The Fiction of Ian McEwan

The Fiction of Ian McEwan

by M. Hutton, Peter Childs


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 25

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781403919083
Publisher: Macmillan Education UK
Publication date: 11/12/2005
Series: Readers' Guides to Essential Criticism
Edition description: 2005
Pages: 184
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.25(h) x 0.02(d)

About the Author

PETER CHILDS is Pro Vice Chancellor, Research and Scholarship at Newman University, UK. He has published widely on postcolonial and twentieth-century literature. His recent publications include Modernism (2000), Contemporary Novelists (2004), and Reading Fiction: Opening the Text (2001), the last two of which are also published by Palgrave Macmillan.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements.- Introduction.- The Fleshly Grail: First Love, Last Rites.- Underworld: In Between the Sheets.- A Nice Sleep: The Cement Garden.- The Desire to be a Victim: The Comfort of Strangers.- True Maturity: The Child in Time.- No Different From You: The Innocent.- Ça Suffit: Black Dogs.- Rationality is Its Own Kind of Innocence: Enduring Love.- Their Reasonable Laws: Amsterdam.- Storytelling as Self-justification: Atonement.- And Now, What Days Are These?: Saturday.- Notes.- Select Bibliography.- Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews