The Bride of Northanger

The Bride of Northanger

by Diana Birchall

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A happier heroine than Catherine Morland does not exist in England, for she is about to marry her beloved, the handsome, witty Henry Tilney. The night before the wedding, Henry reluctantly tells Catherine and her horrified parents a secret he has dreaded to share - that there is a terrible curse on his family and their home, Northanger Abbey. Henry is a clergyman, educated and rational, and after her year's engagement Catherine is no longer the silly young girl who delighted in reading "horrid novels"; she has improved in both reading and rationality. This sensible young couple cannot believe curses are real...until a murder at the Abbey triggers events as horrid and Gothic as Jane Austen ever parodied - events that shake the young Tilneys' certainties, but never their love for each other...

Product Details

BN ID: 2940163715497
Publisher: Diana Birchall
Publication date: 09/19/2019
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 348,998
File size: 354 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Bride of Northanger 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Melissa_W 8 days ago
Diana Birchall’s new sequel to Austen’s Northanger Abbey opens the night before Catherine Morland’s wedding to Henry Tilney as Henry arrives at the Morland family home to dutifully inform them that the Tilney family appears to operate under a curse: that the wife of the eldest Tilney son will die young (apparently the family was cursed during the Dissolution). Catherine, now rid of her youthful flights of fancy, dismisses this so-called curse. Henry is, of course, the second son and furthermore, as rational, modern people, they don’t believe in curses. So Catherine and Henry marry and settle into a pleasant life at the vicarage…until General Tilney (and his ominous wedding gift) summons the young couple to a strange dinner party at Northanger Abbey. This sets off a year full of mysterious events, ghostly sightings, and deaths worthy of Catherine’s horrid Gothic novels. And those deaths are firmly in the realm of gruesome twists of fate, serving up grisly demises for several familiar characters. Birchall made an interesting choice in this novel, to both attempt the ironic tone Austen used when poking fun at Gothic fiction and go full-Gothic at the climax of the plot. It starts out very light, with Catherine enjoying married life and expanding her reading – and education – by reading works of philosophy and history under Henry’s direction. Even the initial trip to the Abbey stays on the lighter side with a glimpse of a possible ghost to tickle Catherine’s imagination. The plot, though, begins to delve into horrors that steadily pull away from the recreation of Austen’s tone. In one scene Catherine is made to sit a vigil over a dead body since no one else from the family is available to do it and the sequence of events is quite unnerving, far more so than searching a cupboard to find a mysterious document (which turned out to be a laundry list) or speculating whether General Tilney killed his wife. Each further mishap gets a bit more squicky-making. (Sorry about the vagueness, but there are quite a lot of twists to the plot that I’m trying to avoid spoiling.) The plot of The Bride of Northanger is much closer to a true Gothic novel in the vein of The Castle of Otranto or The Mysteries of Udolpho than Austen’s lively send-up. If you’ve read any of the Gothics that Catherine so enjoyed then you’ll recognize a number of the plot elements. The book reads quite well. I took it with me on a short trip and read almost the whole thing on a two-and-a-half hour plane ride. It was fun to see so many of the original characters again, so despite my wish to have a bit more Austenian irony and a few less deaths it was quite enjoyable.
Vesper1931 18 days ago
The Bride of Northanger, is a sequel to Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey. Catherine Morland has been enhaged to Henry Tilney for the past year. A year older and due to her new reading habits, wiser and more steady. Though she still is of a curious nature. On the eve of their wedding at the family home in Fullerton, Henry relates the curse of the Tilney family as it relates to the wife of the eldest son. It is when the happy couple visit Northanger soon after their wedding that strange events occur, plus at least one death. We are introduced to new characters including Eleanor’s husband Viscount Charles Eastham plus the re-introduction of some of the original from canon. So this well-written delightful book is a mixture of the gothic, mystery and romance. A very enjoyable read.