When We Were Mothers

When We Were Mothers

by Nicci Kadilak
When We Were Mothers

When We Were Mothers

by Nicci Kadilak

eBook

$5.99 

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Lucinda was born to guide her mother's secret society out of the shadows. But no one ever told her how much she would have to sacrifice.

 

As First Daughter of the Garden Society, Lucinda has devoted her life to bringing natural birth back to a world where it has been outlawed. But when her best friend dies giving birth illegally and Lucinda is forced to cover up the cause of death, the stakes of this lifelong secret become all too real.

 

Emeka is a decorated detective known for his objectivity and level head. But his latest case leads him too close to home, and he must shift his perspective--or risk losing those closest to him.

 

Can Lucinda evade Emeka's investigation and keep the Society and all its members alive? Or will the world her mother spent a lifetime building collapse, taking Lucinda and all her Sisters along with it?

 

Lucinda is a strong female protagonist who showcases women's resilience and vulnerability. When We Were Mothers is perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and anyone who enjoys a suspenseful story about a world that hasn't arrived yet, but very well could.

 

Readers everywhere are saying, "The world needs this book." Pick up your copy of When We Were Mothers now!


Product Details

BN ID: 2940166575432
Publisher: Nicci Kadilak
Publication date: 01/17/2023
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: eBook
File size: 381 KB

About the Author

Nicci Kadilak is an educator, author, journalist, and mom whose personal essays have been featured in publications such as Zibby Mag, MamaMia!, and The Motherload. Before becoming a full-time writer, she was a K-12+ teacher, tutor, and school administrator. She could never fully leave the ed­ucation world, and she still takes regular work as a consultant. She holds a bachelor’s degree in neuroscience (with a minor in math) from Boston University and a master’s in education administration. When We Were Mothers is the first of many novels Nicci intends to publish–though hope­fully the rest take fewer than four years to write. Nicci lives with her hus­band and three children outside Boston, where she writes and produces a local news publication.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews