Running Wide Open

Running Wide Open

by Lisa Nowak

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Cody really blew it this time.

Now he's getting shipped off to live with a black-sheep uncle who hasn't spoken to the family in years.

Is the guy completely crazy, or is he the first person in Cody's life who actually makes sense?

Cody might be willing to stick around long enough to find out--if his lousy luck doesn't yank the opportunity out from under him first.

If you're a fan of true-to-life books about kids with real problems, you'll love this humorous and heartwarming story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Laurie Halse Anderson, and John Green.

Buy it now to get started on the ultimate feel-good read.

"Nowak capably depicts a realistic, likable teenager with typical teenager flaws.... An endearing story about a teenager, his mentor, and what a difference true, unselfish love can make." ~ Kirkus Reviews

Named one of BookBub's "6 Seriously Awesome YA Books Even Adults Can Get Into."

"The roar of engines practically explodes off the page in this compelling, heart-thumping debut. Cody Everett is a straight-shooter with attitude, smarts, and whip-cracking wit; he doesn't pull any punches, and neither does author Lisa Nowak. The collision of Cody and the world of stock car racing makes for a great story, one of the best I've read in a long time. Running Wide Open is a book not to be missed." ~ Christine Fletcher, author of Tallulah Falls and Ten Cents a Dance

"I thoroughly enjoy Lisa Nowak's books and have especially enjoyed using her Full Throttle series in working with my students. The characters are all so believable and definitely relatable to adolescents. I find that the lessons they learn are valuable and at times similar to things my students are dealing with. In one student's case, I was able to draw from situations in the books to use as comparisons and possible solutions. It was great to not have to 'lecture.'" ~ Linda Ryan, School Counselor, Londonderry H.S.

Book 1 in the Full Throttle Series

Product Details

BN ID: 2940012964984
Publisher: Webfoot Publishing
Publication date: 06/04/2011
Series: Full Throttle , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

In addition to being a YA author, Lisa Nowak is a retired amateur stock car racer, an accomplished cat whisperer, and a professional smartass. She writes coming-of-age books about kids in hard luck situations who learn to appreciate their own value after finding mentors who love them for who they are. She enjoys dark chocolate and stout beer and constantly works toward employing wei wu wei in her life, all the while realizing that the struggle itself is an oxymoron.

Lisa has no spare time, but if she did she’d use it to tend to her expansive perennial garden, watch medical dramas, take long walks after dark, and teach her cats to play poker. For those of you who might be wondering, she is not, and has never been, a diaper-wearing astronaut. She lives in Milwaukie, Oregon, with her husband, several feline companions, and two giant sequoias.

Customer Reviews