Trampoline: An Illustrated Novel

Trampoline: An Illustrated Novel

by Robert Gipe

NOOK BookIllustrate (eBook - Illustrate)

$14.49 $18.99 Save 24% Current price is $14.49, Original price is $18.99. You Save 24%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Dawn Jewell is fifteen. She is restless, curious, and wry. She listens to Black Flag, speaks her mind, and joins her grandmother’s fight against mountaintop removal mining almost in spite of herself. “I write by ear,” says Robert Gipe, and Dawn’s voice is the essence of his debut novel, Trampoline. She lives in eastern Kentucky with her addict mother and her Mamaw, whose stance against the coal companies has earned her the community’s ire. Jagged and honest, Trampoline is a powerful portrait of a place struggling with the economic and social forces that threaten and define it. Inspired by oral tradition and punctuated by Gipe’s raw and whimsical drawings, it is above all about its heroine, Dawn, as she decides whether to save a mountain or save herself; be ruled by love or ruled by anger; remain in the land of her birth or run for her life.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780821445242
Publisher: Ohio University Press
Publication date: 03/15/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 360
Sales rank: 890,734
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

Robert Gipe lives and works in Harlan County, Kentucky. Pop is his third Ohio University Press novel. His first, Trampoline, won the 2016 Weatherford Award for Appalachian novel of the year. His second novel, Weedeater, was a Weatherford finalist. For the past thirty years he has worked in arts-based organizing and is the founding coproducer of the Higher Ground community performance series. He has contributed to numerous journals and anthologies, is a playwright, and is currently a script consultant on a forthcoming television show based on Beth Macy’s Dopesick. Author photo by Amelia Kirby.

Table of Contents

Contents Act 1: Escape Velocity 1: Driving Lesson 2: Smother 3: What Hurts Act 2: Reckoning 4: Dead Cow in the Creek 5: Monster Birds 6: Waterlight Act 3: Bulldozer 7: Hominy Heart 8: A Thing Boils Up 9: Ignorant Girl Act 4: Meatspace 10: Raccoon Eyes 11: Fake Marshmallows 12: Mudhole Act 5: Silver Dagger 13: The Mouse 14: Governor 15: Magic Yellow Pop Can Acknowledgments

Customer Reviews