The Fantasticks [2006 Off Broadway Recording]

The Fantasticks [2006 Off Broadway Recording]

by The Fantastiks


$16.72 $18.99 Save 12% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $18.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Fantasticks [2006 Off Broadway Recording]

The Fantasticks has long been a staple of musical theater, so it makes sense, and is of little surprise, that Ghostlight has decided to issue a new cast recording of this classic (The Fantasticks first opened off-Broadway in May of 1960). Its classic status was sealed when it ran for 42 years -- the longest running time for a musical -- and was performed, in the United States and around the world, over 20,000 times. This time around, Tom Jones' lyrics and Harvey Schmidt's music are performed by a talented cast featuring Burke Moses, Santino Fontana, Sara Jean Ford, Leo Burmester, Martin Vidnovic, Thomas Bruce, Robert R. Oliver, and Douglass Ullman, Jr. Perhaps the most well-known song from the musical is "Try to Remember," a song that has become a contemporary standard. The arrangements and accompaniment are very simple, with Dorothy Martin on piano and Erin Hill on harp, and such simplicity allows the melodies and lyrics to stand out clearly. The cast handles the material well, bringing lots of gusto to favorites like "Never Say No" and "It Depends on What You Pay." There is also the addition of a bonus track with Schmidt singing "O Have You Ever Been to China?" in 1959. For old fans and the handful of folks unfamiliar with the musical, The Fantasticks offers a chance to revisit this favorite.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/14/2006
Label: Ghostlight
UPC: 0791558441529
catalogNumber: 84415
Rank: 77008

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fantastiks   Primary Artist
Harvey Schmidt   Track Performer
Martin Vidnovic   Vocals
Erin Hill   Harp
Burke Moses   Narrator
Santino Fontana   Vocals
Sara Jean Ford   Vocals
Dorothy Martin   Piano,Musical Direction
Erin Hill   Harp
Thomas Bruce   Vocals
Leo Burmester   Vocals
Douglas Jr. Ullman   Track Performer
Robert Oliver   Vocals

Technical Credits

Joel Moss   Producer,Liner Notes,Engineering
Harvey Schmidt   Composer,Liner Notes,Logo Design
Joan Marcus   Production Photography
Julian Stein   Arranger
Richard Frankel   Producer,Liner Notes
Ed Wittstein   Costume Design,Scenery
Marc Routh   Producer,Liner Notes
Jan Folkson   Engineering
Tom Jones   Lyricist,Book
Kurt Deutsch   Executive Producer
Dan Shaheen   Producer
Domonic Sack   Sound Design
Leslie Anne Pinney   Company Manager
Lore Noto   Producer
Randy Merrill   Mastering Associate
Gregory R. Covert   Production Stage Manager
Steven Baruch   Producer,Liner Notes
Tom Viertel   Producer,Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews