The Muse of Freedom: A Cévenoles Sagas Novel

The Muse of Freedom: A Cévenoles Sagas Novel

The Muse of Freedom: A Cévenoles Sagas Novel

The Muse of Freedom: A Cévenoles Sagas Novel

Hardcover(Jacketed Hardback ed.)

$27.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

A French Huguenot apothecary's legacy of secrets, a mystic healer's inspiration, a fateful decision.

IN THE MYSTERIOUS CÉVENNES MOUNTAINS OF LANGUEDOC, FRANCE, 1695, Jehan BonDurant, a young nobleman forcibly held in a Dominican prieuré as a child, comes of age only to inherit a near-derelict estate and his Huguenot family's dangerous legacy of secrets. While he cherishes his newfound freedom apprenticing as an apothecary, his outrage mounts over religious persecutions led by King Louis XIV's Intendant Basville, who is sent to enforce the King's will for "One King, One Law, One Faith".

The ensuing divisions among families and friends and the gradual revelation of his own circumstances lead Jehan to question his spiritual choices. He embarks on an odyssey, in pursuit of his life's purpose and the meaning of love, that unfolds in a way he least expects. Deep in the enchanting Gorges du Tarn, he discovers his muse and soul mate, Amelia Auvrey, a free-spirited, mystic holy woman who offers guidance, revealing ancient healing practices and spiritual mysteries.

Along the way, they befriend young Huguenot peasants and inspirés, a Roma couple, and the Commandeur of the Knights of Saint Jean Hospitallers, and learn of Jehan's Jewish and Cathar ancestors. Together, Jehan and Amelia quest for peace and spiritual freedom by aiding the persecuted until the Intendant's spy reports their activities, and the King's dragoons are sent out after them. To retain their freedom, they must choose to live in hiding in a remote wilderness, join a festering uprising or fight against it, or flee their cherished homeland with thousands of other refugees in search of hope.

Inspired by the true story of Jean Pierre Bondurant dit Cougoussac, distilled and blended with Cévenole magic lore, this is a vividly told coming-of-age adventure and family saga of courage, tenacity, and the power of love. Fans of Poldark, Magic Lessons, The Lost Apothecary, The Huguenot Chronicles, and The Alchemist will find thematic elements from those stories melded into this thrilling and obscure slice of French history.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798986448831
Publisher: Mystic Lore Books
Publication date: 03/21/2023
Edition description: Jacketed Hardback ed.
Pages: 374
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Jules Larimore is the author of emotive, literary-leaning historical fiction with a dose of magic, myth, and romance to bring to life hopeful human stories and inspire positive change. She lives primarily in Ojai, California, with time spent around the U.S. and Europe gathering a rich repository of historical research in a continued search for authenticity.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews