NEVER SETTLED: a memoir of a boy on the road to manhood

NEVER SETTLED: a memoir of a boy on the road to manhood

by Shawn D. Congleton
NEVER SETTLED: a memoir of a boy on the road to manhood

NEVER SETTLED: a memoir of a boy on the road to manhood

by Shawn D. Congleton


$8.99  $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers


Imagine moving nearly 80 times and living in almost 20 states before graduating high school. This is the story of a young boy growing up on the road. Shawn D. Congleton shares his account of overcoming his life's challenges, of never settling, that included poverty, constant change, and an alcoholic and abusive father. He learned some memorable lessons along the way as he grew up in this most unforgettable experience and found hope to overcome.

Journey with him across the United States as he moves from his birthplace of Camp Pendleton, California to Indiana to Colorado and sixteen other states only to return to Camp Pendleton for Marine Corps boot camp where his life changes forever. Find the hope he found and never settle for what life throws at you!

"Readers will be glad that Shawn Congleton never settled for a life like the one in which he grew up. Now his story can give hope to hearts that are looking for a chance to be loved and to belong." Tanya Anderson, Award-Winning Author and Editor

"This memoir quickly drew me in and I found myself engulfed in the narrative." Jeremy Hudson, Pastor, Fellowship Church

"In a beautifully raw and compassionate way, Shawn invites us into his painful, yet hopeful story." Chris LeMaster, LPC

"This book, more than most others, was able to reach all five senses! It took me back on a nostalgic journey of childhood memories that I had previously tucked away." Todd Buck, Educator

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781087974224
Publisher: Shawn D. Congleton
Publication date: 08/14/2021
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 270
File size: 6 MB

About the Author

Shawn D. Congleton has lived a life on the move; moving nearly 80 times before he graduated and living in almost 20 states. Since that time, he has spent most of it in Ohio with his wife, Heidi and three girls, Morgan, Jordan, and Brooklyn. He has been an admin clerk for the United States Marine Corps, secretary for Wright State University, youth and young adult pastor at High Street Church of the Nazarene, church planter with Life House Community, secretary with Springfield-Clark Career Technology Center, school counselor for Dunbar High School and Springfield High School, and co-principal with his wife, Heidi at the Eagle & Dove Academy.

Table of Contents

Title Page



Waking Up (1991)

Steve (1991)

Not Moving (1990)

We Lost Jimmy (1984)

Loogootee Pt 1 (1980)

Loogootee Pt 2 (1981)

Loogootee Pt 2b (1981)

Dad's Beginnings (1947, 1965, 1973-1979)

The Summer Move (1982)

Loogootee Pt 3 (1982-1983)

Wandering (1975-1980)

The Last Days of Jimmy (1983-1984)

From Baby to Leader (1984-1985)

Growing Up Quickly (1985-1986)

Agate, Colorado Pt 1 (1986-1987)

Agate, Colorado Pt 2 (1987-1988)

Northglenn, Colorado (1988-1989)

Byers, Colorado Pt 1 (1989)

Byers, Colorado Pt 2 (1989)

Byers, Colorado Pt 3 (1989-1990)

Senior Year and Beyond (1990-1992)

Springfield, Ohio (Summer 1992)

MCRD San Diego (1992)

Camp Pendleton (1992)

Forgiveness (1992-1994)



Biographical Timeline

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews