Sabiha's Dilemma

Sabiha's Dilemma

by Amra Pajalic
Sabiha's Dilemma

Sabiha's Dilemma

by Amra Pajalic

eBook

FREE

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details

Overview

From award-winning young adult author Amra Pajalic comes a #ownvoices, found family, coming of age YA novel for fans of Melina Marchetta and John Green.

Sabiha and her mother Bahra are more than mother and daughter, they're best friends. It's been them against the world, with Sabiha being her mother's carer and confidante during her periodic bipolar breakdowns.

When their extended family comes to Australia, Bahra becomes a Born-Again-Muslim to impress them, and expects Sabiha to step in line as the perfect daughter. Can Sabiha play the part of the good daughter so that her mentally ill mother is accepted back into the Bosnian community?

Sabiha's Dilemma is the first in the Sassy Saints Series for fans of fake friendships, love triangles, loners and outcasts who are searching for belonging, and fierce and funny girls.


'Sabiha's Dilemma is a 'raw and honest story about duty and the desire to run free. A strong voice in Australian fiction.' MELINA MARCHETTA

'Rewarding, poignant and occasionally chuckle-out-loud funny,' Books Buzz.

'... would be excellent for class study as it concerns matters of modern Australian multiculturalism, the question of belonging and issues of identity. ' FICTION FOCUS

'... a candid, insightful story and a realistic portrayal of a teenager in crisis.' MAGPIES

'A funny and challenging debut novel that has been described as the Bosnian answer to Looking for Ali Brandi. Is a gritty and enjoyable novel, at times unflinching and dramatic.' CANBERRA TIMES

'... debut novel from new Melbourne author Amra Pajalic and it's one you won't want to miss! It's a funny and honest story about Sahiba, a teen girl growing up in Melbourne's western suburbs who's trying to deal with family traditions and her own desire to do what she wants. (5 stars).' GIRLFRIEND MAGAZINE

'Amra Pajalic writes with such honesty every young adult will empathise with her... While dealing with some ordinary "stuff" Pajalic's observations are sincere and often hilarious.' BENDIGO ADVERTISER

'This multi-cultural story is frustrating, funny and sad with an ending that promises there is still much more to tell about Sabiha's life. I hope so. Loved it. Want more!' THE READING STACK

'Insightful... A spirited debut novel.' HERALD SUN

'Written with a light and comic touch... Pajalic brings a fresh voice to Australian Young Adult fiction through a funny, endearing, tough and ultimately resilient, first-person narrator.' VIEWPOINT

'Rewarding, poignant and occasionally chuckle-out-loud funny.' BOOKS BUZZ


'I love Sabiha's Dilemma It had me in stitches. Hilarious, poignant, gutsy and real.' RANDA ABDEL-FATTAH

'Funny, sharp and insightful.' SIMMONE HOWELL

'Amra Pajalic's portrayal of what it means to be a teen growing up in Australia and caught between two cultures is spot on! There were times where I was sure she must have read my journals from my own youth. Told with honesty, tenderness, simplicity, wit and subtle wisdom, it's one of the stand out young adult novels I have read in many years and my own teen loved it too.' TESS WOODS

Product Details

BN ID: 2940186660729
Publisher: Pishukin Press
Publication date: 06/12/2022
Series: Sassy Saints Series , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 123,940
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

"Amra Pajalic is an award-winning author, an editor and teacher who draws on her Bosnian cultural heritage to write own voices stories for young people, who like her, are searching to mediate their identity and take pride in their diverse culture. Her short story collection The Cuckoo’s Song (Pishukin Press, 2022) features previously published and prize-winning stories. Her debut novel The Good Daughter, was published by Text Publishing in 2009 and won the 2009 Melbourne Prize for Literature’s Civic Choice Award and is re-released as Sabiha’s Dilemma (Pishukin Press, 2022).

Her memoir Things Nobody Knows But Me (Transit Lounge, 2019) was shortlisted for the 2020 National Biography Award. She is co-editor of the anthology Growing up Muslim in Australia (Allen and Unwin, 2014) which was shortlisted for the 2015 Children’s Book Council of the year awards. She works as a high school teacher and is completing a PhD in Creative Writing at La Trobe University.

Amra Pajalic publishes her dark fiction using pen name A. P.  Pajalic. She also publishes romance novels under pen name Mae Archer. "
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews