The Fall of Lostport

The Fall of Lostport

by R.J. Vickers

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A stunning new fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb and Patrick Rothfuss.

Lostport is a backwater kingdom that is suddenly thrust into the spotlight when wealth is discovered on its shores. High-spirited and irresponsible Laina, the king's only remaining heir, may not be allowed to inherit the throne--but she alone can keep her beloved homeland out of the High King's grasp.

When the High King decides to use a construction project in one of the remote fjords of Lostport as a training ground for his armies, tensions mount, until the straightforward project begins to look like an excuse for a military takeover of Lostport.

Will Laina consent to marrying a stranger to keep her kingdom out of the hands of the grasping Whitish Empire? Or is she desperate enough to push her own land to the brink of ruin to sever ties with Whitland?

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158553653
Publisher: R.J. Vickers
Publication date: 01/27/2018
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

R.J. Vickers has been writing since the age of 7, when she penned a story about her cat, Shadow, getting lost in an ice cave in Alaska. A year later she wrote about two unicorns who went questing through a cave, and shortly after that, about a girl who got transported into a magical realm through--you guessed it!--a cave.

Even the third book in her Natural Order series (Lost Magic) pays a visit to a rather famous cave.

Maybe it was her secret obsession with caves which led her to New Zealand, the land of hobbit-holes and glowworm caves. But the country comes with more than one benefit! When she's not exploring caves (literally or literature-ly), she loves crocheting, baking, packrafting, and hiking with her husband.

In fact, the beauty of New Zealand's Fiordland National Park inspired the setting for her first epic fantasy novel, The Fall of Lostport.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Fall of Lostport 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Caitlin Lyle Farley for Readers' Favorite One accident changes everything for the isolated kingdom of Lostport. King Faolon’s only hope to keep Lostport out of the hands of the loathed High King of Whitland is to help fund a war he disagrees with against a country he considers an ally. Laina, princess of Lostport, will do anything to stop her father from aiding Whitland. She would even agree to marry the insipid and idiotic Prince Ronnick, but only if her own plans for saving Lostport fall through. Laina is responsible for the accident that started all of this, and it’s already cost her two of the people she loves most. Laina will not give up her home as well. The world of The Fall of Lostport grows up around the reader and forms a stunning backdrop for the push and pull of character motivations that drive the plot. The Fall of Lostport is the only book I’ve read that pulls off the trope of a girl who can’t inherit a title because of her gender. I believe this is because author R.J. Vickers incorporates this concept as an irreconcilable obstacle for both Laina and her father rather than having Laina struggle to break glass ceilings and prove her competency. Although Vickers uses multiple POV characters, each is unique and compelling, and I never felt confused or lost track of who was who. I grew so fond of this world that I didn’t want the book to end. The Fall of Lostport combines evocative settings with driven, relatable characters to form a thoroughly immersive fantasy novel.
Taylor Parker More than 1 year ago
2/5 stars This book was a slow burn. The author does an excellent job world building, immersing the reader in jungles and grasslands that they can see and feel. This world and character building takes up a very large portion in the beginning of the book and the action happens in the last 75%. Lostport is a tiny backwater kingdom full of exiles, criminals, and people who just want to start over deep in the jungle. It is a member of the Kinship Thrones, a large conglomerate of kingdoms ruled over by one kingdom, Whitland. Lostport went virtually unnoticed until gemstones were discovered to wash up on one of its beaches, thrusting the kingdom into the watchful eye of the High King of Whitland. In a terrible accident, the Crown Prince of Lostport, Doran, was paralyzed in a sailing accident with the Princess Laina and their friend, Conard. As a result Doran can no longer produce and heir, putting Lostport in the precarious position of potentially losing their throne to anyone of the High King’s choosing, and for that, Conard is exiled. Laina must veer from her wild irresponsible ways to help her father hold their kingdom together as it begins to crumble. A huge project to erect a city called Port Emerald on the gemstone beaches turns into a subtle invasion by Whitland. However, this city puts Laina at odds with her father, King Faolan, because the Whitish want to use the funds from helping build Port Emerald to finance a war with Varrival. Can they keep their independence without self-destructing or being murdered by the unruly soldiers disguised as builders? This book just didn’t do it for me. I generally love books of this nature, but this one was so long and had so little action or character development that it was difficult to finish. Laina stays irresponsible and her redemption is that she cares greatly about her people, but she always has. King Faolan, her father, thrusts responsibility upon her with his words but doubts her every step with his heart, even up until the end. The first ~60% of the book is comprised of talking. Laina decides to sabotage the construction of Port Emerald with her friends because she can’t convince her father not to build the Port. They do a significant amount of arguing over whether their independence is worth the fall of another nation to Whitland. Doran, who has experienced a serious trauma, leaves to recover and is removed from the majority of the book. The only character who begins to take action before the halfway point of the book is Queen Katrien of Lostport. She had been living in Whitland and when the High King suspects her of aiding Faolan in the bid for independence he puts her under house arrest. Instead of arguing or whining, Katrien makes the decision to leave Whitland and aid Lostport, picking up many followers who have been harmed by Whitland along the way. Honestly, I felt the ending was a bit too easy and anticlimactic. Lostport has been struggling to stay afloat without the interference of Whitland and now they are so close to the point of no return, yet they gain their independence without much of a fight at all. *spoiler*High King Luistan went to the extent to try to assassinate Doran when he attempts to return home, yet he just lets Lostport go because he can’t afford the cost of rebuilding it it belongs to the Kinship Thrones? This ending just feels a bit cheap to me. And after all this wishing Doran was there, Doran would know what to do, shout at Laina because she’s too irre
Marta Cox More than 1 year ago
Sometimes I just want to get lost in a world of fantasy. I spotted this by a new to me author and was highly intrigued by the synopsis. A princess who clearly doesn't want to be pigeonholed and how she rises up during the aftermath of a devastating accident that befalls her brother Doran, the crown prince. The twist is it's the young man who she has feelings for that is heavily implicated in the accident and as the story begins Conard is exiled. Laina struggles with the aftermath and the momentous decisions that her father the King makes. Decisions that King Faolan will deeply regret as war and loss quickly become inevitable. In a world were traditionally Laina would be married off to make alliances can she claim her own place? Plus what of Doran, is his role really over? This is a well thought out story that sprawls the kingdoms. Unfortunately I just didn't really feel pulled in by the characters at times. Perhaps I've read too many high octane stories featuring kick ass heroines recently. I did enjoy this book but just wanted more of a connection but if you enjoy fantasy then it's certainly well worth the time spent reading it. This voluntary take is of a copy I requested from Netgalley and my thoughts and comments are honest and I believe fair