The Second Time Around

The Second Time Around

by Ella Quinn

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Can a beautiful Worthington widow find love again? Depends on who’s asking . . .

Before he died, Patience was the Earl of Worthington’s second wife. So why shouldn’t Patience be allowed a second chance at marriage, too? Of course, finding a new husband was not something the mother of four had ever planned on. But a surprise encounter with her first love has suddenly made the impossible seem possible all over again . . .

It seems like a lifetime ago that Richard, Viscount Wolverton, was halfway around the world, looking for adventure . . . while Patience, at her coming-out, was left with no choice but to take old Worthington’s hand. Richard never forgot the woman whose heart he yearned for—and now that he’s back, he’s not going to let her slip away again . . .

Praise for The Worthingtons series

“A classic Regency romp! Perfect for fans of Grace Burrowes.” --Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author on When a Marquis Chooses a Bride

Three Weeks to Wed is a delightfully heartwarming escape into the sparkling world of the Regency. Ella Quinn weaves magic.” --Cathy Maxwell, New York Times bestselling author

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781420145656
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 02/28/2017
Series: Worthingtons Series
Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 85
Sales rank: 25,678
File size: 580 KB

About the Author

Ella Quinn is the USA Today bestselling author of smart, spicy Regency romances, including The Worthingtons and The Marriage Game Series. Prior to writing romance, Ella Quinn was an adjunct professor, a lawyer, and the first woman to be assigned to a Green Beret unit. She is a member of Romance Writers of America and has extensively researched the Regency era, immersing her stories with the flavor and feel of the period so that readers lose themselves in the time. She and her husband currently live in Germany when they aren’t cruising the world on their sailboat. Visit her online at ellaquinnauthor.com.

Read an Excerpt

“What a delightful book and brilliant concept! Jared Cohen treats us to some of the most colorful and momentous episodes in our history when we unexpectedly got a new president. He reveals the historic importance of some lesser-known leaders, such as John Tyler and Millard Fillmore, and highlights the greatness of Teddy Roosevelt, Harry Truman and Lyndon Johnson. Through their fascinating tales we learn why America is such a resilient nation and our Constitution a living document—lessons very powerful for today.”—Walter Isaacson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci

“Fascinating, compelling and often alarming. With astonishing story after story, Jared Cohen chronicles the whole pageant of the unsteady, the unready and the unexpectedly capable. Nearly ten percent of our presidents succeeded because of the deaths of those who chose them mostly out of political expediency to be forgotten number twos. Will we luck out in the future with a surprising Harry Truman or with a wrecker like Andrew Johnson? In God we trust. But read Jared Cohen.” —Sidney Blumenthal, author of A Self-Made Man and Wrestling with His Angels

“Thanks to Jared Cohen. The stories of eight accidental presidents are now all in one grand place. Cohen deserves a medal for performing this public service.” —Patricia O’Toole, author of The Moralist: Woodrow Wilson and the World He Made

“History is the most contingent of enterprises, and little has proven more contingent than the nature of the American presidency. In this eloquent and often surprising book, Jared Cohen explores how fate has shaped the office—and all of us. In an age marked by widespread concerns about the character of the person who reaches the pinnacle (by whatever means), Cohen's study is illuminating and resonant.”"—Jon Meacham, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Soul of America: The Battle for Our Better Angels

"This is a fascinating prism through which to look at American history ... It is a well written fast-paced book that is filled with interesting facts and insights. Anyone who is interested in American history will delight in it." —Fareed Zakaria, CNN

"A deep dive into the terms of eight former presidents is chock-full of political hijinks—and déjà vu ... chapters flick at familiar themes: trust busting, scandal wrangling, and brawls that read like highbrow TMZ ... The book is also a reminder that, when it came to succession, America’s founders basically winged it." —Vanity Fair

“One of the many insights to be found in Accidental Presidents is that history unfolds in death as well as in life.”—The Wall Street Journal

"Pleasant reading for politics junkies, especially those keen on reading the political winds."—Kirkus Reviews

“Illuminating...[a] genuinely interesting history on a topic that has never been addressed in this depth.”—Booklist

Colorful...clear and engaging...confidently told.”—Publishers Weekly

Accidental Presidents is a compelling and comprehensive book of history that shines a light on unexplored corners of our history ... In his typically engaging and gripping style, Jared Cohen tells us why it is not easy to amend the Constitution and why it should be amended. He explores the complexities of the American Constitution and politics as a gifted story-teller ... It will resonate for a long time to come among the scholars and students of American history."—Washington Review of Books

“While much is known about the two successful accidentals, Roosevelt and Truman, and the partially-successful Lyndon, the latter Johnson, much of the book’s treasure lies in earlier, lesser known accidentals.”New York Journal of Books

"Every single sentence in this books counts."Fox News

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Second Time Around 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This was an enjoyable quick read. Patience is a widow whose step-son has custody of her children. Although they have a really great relationship, he would never give up custody if she should ever remarry. Resigned to a lonely widowhood, Patience plans to enjoy her eldest daughter's coming out. That all changes when her first love comes back into her life. Will Patience take a chance of love when it could mean loosing everything else she hold dear? I enjoyed reading how Patience finally got her HEA as we knew from reading the other books in the series that her first marriage was not great. It was also nice to read a story about an older couple that had some life experiences to help shapes their lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick fun read!
def618 More than 1 year ago
This is a cute novella, but who's who was a little confusing at first, especially the 10 children. I have read some of Ella Quinn's books and some are in my TBR pile. If you have read the previous 2 of this series you will be fine. Patience, in her 30's, is the Dowager Countess of Worthington and lives with her step-son Matt, the current Earl and his wife. The household also includes her 4 children and his wife's 7 younger siblings. Richard, Viscount Wolverton, was Patience's first love. As a young man, he went off to see the world and while he was gone her parents arranged her marriage to the now deceased Earl, not the best of husbands. Richard has never stopped loving her and is determined to marry her. Patience is worried about losing her children as Matt is their guardian. While the children want to stay together, they also want her to be happy. With Matt's help, they find a solution that's right for everyone. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for allowing me this ARC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
London - 1815 Patience Worthington, the Dowager Countess of Worthington, has met an old acquaintance at a soiree. She has not seen Viscount Richard Wolverton in many years yet he can still make her heart pound. A botanist, Richard has spent many years traveling on expeditions and discovering new species of plants. Patience lives with her stepson, Mattheus, Earl of Worthington. He is also the sole guardian of her four daughters. She hopes that when her late husband made their daughters wards of his son that it was an oversight and not meant to be cruel. However, the man had been cold during their marriage. Patience and Richard had once been in love, but he wanted to travel before settling down to marriage. Thus, he lost her to another man. Now that she is a widow, he tells her he is back to pursue her again. Her late husband was not an affectionate man so she has never truly known real love. Patience agrees to a picnic with Richard and they are enjoying themselves. But a sudden rainstorm interrupts their picnic necessitating they shelter at an inn where things turn passionate. But the chill from the rain has made Patience ill and Richard refuses to leave her side until she is well again. Is there hope that they might be united once again? I feel I was quite generous in giving this novella 3 stars. This is yet another story of the Worthingtons. I have read many books of the series, each of which has been hard to follow due to the incredible number of characters to keep up with. Again, I had to refer back to my reviews of previous books to figure out who was who. This is a perfect example of why I do not like series books. Authors who continue to do this soon lose me as a follower. I cannot recommend this book to anyone unless they have read each of the books in the series and close together so they don’t have time to forget their names. Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
MoniqueD More than 1 year ago
So they meet again. Patience had not expected to run into Richard at a ball. Nineteen years ago, Richard had missed his chance with the woman he loved, and Patience had to marry a man of her family’s choosing. Past the foolishness of youth, and Patience now a widow, Richard vows to finally conquer the heart of the woman he still loves and marry her. It’s always nice to see a story featuring older characters in a romance and finding their happy-ever-after: both Richard and Patience are over 35. The real hurdle is that Patience’s stepson has the guardianship of her daughters, and she refuses to be separated from them; it’s a rather complicated family situation because of Regency law, however, it was satisfactorily resolved in the end. Both Richard and Patience are lovely people, who truly love each other, and always have; they were victims of circumstances, mostly due to Richard’s love of adventure. Novellas can be restrictive, but I found that THE SECOND TIME AROUND could have been better balanced. I felt Patience and Richard were “rushed” into the initial sex scene. I would have preferred their rekindled romance to last longer before they hopped into bed, which was also a tad too convenient and somewhat unoriginal. The pages used for the second sex scene could have been put to better use, the above mentioned rushed courtship, especially since that second sex scene, while lovely, was unnecessary to the plot, as an event that had occurred previously was sufficient for storyline purposes. Another little issue was that, while perfectly charming, there were many superfluous details about the numerous children, and again this is because of the very short length of the material, otherwise it was delightful. Ella Quinn’s writing is gorgeous, as usual; her attention to detail makes us participants in this beautiful story, and her eloquence conveys the myriad emotions the characters experience. I will never tire of honourable heroes who do what’s right and prove themselves to be worthy of a fine lady. I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.