Seventh Night

Seventh Night

by Iscah

Hardcover

$27.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Seventh Night by Iscah

Once, a boy fell in love with a girl not long before a princess married a charming prince, and if the boy had been the prince or the girl had not been the princess, this might have been a simple fairytale romance.

But he wasn't, and she was. So things were complicated. And then there were the bandits and the poison and the kidnapping and the secrets and the betrayal and the monsters and the magic, the journey across the desert and the journey across the sea, and of course that tax issue.

In a land where unicorns are commonplace, life can start resembling a storybook. Everyone wants a happily ever after, but sometimes true love requires sacrifices...

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780983551942
Publisher: Amoeba Ink co.
Publication date: 11/07/2013
Pages: 260
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.75(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Seventh Night 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Bret_James_Stewart More than 1 year ago
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. And, to be honest, this is one of the best books I have ever read. The book involves a number of characters, but the protagonist is a heroine, Seventh Night, who is named after a harvest festival. Once I could get Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night out of my head, this worked for me. Iscah is telling the primordial faerie tale as if this is the original telling. As I was reading, I kept thinking, “Oh, okay, that’s where THAT comes from,” but, of course, it is the other way around, or is it? Faerie tales, part old wives’ tale, gnomic device, and psychological crux for how we humans view and deal with the world, are in a constant state of flux. Many of the tropes of folklore are present. Iscah handles these well and gently so they are never overriding or interfere with the story flow. Rumpelstiltskin, Snow White, and others are alluded to, or perhaps I should say, certain plot elements are shared. The presence of these tropes actually serves to make the story more enjoyable as it creates a sense of nostalgia for the world that never was and always will be. It reminded me of Tolkien in this respect. To say it plainly, Iscah has simply written a rousing good tale. The story is not mere dross smeared over a faerie tale canvas. The story would work on its own as the characters are well-developed, the interaction between characters believable, and the villains even have redeeming qualities (and we get to see some of their points of view, which is always a plus in my book). I fell in love with all the female characters except the haglings—some of whom, you might imagine, were actually maidens in disguise, which means I fell in love with them, too, afterward, but I digress. No, I don’t digress. I have a major crush on the sorceress (later Andomare); I haven’t been in love with a character so strongly since Laurana from Dragonlance or Eilonwy from The Prydain Chronicles. Anyway, the story follows the adventures of different sets of characters, with the primary being Seventh Night. Iscah switches back and forth between groups, including villains, and this makes the story fast-paced and gripping. The addition of the universal faerie tale tropes as mentioned above serve as the icing on the cake that is the story itself. The story itself is a romance, in the literary sense, in the vein of Shakespeare’s The Tempest or Arthurian legend. The combat scenes are exciting but not graphic. There is no profanity or sexual content. The world is enchanted, but not in an over the top way. Again, it would be along the lines of Arthurian legend, the world is much more fantastic and dangerous than our world, but enough of the normal is there to make it realistic and recognizable. This is a stylistic I truly enjoy. The book contains wizard of varying degrees of power, the creatures I mentioned above, and other folkloric entities such as a Cyclops, a sea serpent, and a moat monster. It is set in a sword and sorcery world, so there are knights, damsels in distress, and plenty of other fun things to encounter. My only fault with the book is that it is too short. Fortunately, Iscah is at work writing new material for the setting, including a new book about my girlfriend Andomare (hey, this is a fantasy, right?) Other characters are going to be addressed in the future, too, which makes reading Seventh Night an even better investment of your time.
HDavidBlalock More than 1 year ago
There's a plot to prevent the treaty between Cordance and Tivin, but the identity of the conspirator is a mystery. When the marriage between the princess of Tivin and the prince of Cordance is interrupted by an attempt on the prince's life, things begin to heat up in this delicious young adult fable. A beautiful princess, a magician's apprentice, a mysterious sorceress, and a surfeit of princes lead to a convoluted but enjoyable tale of intrigue, magic, betrayal, adventure, and true love. Iscah's "Seventh Night" is reminiscent of a cross between "The Princess Bride" and "The Last Unicorn". Her writing is clear, crisp, and precise. Her mastery of the ideas presented in the fable is obvious, and her story flows easily from page to page. Would that my own writing was so clear. I have been writing and editing for more than four decades and seldom have I seen a new writer with so much evident talent. I was privileged to meet Iscah at a recent event and she is as charming in person as her princess in the novel. I wish her every success and, if this novel is any indication, she might not need it.
joecpp More than 1 year ago
“Seventh Night” is an excellent fantasy eBook, filled with adventures and interesting characters.  There are several reasons to love this book:  • “Seventh Night” has a very clear conflict that needs resolution and there is a good sense of urgency since the beginning of the book. This keeps you interested and reading until the very end.  • The characters in this new book are down to earth and feel real. It is easy to love them and to hate them. And that is a good thing.  • The plot is very well thought and it has several turns and surprises at different times. Still, it is always clear and understandable. • It has an ending that will allow you to close your kindle with a peace of mind and a sense of closure, saying “done!”   I recommend “Seventh Night” to all readers who want to get involved in a nice and interesting fantasy saga that will last for some books and some years to come. 
AngRI More than 1 year ago
A great fantasy adventure My Review: I have been going back and forth on this review since finishing the story. I read the novella prequel "The Girl With No Name" which totally blew me out of the water, so many interesting twists that you couldn't stop reading. However Seventh Night at time hit some real lulls and I had to push on because I knew more adventure was to come. I must admit too that I wasn't a huge fan of the main character and namesake of the book, Seventh Night, she was just typical princess to me for most of the book. That said though I was totally thrilled to see The Girl with No Name return and I still loved her, as well as several other sub-characters (surprisingly enough I really enjoyed the male characters over the female when it is usually the other way around). There are several open ended storylines at the end of this book with no real conclusion for them and it really has me curious what happens to several of the characters after the story. I will come back for more because I have really come to love the unexpected twists and new adventures the author comes up with when the story is moving along. My favorite quote from the story "May your travels leave you wiser." Isn't that something to live by! My Rating: While there were some slow spots in the story that I had to push through all and all it was an exciting fantasy adventure that I am sure many will love. I give it a rating of Three Paws.