Yellow [CD/DVD]

Yellow [CD/DVD]

by Denki Groove



Yellow confirms Denki Groove are pros at what they do, but it will hardly rank among their best records due to its own ascetic nature. Sure, the band's got their beats dead on, providing an effective acid house soundtrack for a night on the dancefloor, but it's nice when an album has a face, and here Denki Groove run into some problems. A lot of tracks on Yellow cross the line, minimalism turns into annoyance, and their decision to put some of those songs to the forefront of the record ("Mojo (CM mix)" and "No. 3") doesn't help, even if it smacks of conscious provocation. The beat segments are too short, and the synths too sparse, occasionally too drenched in the Casio spirit of the '80s, and, most strangely, all too often devoid of the sunny vibe expected of the band. Coupled with some deep-voiced vocals here and there, those parts invoke the militaristic spirit of Front Line Assembly, which is weird for a techno/dance-pop band. Thankfully, such moments are fleeting, and as the album progresses, the songs get more fleshed out on all levels, from beats to more involved and better produced synthesizer textures, to varied vocal samples, both male and female. "Sanpunmaru No Uta" even reintroduces surf rock guitar to the band's sound, although the song and the album still don't have anything to do with rock music. But even though there's some quality material present, the general impression of Yellow is that Denki Groove, for all their skill, were trying to spread the butter thinner than they ought to. Maybe they should've limited themselves to an EP. [A CD/DVD version was also released.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2008
Label: Imports
UPC: 4582117988847
catalogNumber: 821568


Disc 1

  1. Mojo
  2. No. 3
  3. Sanpunmaru No Uta
  4. Mole Confession of Mole Man
  5. Dondake the Giant
  6. Acid House All Night Long
  7. A Ki Me Fu Ra I
  8. The Words
  9. Shounan Acid
  10. Area Arena
  11. Fake It!

Disc 2

  1. Mr. Empty
  2. Zoo Desire
  3. Hanbun Ningen Damono
  4. Mononoke Dance
  5. Shounen Young
  6. Cafe De Oni (Kao to Kagaku)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews