Mallawindy: A Mallawindy Novel 1

Mallawindy: A Mallawindy Novel 1

by Joy Dettman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $12.72 Save 14% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $12.72. You Save 14%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


The first novel by the bestselling author of the Woody Creek series

"We ride the crests and troughs of the Burtons' 30-year history with open mouths and saucer eyes ... Dettman is an adept storyteller" The Age

Ann Burton was born on a river bank the night her father tried to burn their house down.

Six years later her sister Liza disappears while they are staying at their uncle's property. What Ann sees that day robs her of her memory and her speech.

Ann escapes her anguished childhood, finding love and a new life away from Mallawindy.

But there is no escape from the Burton family and its dark secrets.

Ann must return to Mallawindy and confront the past if she is ever to be free.


"A highly competent and confident debut novel" Sunday Telegraph

"A compelling story ... it holds promise of further enthralling fiction from its author" Canberra Times

"A rich and engrossing read; a tale of page-turning suspense and mystery ... Mallawindy will grab you hook, line and sinker" Queensland Times

Fans of Rosalie Ham's The Dressmaker will love Joy Dettman.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781742623825
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publication date: 11/10/2007
Series: Mallawindy , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
File size: 684 KB

About the Author

Joy Dettman was born in Echuca, Victoria, and now lives in Melbourne with her husband and Footrot, the dog. It was a creative writing course in 1988 that helped to turn a lifelong interest into an obsession. The mother of four, Joy is a full-time writer and published author of several award-winning short stories as well as her best-selling novels Jacaranda Blue, Goose Girl, Yesterday's Dust and The Seventh Day.

Joy Dettman sees herself as a wife, mother and grandmother, who steals time from her family to satisfy her obsessive need to write.

Joy was not always a wife, mother and grandmother. She can recall her early obsession with newspaper cartoons. They were her picture books. A newspaper shoutline allowed her to break the code of reading prior to entering a school room, thus addicting her for life to the printed word.

Joy's early draft of Woody Creek, single spaced, margin to margin, messy, was typed on the family room table, where in 1986-7, she wrote Mallawindy. Her number one fan, her little sister, read it, and for the next ten years, publication became their joint obsession.

In 1997, she received a phone call from Pan Macmillan. Mallawindy was accepted for publication and by '98 Joy and her number one fan held that book in their hands.

Her other books include: Jacaranda Blue, Goose Girl, Yesterday's Dust, The Seventh Day, Henry's Daughter, One Sunday, Diamonds in the Mud, and bestselling the Woody Creek series.

Woody Creek originated as a novel, in the singular, but its characters too long buried, would not be contained. It grew into a series of six - Pearl in a Cage, Thorn on the Rose, Moth to the Flame, Wind in the Wires and Ripples on a Pond, the latest instalment being The Tying of Threads.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews