Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Lost Creatures

Lost Creatures

by S. G. Browne
Lost Creatures

Lost Creatures

by S. G. Browne

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The new collection of short stories from the author of Breathers and Lucky Bastard.

A family of luck poachers receives a phone call that sets them off in the hopes of reversing their bad fortune. At a singles mixer for chemical elements, a luminous-yet-jaded Neon looks for love, or at least a one-night exothermic reaction. When blue skies turn gray and the daikaiju siren blares, the ten-year-old daughter of the local weatherman discovers her destiny. And washed-up evildoers live out their meaningless lives at a retirement home for villains—you never know when someone might turn the swimming pool into a shark pit, or bring a death ray to Taco Tuesday.

From the imagination of S.G. Browne comes a collection of fourteen short stories of downtrodden luck poachers, lovelorn chemical elements, obsolete villains, disillusioned children, trademarked teenagers, outcast reindeer, victimized zombies, and time-traveling alcoholics—many of them lost and searching for answers. Some of them find what they're looking for, while one or two discover that childhood dreams can come true.

Lost Creatures is a blend of fantasy, science fiction, dark comedy, and magical realism. Fans of Kelly Link's Get in Trouble and Karen Russell's Vampires in the Lemon Grove will find a lot to enjoy in this collection.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940162398202
Publisher: S. G. Browne
Publication date: 05/17/2021
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

S.G. Browne is the author of the novels Breathers, Fated, Lucky Bastard, Big Egos, and Less Than Hero, as well as the short story collection Shooting Monkeys in a Barrel and the heartwarming holiday novella I Saw Zombies Eating Santa Claus. He’s an ice cream connoisseur, Guinness aficionado, cat shelter volunteer, and a sucker for It’s a Wonderful Life. You can learn more about his writing at www.sgbrowne.com.

Customer Reviews