Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld

Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld

by Catherine Lloyd
Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld

Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld

by Catherine Lloyd

eBook

$12.99  $22.10 Save 41% Current price is $12.99, Original price is $22.1. You Save 41%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details

Overview

From the author of the critically acclaimed Kurland St. Mary series, this new historical mystery series is “a charming cross between a Regency romance and a well‑constructed detective story” (Kirkus Reviews), and will appeal to fans of Victoria Thompson and Deanna Raybourn.

Lady Caroline is happy to be back amid the swirl of London society, guiding her employer’s daughter, Dorothy Frogerton, through her first Season. Dorothy has been declared “an original” by a patron of the exclusive social club, Almack’s, and is sifting through potential suitors. Mrs. Frogerton, meanwhile, finds her own diversions, including spiritualist gatherings at the home of Madam Lavinia, and begs Caroline to come along.
 
Caroline is skeptical of Madam’s antics and faux French accent—until she slips a note into Caroline’s hand, which contains intimate family knowledge. Even as Caroline tries to discern whether the spiritualist’s powers are real, a much darker mystery presents itself. Madam Lavinia is found lifeless in her chair, a half-empty glass of port at her elbow. In her desk is a note addressed to Caroline, entreating her to find her murderer.
 
Caroline needs no psychic abilities to determine a motive, for it seems that Madam was blackmailing some of her clients and has left a trail of aggrieved aristocrats behind. But as Caroline and Mrs. Frogerton investigate further, they find other suspects, and a litany of deceptions, some very close to home. Now Caroline will need to keep all her wits about her if she is to stop others from joining Madam Lavinia in the afterlife . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781496740632
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 08/22/2023
Series: A Miss Morton Mystery , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 13,703
File size: 617 KB

About the Author

Catherine Lloyd was born just outside London, England, into a large family of dreamers, artists, and history lovers. She completed her education with a master’s degree in history at the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, and uses the skills she gained there to research and write her historical mysteries. Catherine currently lives in Hawaii with her husband and four children. Her website is located at www.catherine-lloyd.com.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews