Key to Conflict

Key to Conflict

by Talia Gryphon
3.4 12

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Key to Conflict by Talia Gryphon

Meet Gillian Key. She’s a paramortal psychologist, who can treat the mental distress of nonhumans. And she’s a Marine Special Forces operative, who can get physical with them when the situation calls for it.
 
Gillian’s two worlds collide when she travels to the Carpathian Mountains in Romania to counsel the local master vampire, Count Aleksei Rachlav. His therapy serves as the perfect cover for her special ops mission: to infiltrate local vampire factions who may be allied with Rachlav’s enemy—the legendary Dracula.
 
As a brewing turf war between those who favor peaceful co-existence with humans and those who see them as food begins to rock the paranormal realm, Gillian finds herself caught in the middle, and at the mercy of her dangerously attractive host. Her professional ethics tell her to keep her distance—but besides being both a healer and a fighter, Gillian Key is also very much a woman.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101208564
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 05/29/2007
Series: Gillian Key , #1
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 261,367
File size: 762 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Key to Conflict 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The previous reviewer did her usual great synopsis of the book, so I will not get into detail. However, my personal opinion of the book is much different. There was alot of over explaining done in the story, it was a bit jumpy at times, Gillian most of the time did not come across as a stereotypical confident marine: couple that with her untherapeutic attitude as parapyschologist,ugh.I think that is what got to me the most. Gillian was not that empathetic, despite being an empath. And the rule of dating your patient after a year was changed a long time ago. Plus, come on, having sex with two brothers and virtual being sexually assualted by a ghost( but thats ok?) is pushing even my limits.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Marine Corps Special Ops Captain Gillian Key is also a Paramortal psychologist who uses her black ops training and experience when called upon by her superiors. Currently, she is in Romania at the request of the Master Vampire Count Aleksei Rachlav, who needs her help with depression and fangxiety. She is also working with a six century old ghost who haunts a bed and breakfast scaring away customers. Finally Gillian is on a solo military mission. --- It seems that Dracula has returned and is making his presence felt as he believes unlike the vampire lines of Osiris and Dionysius that humans are meals or slaves. The Count has gathered a powerful army of vampires and other paranormal species wanting the current order overturned. He intends to use his minions to initially destroy his enemies amidst his peers like Aleksei before conquering humanity. Gillian, caught in the middle of the upcoming war finds herself caring for Aleksei who is falling in love with the ops shrink. Both intend to be warriors in the fight to kill Dracula and keep the Paramortal-human treaty alive. --- Urban fantasy readers will welcome Talia Gryphon whose thriller will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelly Armstrong. The heroine at first glance seems like a weak human to her kind and to ancient immortals, but she is a petite dynamo who proves she is mentally and physically strong leading to the audience admiring her pluck, skills, and courage. She fears love and keeps her relationships on a distant plateau although Aleksei may prove to be her match as he keeps creeping closer to her heart. Four centuries of life has taught the hero that the KEY TO CONFLICT or for that matter living is adapting old world customs to female equality. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
1234NEWLUBBOCK More than 1 year ago
I loved the books. I can't wait for another one. I readed all the books in 2 weeks, could not put them down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MinnerRae More than 1 year ago
I've read just about everything there is in the Dark Urban Fantasy genre and have been dissappointed with a lot of my recent reads so I was really happy when I get into this one and found fun characters with lots of personality and an interesting twist on an adventure that included a wide range of supernatural critters. I read all 3 of the books in under a week.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago