Spark of Defiance: Elemental Magic & Epic Fantasy Adventure

Spark of Defiance: Elemental Magic & Epic Fantasy Adventure

by Autumn M. Birt
5.0 2

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Spark of Defiance: Elemental Magic & Epic Fantasy Adventure by Autumn M. Birt

Six months after a tragic war, the world of Myrrah has found peace. But many of the heroes have not.

Wandering to avoid memories of lost friends and past actions, Zhao reluctantly returns home to fulfill a promise to his sister. And to proclaim to the elders of his people that their treatment of Air Elementals is wrong. His homecoming is met with hostility but not for the reason he expects. It is far worse.

To protect his gifted niece from a life of hardship and subjugation like the one he endured, Zhao must rescue his sister. Even if she doesn’t wish it. Quickly caught once again in events greater than he can handle alone, Zhao struggles to prevent a personal conflict from erupting into a larger battle. But friends are distant, and more than a few are wrestling with new problems of their own.

Welcome BACK to the world of Myrrah full of elemental magic and epic fantasy adventure! A new trilogy begins in Games of Fire with book 1, Spark of Defiance.

What readers are saying about these books:

“I absolutely love the world you've created and feel that there is incredible potential for the series to continue.”

“I absolutely love your stories. Every time I read them they are still page turners no matter if it's the first time or the 20th.“

“From the first page I was hooked! This story has so many twists and turns as you get to know the characters while going on this journey with them. … This book is a wonderful adventure in an exciting world that I just couldn't get enough of.”

“Autumn M. Birt is one of those authors who allows you to dream with your eyes wide open. Loved it.”

“I absolutely loved this book. I couldn't stop reading it! It is well written with intriguing characters and a compelling plot. Five stars!”

“I am in love with this series! It's a non stop adventure and I can't wait to read more. Full, of magic, romance, and exciting battles. The characters are really well developed and and continually growing.”

“Great start to a wonderful series. The characters are complex and pull you in. Not predictable, when you think what might happen next, it ends up being completely different than what you thought. Once you start reading, you have to keep going and then to the next book and the next.”

“This series just gets better and better! Strong female heroines and unexpected plot twists make this a hard book to put down, no matter which one you’re reading. I can barely wait to find out what else is going to happen! One of the best series that I've read, and I read constantly. Bravo!”

Product Details

BN ID: 2940152918250
Publisher: Autumn M. Birt
Publication date: 03/27/2016
Series: Games of Fire , #1
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 88,358
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Autumn (also known as Weifarer and Autumn Raven) is a travel and fiction writer currently based in Maine where she lives in a small cottage lost in the woods, which she built with her husband and with the supervision (and approval) of two Cairn terriers. With a Bachelor of Arts degree from Bucknell University in Studio Arts and English, Autumn once considered a career in illustration. However, an ecology course at Virginia Tech led to a Master of Science degree in Ecology and Environmental Sciences from the University of Maine in Orono. After graduation with her M.S., Autumn has worked for the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service. This was a great job that not only let her help the environment and protect local agriculture, but also gave her a paycheck big enough to support her writing habit until finally … at long last she is now a full time writer and on-line educator!

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Spark of Defiance: Elemental Magic & Epic Fantasy Adventure 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
BGerber More than 1 year ago
Wonderful storyline! Good Elementals vs. Bad Elementals. All having various powers of water, air, fire, earth and spirit. Some even having the ability to alter their appearance. I could not put this book down due the fact I wanted to see what was going to happen next. I am highly anticipating the next book in this series.
Reed-James More than 1 year ago
Six months after the war that broke the Church of the Four Orders and freed the other temples from Solaire's control. But the scars remain. Two events, both innocuous and seemingly innocent, spark off a new conflict. When Zhao, an air elemental, returns home to visit his sister. His people fear elementals. Zhao had been kept confined to a shrine, quarantined from his people. When he arrives now that the war is over and elementals should be free, he discovers his new niece is an elemental and the chief of his tribe looks to inflict the same punishment. With his friend Laisseg, he rescues his sister and niece. And sparks off a war between neighboring people. As the war spirals out of control, Zhao seeks help from his friends, pulling Ria from her search for the escaped Sinika, the villain responsible for the war and held as a prisoner for the last six month until his supporters freed him. Meanwhile, Lavinia and her husband Darag have finished their pilgrimage to all the temples to allow Lavinia to touch all the spheres and use all the elements. Wanting to fulfill a promise to the Ashanti Jeif and Leifa, they visit the short-lived and mysterious Ashanti. Their message sparks off a chain of events that could forever change the world. War has returned, but an even great threat looms and the survivors of the last war will have to reunite to stop the new threats to their world. Sparks of Defiance (and the Game of Fire series) is a sequel to her Rise of the Five Orders series. It was great to return to her world and see old characters. The war haunts the characters, particularly the death of Beite. She does an excellent job reworking reminders of the previous plot without exposition dumps. The plot moves fast, keeping you reading. Autumn ratchets up the tension as the book builds to its climax. All your favorite characters that survived the last series are once again in peril. I was on the edge of my seat through the climax. Sparks of Defiance is a great start to another amazing Fantasy series from Autumn. If you enjoy great, fast-paced fantasy, then you'll enjoy Autumn's Rise of the Five Orders series and the start to Game of Fire. I am eager for Book 2 to be released. I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review, though I had planned on buying it before the author sent it to me and have preordered it.