Star Wars Guardians of the Whills

Star Wars Guardians of the Whills

by Greg Rucka

Hardcover

$11.69 $12.99 Save 10% Current price is $11.69, Original price is $12.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Want it by Tuesday, November 27 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781484780817
Publisher: Disney Press
Publication date: 05/02/2017
Series: Star Wars
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 192,786
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 7.10(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 10 - 14 Years

About the Author

Gregory "Greg" Rucka is an American comic book writer and novelist. He is the author of nearly a dozen novels, including the Atticus Kodiak series. In comics, he has had the opportunity to write stories featuring some of the world’s best-known characters—Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Punisher, and Wolverine—as well as penning several creator-owned properties himself, such as Whiteout, Queen & Country, and Lazarus.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Star Wars Guardians of the Whills 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...but Chirrut and Baze keeep referring to each other as "friends"...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book with a new look into another faction of the force. This story is short but very well told. We get to see how two of the Rogue One members lived before the events of the movie. They're interaction with each other is even better than the movie. A must read for any SW fan. I only wish that it was longer.
Skuldren More than 1 year ago
Guardians of the Whills is a young reader novel written by Greg Rucka and put out by Disney Lucasfilm Publishing. It’s a nice little hardcover book (roughly 6″ by 7.5″) that comes in at 234 pages and includes some illustrations. If you’re looking for a deep dive, end all be all book on the Guardians of the Whills, this is not the book you’re looking for. Instead, this is a fun adventure set shortly before the events of Rogue One. It dives into the heads of Baze and Chirrut, touches on Saw Gerrera’s arrival on Jedha, and gives readers a small look at what the city of Jedha is like under the bootheel of the Empire. The book starts by introducing readers to Baze Malbus and Chirrut Îmwe. We see them dealing with the small problems of the city, helping those they care about, and trying to get by. One of their vested interests is an orphanage, which becomes a central focus of the storyline later on. The Empire’s presence is there from the beginning, but it slowly becomes more and more impressive. Part of that is because of people like Baze and Chirrut who take it upon themselves to steal supplies from the Empire in order to help the orphans. Eventually Saw Gerrera shows up, and Baze and Chirrut end up joining him out of mutual interest. Through Saw, they see a way to keep helping the orphans. However, their involvement and Saw’s presence only worsens the conflict as the Empire escalates their retaliations. Chirrut is the first to notice this and to take concern. Eventually Baze and Chirrut have to make a decision and a big move in order to help the orphans, which serves as the climax of the story. As far as revelations go, there aren’t many. The book doesn’t explore the history of the Whills, the Guardians, the Kyber Temple or any of the other religious doctrines on Jedha. Nor does it touch on the planet’s history. There are some interesting religious quotes at the beginning of each chapter showcasing all the various sects in Jedha, but the majority of the story focuses on the here and now of the story, not the past. This means Baze and Chirrut also remain a mystery as it does not explore how they met, how they become Guardians, or anything else about their past lives. The book does explore their attitudes on where they are now, which helps fans get an idea of their mindset heading into Rogue One. It’s also interesting seeing that they have a connection to Saw, which was not apparent in the film, but now adds a new angle to the events in the movie. There might not be any big questions answered in the book, but nevertheless, it does spin out a fun tail that worth reading. Fans of Baze and Chirrut, no matter what your age is, will want to check this one out. It’s a quick read and an enjoyable one. Just don’t set your expectations too high on what you’re going to learn, and instead focus on experiencing a new adventure with two likeable characters. I give it a five out of five.
AndrewReadsBooks More than 1 year ago
Greg Rucka's Star Wars: Guardians of the Whills is marketed as a book for middle grade readers, but should not be overlooked by adults exploring the EU. Although the writing is on a youth level, the topic matter attains the deadly seriousness that we would expect from a tale set in Imperial Occupied Jedha City. The core of this novel is the relationship between Baze Malbus & Chirrut Imwe, the last remnants of the Guardians of the Whills. Rucka does a superb job of showing their connection to each other & uncertainty about their roles & identities in a post-occupation society. We see them struggle with their attachment to the force, their duties to themselves & others, & their dance of independence & co-existence. The great affection that exists between these characters is on constant display, even when they are not in agreement; in fact often it is their disagreements that best show the resiliency of their relationship. During the novel, we are treated to the story of Baze acquiring his heavy blaster, & learn a little more about Chirrut's staff, but sadly only learn scraps about their origins & Baze's loss of faith. I can only hope that a future story will explore these earlier defining moments in these relationships. The attention to detail in their smaller interactions - the placement of a staff, the offering of tea, the half grins & chuckles - help build their relationship in a way that was attempted on screen but with less success. And of course, there is a healthy dose of humor between these two brothers in arms that helps lighten difficult moments. Beyond this relationship, we get to see more of the Imperial occupation of Jedha, the tactics of the Empire, and see another side of Saw Guererra . With unflinching detail that seems almost out of place for a middle grades book, the coldness of Imperial strategies and abuse of power are laid out - the brutal logic of Star Destroyer positioning, the shipment of weapons in anticipation of "crowd control" mass murder, the eagerness of imperial troops to harass and assault citizens. The costs to sentient lifeforms, and the burdens of offsetting these costs are well illustrated in the plight of the orphans and their caretakers, who struggle to balance self-care and care for others . The exploration of the ethics of resistance when resistance brings suffering to the populace is handed in a way that both captures the emotional desparation of making no-win choices, while presenting the ideas in a way that is appropriate for younger readers. In the Rogue One film and Alexander Freed's excellent accompanying novel (Rogue One: A Star Wars Story) we are told that Saw Guerrerra's forces are considered too extreme and amoral for inclusion in the broader rebellion; in his willingness to sacrifice the orphans (and possibly the city to a falling Star Destroyer) we get to see this in action . As is so often the case with Star Wars books, my chief complaint is also what brings me back to the series time after time - the wish to have more of the stories & characters illuminated, and with greater detail. I also wish we could have more insight into Saw's internal process , and an imperial view of the events as they are unfolding. The story is still strong without these elements, and my inclusion of them here is more a wishlist than a critique of Rucka's work. Even if you aren't a middle grades reader, you should read this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't lose my focus, nor ignore my book. I was read this book on my imagination.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its perfect and a very spicy meme