The Rule

The Rule

by Paul Reilly

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Rule by Paul Reilly

The Rule is a rude awakening in the life of Alex O’Connor. One day “Mr. Brown” visits him at the university computer center and informs him that he has the choice of either secretly working for a “governmental agency” or being drafted and sent to Viet Nam. The choice seems simple, for part of his cover is that he was to continue his life at the university. All he had to do, he is told, is help maintain the software on IBM mainframe computers. What they didn’t tell him is that he was expendable.

So he joins them and soon learns that nothing in the covert world of Wonderland is as it appears, and that there is only one rule, The Rule – Thou shall not talk.

While The Rule is mainly the story about Alex’s experiences in Wonderland, he also finds the second great love of his life, the woman he should have married. However, he can’t for he doesn’t even know her name.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013549470
Publisher: Poitin Press
Publication date: 11/29/2011
Series: Alex O'Connor , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 140
File size: 417 KB

About the Author

Paul Reilly
A technologist who earned his Ph.D. in 1972, Paul Reilly started off writing PDP-11 assembly programs for Digital Equipment Corporation in the early 1970's, before moving to the Silicon Valley in 1979 to join the microprocessor revolution. A veteran of too many start-ups, Paul eventually joined Silicon Graphics, where he first wrote code for Unix, and then moved on to networking, telecommunications, digital video and compression. A quick learner, he mastered Ethernet, FDDI, Token Ring, TCP/UDP/IP, ATM, SDH, SONET, MPEG, JPEG and a host of other technologies.
Early on, creative writing became a major release for him from the daily grind of the high-technology world. As the years went by, the pile of manuscripts accumulated, until in 1999, he sold out and retired to the Sierra foothills of California. Finally free of the daily route 101 commute, Paul has at last had time to finish these books and publish them. The first were The Espionage Game and Dragon Fire. Next. 2006 saw the publishing of thefirst two books of the Alex O'Connor trilogy, Negrita and The Rule, which are a fictionalized autobiography.
In addition, we published Sea Eagle in 2006, an Old Man and the Sea story about the American Home Front of World War II.
In 2011, we published two Irish fairy tales written by Paul as well. The first is The Legend of Dearbhaíl, a fairy legend set in the prehistory of Ireland, and Dearbhaíl's Lament, a Romeo and Juliet tragedy set in the Troubles of Northern Ireland in 1924.
Additionally in 2011 we published a science fiction novel about the Ban-dol, which comes to Area 51 to reclaim its flying saucer.
Other books are in the works as well, including the Fionnuala series , the story of an Irish elf and her adventures over a very long lifetime. The first book will be Kilcarrick, which is in the publication cycle and should be out in 2011. There are presently two more books in this series being worked on with at least three more in planning stages

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rule 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago