River of Time: Six Seasons of Tanka

River of Time: Six Seasons of Tanka

by Robert W. Barker


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The poems in this book are selection of Tanka poetry, written by the author in a period of a little over one year. The book is divided into six seasons, The First Late Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall, Early Winter, and The Second Late Winter. During this period of fourteeen months the ebb and flow of the river of his life carried him through many changes and challenges.

The early poems address a period of contemplation and preparing for change, as Going Home:

Relaxing my graps,

I let the small bird fly free;

And I watch, afraid.

Frantic wings carry her home;

Without wings, I am still, lost.

The final poem address a personal text of love, as in Love's Touch:

Speaking with silence,

Soft fatigue has settled here.

Quietly, we wait.

Leaving our thoughts unuttered.

Holding, touching, one more time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781475937541
Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date: 07/18/2012
Pages: 76
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.16(d)

Customer Reviews