These Violent Delights (B&N Exclusive Edition)

These Violent Delights (B&N Exclusive Edition)

by Chloe Gong
These Violent Delights (B&N Exclusive Edition)

These Violent Delights (B&N Exclusive Edition)

by Chloe Gong

Paperback(B&N Exclusive Edition)

$13.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Chloe Gong's fierce and imaginative retelling of Romeo and Juliet, set in 1920s Shanghai, breathes new life into a story we all know and love. With high-stakes action, a ruthless and brilliant cast of characters and, of course, a tense romance, These Violent Delights is an unforgettable ride from start to finish.

This Barnes & Noble exclusive paperback edition includes an alternate cover, a special art print, and a bonus series of flashback vignettes featuring Roma and Juliette!

An Instant New York Times Bestseller!
A BuzzFeed Best Young Adult Book of 2020

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Serpent & Dove, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love...and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

This paperback edition of These Violent Delights contains never-before-seen content!


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781665948623
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication date: 05/30/2023
Series: These Violent Delights Series , #1
Edition description: B&N Exclusive Edition
Pages: 496
Sales rank: 7,222
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

About The Author
Chloe Gong is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Secret Shanghai novels, as well as the Flesh and False Gods trilogy. Her books have been published in over twenty countries and have been featured in The New York Times, People, Forbes, and more. She is a recent graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, where she double-majored in English and international relations. Born in Shanghai and raised in Auckland, New Zealand, Chloe is now living in New York City.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews