The Saga of the Renunciates

The Saga of the Renunciates

by Marion Zimmer Bradley

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101663127
Publisher: DAW
Publication date: 08/01/2002
Series: Darkover Series , #3
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 1120
Sales rank: 247,557
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Marion Zimmer was born in Albany, NY, on June 3, 1930, and married Robert Alden Bradley in 1949. Mrs. Bradley received her B.A. in 1964 from Hardin Simmons University in Abilene, Texas, then did graduate work at the University of California, Berkeley, from 1965-67.

She was a science fiction/fantasy fan from her middle teens, and made her first sale as an adjunct to an amateur fiction contest in Fantastic/Amazing Stories in 1949. She had written as long as she could remember, but wrote only for school magazines and fanzines until 1952, when she sold her first professional short story to Vortex Science Fiction. She wrote everything from science fiction to Gothics, but is probably best known for her Darkover novels.

In addition to her novels, Mrs. Bradley edited many magazines, amateur and professional, including Marion Zimmer Bradley's Fantasy Magazine, which she started in 1988. She also edited an annual anthology called Sword and Sorceress for DAW Books.

Over the years she turned more to fantasy; The House Between the Worlds, although a selection of the Science Fiction Book Club, was "fantasy undiluted". She wrote a novel of the women in the Arthurian legends -- Morgan Le Fay, the Lady of the Lake, and others -- entitled Mists of Avalon, which made the NY Times best seller list both in hardcover and trade paperback, and she also wrote The Firebrand, a novel about the women of the Trojan War. Her historical fantasy novels, The Forest House, Lady of Avalon, Mists of Avalon are prequels to Priestess of Avalon.

She died in Berkeley, California on September 25, 1999, four days after suffering a major heart attack. She was survived by her brother, Leslie Zimmer; her sons, David Bradley and Patrick Breen; her daughter, Moira Stern; and her grandchildren.

Date of Birth:

June 30, 1930

Date of Death:

September 25, 1999

Place of Birth:

Albany, New York

Place of Death:

Berkeley, California


B.A., Hardin-Simmons College, 1964; additional study at University of California, Berkeley, 1965-1967

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Saga of the Renunciates (The Shattered Chain/Thendara House/City of Sorcery) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
kraaivrouw on LibraryThing 8 months ago
Another re-read for me. I've always liked these 3 books in Marion Zimmer Bradley's Darkover series. The Renunciates are women living in the feudal, patriarchal Darkovan society who renounce the traditional dependency on men & work to live in new ways doing all kinds of different things. These have been out of print for quite a while, so it was nice to see them in the world again. I read them when they first came out - late '70's/early '80's after my father turned me on to the whole series with The Forbidden Tower (Darkover).I had wondered if these would be too dated given the changes in feminist thought & theory since they were written, but I found them for the most part surprisingly fresh. I really like Thendara House (Darkover) best as it's the most in-depth examination of the two main characters, Jaelle & Margali, & their own journeys to self-empowerment (yes, Virginia, woman can be Joseph Campbell class heroes, too!).Good stories & an interesting exploration of gender roles, sexuality (& its many possibilities), friendship, & living in defiance of societal norms. It's a fun read & with 3 books in one will keep you occupied!
willowcove on LibraryThing 8 months ago
This part of the series focuses on the Free Amazons. GREAT series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great exploration of culture and gender set in a marvellous adventure
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
The Shattered Chain: This was a really good story. Magda finds herself in an impossible situation. She is a Terra agent on Darkover to learn and study. Her ex is held for ransom, and is forced to recue him herself by imposing as an Amazon. Naturally, she comes face to face with the true Amazons. She must take the Amazon oath in order to save her ex, without betraying her Terra roots and responsibilities. Later, she comes to find that her latent laran abilities are awakened. Marion Z. Bradley really examines what it means to be a woman on Darkover from so many points of view. I'm really looking for to reading the next book in the saga. Thendara House: Of all the Darkover novels I've read so far, I absolutely did not like this one. Marion Zimmer Bradley goes on and on about the same issues with the two characters Jaelle and Magdalen Lorne. Even the repetition of the routine at the Terran HQ was too much for me. I believe half of this novel can be edited out. She really had trouble with moving on with the story telling. I was interested in when they actually left the guild house in search of Aleki, and the leronis from the Forbidden Tower. At one point, I considered to not finish the novel and just move on to the next book in the saga. City Of Sorcery:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book, in addition to its enrapturing plot, goes into some pretty philosophical things on the side. Ideas such as evil vs good, cultural outsiders, formation of self in childhood, and the eternal quest for self-discovery are touched on within this novel. I highly recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A typical Marion Zimmer Bradley. It was a great read. The story line was great and transported you to another world.