The Dark Between

The Dark Between

by Sonia Gensler

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler

A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie  take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.


From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375897337
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 08/27/2013
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 751,960
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Sonia Gensler is also the author of The Revenant and Ghostlight. She grew up in a small Tennessee town and spent her early adulthood collecting impractical degrees from various Midwestern universities. A former high school English teacher, she now writes full-time in Oklahoma.


From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Dark Between 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Sonia Gensler's books. Great, atmospheric mysteries. Jane Austen with a ghosty twist.
crayolakym More than 1 year ago
The cover on this book is quite disturbing and suits this story beautifully. Set in the early nineteen-hundreds, you are taken back into a world that is darkly simple and disturbing to say the least. When Kate, Asher, and Elsie take it upon themselves to investigate the death of their friend, they find more than what they could even imagine. Using Elsie’s seizure like skills to communicate with the other world, she will open up a world of Gothic darkness they might rather wish they hadn’t. “Why would I want to go to look at a dead body with you? The very idea is repulsive.” I found this to be a very unique book covering Victorian topics not so common like séances, death photography, and spiritualism. If you are looking for more paranormal stuff like vampires or werewolves, then this is not the book for you. Elsie’s dreams and the way author Sonia Gensler describes them is straight from a horror movie and will have you sitting on edge. This book reminded me of a cross between the movies The Others and The Grudge but in writing to add creep factor. It seriously gave me chills. If you are looking for something new or have never read a Gothic fiction before, I highly suggest starting with this book! *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review *You can view the original review at San Francisco Book Review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sonia Gensler has provided another enjoyable story in THE DARK BETWEEN. (If you've never checked out her first book, THE REVENANT, add it to your list!) The characters are vivid and interesting, drawing you into the events happening around them. The historical setting feels authentic and "lived in" - you can sense the beauty and charm of Cambridge while also experiencing a creepier atmosphere of the city as night falls. The paranormal aspect is intriguing, and combined with the underlying mystery of the plot will definitely keep you turning the pages for more. There's even some romance added to the mix, but it never feels like an 'add on'. Rather, it manages to enhance the tale and further develop the characters. By the final page, you discover an ending that wraps up enough of the story to provide satisfaction, yet also that delightful taste of "what if...?" that allows you to ponder where these characters might go from here - and hoping that Ms. Gensler will consider a sequel at some point in the future. ;)