In the Process of Becoming: Analytic and Philosophical Perspectives on Form in Early Nineteenth-Century Music

In the Process of Becoming: Analytic and Philosophical Perspectives on Form in Early Nineteenth-Century Music

by Janet Schmalfeldt


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, January 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780190258184
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 03/03/2017
Series: Oxford Studies in Music Theory Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Janet Schmalfeldt is Professor of Music at Tufts University. She has taught at McGill University and at Yale, where she was awarded the Clauss Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Humanities. In 1997-99 she served as President of the Society for Music Theory. Her publications include Berg's "Wozzeck": Harmonic Language and Dramatic Design (Yale, 1983) and numerous journal articles.

Table of Contents


Chapter 1 Introduction: The Idea of Musical Form as Process

Chapter 2 The Beethoven-Hegelian Tradition and the "Tempest" Sonata
- Formation of the Tradition
- Dahlhaus and the "Tempest" Sonata
- Post-Dahlhausian Critiques
- The question of a secondary theme
- Introduction or main theme
- ST2 and the final cadence of the exposition

Chapter 3 The Processual Legacy of the Late Eighteenth Century
- Haydn-String Quartet in C Major, Op. 33, No. 3 (Hob. III:39), first movement
- Haydn-Piano Trio in C Major (Hob. XV:27), finale
- Clementi-Piano Sonata in F Minor, Op. 13, No. 6, first movement
- Mozart-Le nozze di Figaro, Act I, No. 7, Trio in B-flat

Chapter 4 Beethoven's "Bridgetower" Sonata, Op. 47

Chapter 5 On Performance, Analysis, and Schubert
- Schubert-Piano Sonata in A Minor, Op. 42, D. 845

Chapter 6 Music that Turns Inward: New Roles for Interior Movements and Secondary Themes
- Schubert-Allegro in A Minor for Four Hands, "Lebensstürme," D. 947
- Schubert-Piano Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 100, D. 929

Chapter 7 Mendelssohn the "Mozartean"
- String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 13: opening of the finale
- The Piano Trio in D Minor, Op. 49, first movement: opening of the exposition
- The Octet, Op. 20
- The finale
- The opening of the first movement
- More on Mendelssohn's codas: Overture to Midsummer Night's Dream and the Scherzo of the D-minor Piano Trio

Chapter 8 sed non eodem modo: Chopin's Ascending-Thirds Progression and his Cello Sonata, Op. 65
- Overview with respect to Chopin's genres
- First movement of the Cello Sonata: Allegro moderato
-Third movement of the Cello Sonata: Largo

Chapter 9 Coming Home
- Robert Schumann-"Mondnacht," from Liederkreis, Op. 39
- Robert Schumann-"Widmung," from Myrthen, Op. 25
- Clara Schumann-"Die stille Lotosblume," Op. 13, No. 6
- Robert Schumann-Arabeske, Op. 18
- Robert Schumann-Fantasie, Op. 17




Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews