If I Cry I'll Fill the Ocean: The Catherine Linehan Story

If I Cry I'll Fill the Ocean: The Catherine Linehan Story

by Ida Linehan Young
If I Cry I'll Fill the Ocean: The Catherine Linehan Story

If I Cry I'll Fill the Ocean: The Catherine Linehan Story

by Ida Linehan Young



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


Set in North Harbour, Newfoundland, this is one woman’s true story of fortitude and love. In a life layered by tragedy and loss, Catherine Linehan’s ingrained response is to put one foot in front of the other and not succumb to grief. For the mother of ten children, five of whom perished in a house fire, this means “making some kind of best” out of the rest of her life. If I Cry I’ll Fill the Ocean is the true story of how tears of cleansing and forgiveness are sacrificed to keep memories alive . . . and sanity in reach. This kind of courage only exists in the hearts and souls of those who have endured the unendurable. “An amazing, shattering story told by an amazing, unshatterable woman.” — Marjorie Simmins, Author, Journalist, and Teacher

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781774570753
Publisher: Flanker Press
Publication date: 04/15/2022
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

First and foremost, Ida Linehan Young is a grandmother to the most precious little boys, Parker and Samuel, a mother to three adult children, Sharon, Stacey, and Shawna, and a wife to Thomas. In her busy daily life, Ida works in the information technology sector of the federal government of Canada, and she volunteers her time in the community of Conception Bay South with the Kiwanis Club of Kelligrews. Ida had a fascination with writing in her high school days, when she dabbled in poetry and essays. In 2012, she became serious about her writing with a story to tell, and that led to her memoir, No Turning Back: Surviving the Linehan Family Tragedy, in 2014. Having found a passion for writing, and with a love of local history and lore, she published four works of historical fiction: Being Mary Ro (2018), The Promise (2019), The Liars (2020), and The Stolen Ones (2021). In June 2021, the first three novels were issued the Silver Medal for Best Series—Fiction by the Independent Publisher Book Awards. The fourth novel in the series, The Stolen Ones, won the NL Reads 2022 competition and the Margaret Duley Award. With strong influences from the familial art of storytelling passed down by her father, Ed Linehan, and her maternal grandfather, Frank Power, Ida writes stories about her beloved province, Newfoundland and Labrador. She enjoys researching events of the late nineteenth century and weaving fictional characters through historical tales that complement that cultural richness, renewing interest in the province’s storied past.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews