A Promise Kept

A Promise Kept

by Cara Putman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157595111
Publisher: Whisper Valley Press
Publication date: 03/21/2017
Series: Buckeye Promises , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 451,049
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Cara Putman has loved to read as long as she can remember. Books have held the magic to transport her to times and places around the world, so it was natural for her to minor in history during college. That morphed into a love of Word War II history and the culture of the 1930s and 1940s, because she has an old soul in a youngish body. That love has resulted in award-winning novels the bring to life the untold stories of World War II in a way that readers can be swept into this time of conflict and romance.

An award-winning author of more than 25 books, Cara also writes legal thrillers and romantic suspense because she believes that no matter what happens hope is there, waiting for us to reach for it.
When she’s not writing, Cara is an over-educated attorney who lectures in law and communications at the Krannert School of Management at Purdue University and homeschools her children. She and her family live in Indiana, the land of seasons. You can read chapters for most of her books and connect with Cara at her website:

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Promise Kept 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Andrea_Renee_Cox 19 days ago
Grief Handled Gracefully Now this is how you write newlyweds! A tad bit of light innuendo, which I would expect from freshly-married young folks (trust me, y’all; this author handled this beautifully), but keeping chaste about what’s printed on the page. Josie and Art were obviously in love with each other, but it didn’t feel like I was experiencing the intimate details of the honeymoon phase of their marriage, thankfully. The sad portions of this book deal with things I cannot reveal due to spoilers. The author’s own experience comes into play, as she shares in the letter to the reader after the final chapter. I think she handled the difficult questions Josie and Art faced with grace and compassion. My heart ached both for the characters in the story and Mrs. Putman herself. I wish I could fully express how deeply I felt their pain. I might not have gone through the exact same thing, but I’ve experienced my own heartaches, so I know how deep that pain can go and how hard it is to climb back out of it. I know how difficult it is to trust God when I don’t understand the whys of the scenarios I’ve encountered. It’s brutal. It’s devastating. It’s clear across the country from “easy.” My heart aches at the losses these characters and this author have suffered. My prayers are with Mrs. Putman, for even now the pain might rear its hideous head. I was unaware of the child refugees that were sent out of England as WWII ramped up. That’s one thing I love about a Putman story: I’m always going to learn something. Thanks to her wonderful and thorough research, she teaches me as she entertains me. Love it! The varying emotions Casandra went through were expertly showcased, drawing my emotions out and further investing my heart into this story. She was a delight, and I cherished getting to know her. I hope she makes another appearance in books two and three of the Buckeye Promises series. Another five-star book from Mrs. Cara Putman, but I shouldn’t be surprised. Fans of Kim Vogel Sawyer and Carrie Turansky will appreciate the sweet and hopeful tones with which Mrs. Putman pens her tales. This story is an exquisite example of that.
lolly-pops 8 months ago
A PROMISE KEPT is the story of Katherine's (Kat in a Promise Forged) big sister. A PROMISE KEPT is more women's fiction than it is romance, as Josie and Art are married throughout the book and the story is more about how she adjusts to married life and how she wants children and how she supports or not her husband in a new job, a new home, a new city, away from family. I liked the way Josie kept in contact with her family. I wish Art would've done the same for his. As a mother of a married son I know how much it hurts when they go the extra mile for her family but you don't have a clue what is happening in your son's life. So I felt really sorry for Art's mom. His grandfather, however, seemed to be very sharp and kept his eye on his family and I love the way this book ended with grandfather's magic touch. This isn't a romance nor romantic suspense, but it is women's fiction. I received a copy free and have no obligation to review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Janna6 More than 1 year ago
Unlike most romances that end with a wedding, this book opens with the wedding and we then watch Art and Josie as they go through the first full year of marriage, good and bad. First there is moving away from the family in order to get a good job, then there is tragedy. If you have ever had a miscarriage, or maybe even more important, if you know someone that has but you don't know what to say, then this book is a gift. It will give you insight into what someone going through a miscarriage might be thinking and even the difference between how a man and a woman differ in their reaction to how they handle the miscarriage. This book also deals with life in Ohio during WWII, before the US enters the war, but when children from London were being sent over here to live. Art and Josie take in one of Art's distant cousins and they have to adjust to having an 8 year old when they are newlyweds. All in all this book is a good portrayl of how life is never perfect, its how we react that determines happiness or misery. So refreshing to read a book that didn't follow the usual romance recipe!