary enough. Everyone needs to read this, not only enby/trans people, but advocates. Schools, Libraries, Parents. Everyone needs to pick this up because I'm sure you'll be able to relate to a character in a way.
Ellis_Jones 7 days ago
I can never get enough of #OwnVoices stories. Mason's book meant everything to me; as a non-binary person I never had any representation growing up. I knew I didn't belong and I knew I was different but I never knew why and I never had a term for it. I feel like this book is going to chance so many lives in the way that i changed mine. This book showed me there's not only one way to be non binary and there's no such thing as being non-binary enough. Everyone needs to read this, not only enby/trans people, but advocates. Schools, Libraries, Parents. Everyone needs to pick this up because I'm sure you'll be able to relate to a character in a way.
Ellis_Jones 7 days ago
I can never get enough of #OwnVoices stories. Mason's book meant everything to me; as a non-binary person I never had any representation growing up. I knew I didn't belong and I knew I was different but I never knew why and I never had a term for it. I feel like this book is going to chance so many lives in the way that i changed mine. This book showed me there's not only one way to be non binary and there's no such thing as being non-binary enough. Everyone needs to read this, not only enby/trans people, but advocates. Schools, Libraries, Parents. Everyone needs to pick this up because I'm sure you'll be able to relate to a character in a way.
Anonymous 11 days ago