The Darkness Within (The Chronicles of Lilith, #2)

The Darkness Within (The Chronicles of Lilith, #2)

The Darkness Within (The Chronicles of Lilith, #2)

The Darkness Within (The Chronicles of Lilith, #2)



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


The sequel to the Metaphysical Dark Fantasy novel: "The Queen of Shards"

The Battle of Blood is over, but the true war is about to begin.

Pïshkah's visions herald a far greater darkness beyond the Carthosian war. A battle between Greater Immortals. One that seeks to devour the very mind, heart and soul of the world. One that comes at the hands of Lilith, the Queen of Shards.
Lilith has set her sights on the Hall of Mirrors, the one place she can truly unlock the truth held within her Shard, and nothing is going to stop her from getting her answers, not the power-hungry Saints, not the threat of the Carthosian war or the Wardens who wish to harm her.

Zain reluctantly aids Lilith as her unsettling determination to reach the Hall inevitably draws them into the darkness within Mount Ussar Varys. Yet he is still intent on rescuing Adara and those he loves from the war.

Zain is now faced with an agonizing decision: follow the woman he so desperately fought for down an even darker path and turn his back on the world, or turn his back on her when she needs him the most.


About the book:

The Darkness Within will take you down the depths of what's hidden beyond the abyss. Readers can expect the story to evolve into a more serious tone without losing some of the fun bright moments of the first book.

It's the second book of a continuous series ending on a cliffhanger.
Due to its dramatic dark themes and graphic nature it is recommended for an adult audience.

About the Series:

The Chronicles of Lilith is a Metaphysical Dark Fantasy / Sci-Fi series that explores many deep existential themes and ideas as well as the nature of reality. It is a story within a story within a story.

At its core the Chronicles are a series of books about the origins and end of creation, the meaning of life and whether it ought to continue. It is a story witnessed through multiple realities and timelines by a host of supreme deities known as the Greater Immortals who together uphold the very fabric of existence and reality, whether they're aware of it or not.

As this deep narrative slowly unfolds the reader joins each character as they slowly discover themselves and their roles in the mystery that is life as well as their own humanity, or lack thereof. Readers who embark on this long journey will travel across realities following a number of complex and interesting characters as both endure a riveting, heart-wrenching adventure about finding hope, meaning, love, courage and beauty whilst facing the struggles of life, death, suffering and the true face of nihilism.

"Ideal for" audiences

This series is suitable for adult audiences which enjoy high-action narratives with multiple concurrent plot lines in a carefully curated world/setting. People particularly interested in philosophy, morality, spirituality, metaphysics, understanding of existence and human nature will enjoy this story in particular through its elegant story-telling without having to endure unnecessary and lengthy exposition which often occurs in such books. As a dark-themed series, the books contain some degree of violence, explicit language and death which whilst present does not carry the same degree and frequency of grimdark or horror genres.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940167401396
Publisher: Jens C. Büdinger
Publication date: 07/01/2023
Series: The Chronicles of Lilith
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: eBook
File size: 2 MB
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews