Desperate Girls

Desperate Girls

by Laura Griffin

Paperback

$13.20 $16.00 Save 18% Current price is $13.2, Original price is $16. You Save 18%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Desperate Girls 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
LEH0644 11 days ago
Brynn Holloran was one of the prosecutors in the James Corby trial. Incarcerated in a maximum security prison, Corby has escaped and is seeking revenge. He has murdered the woman who was the lead prosecutor and was now a judge. His next victim was the lead homicide detective on the case. Brynn is now an attorney with a private law firm and her boss has called in Wolfe Security to provide bodyguards for Brynn and fellow attorney Ross Foley. Brynn meets Erik Morgan, the lead man on the team assigned to her. Sparks fly between them and Erik is determined to keep her safe.
lhill82125 3 months ago
It is’nt often that a book can grab my interest from the very beginning and hold it to the very last page but that is exactly what this book did. It has everything you want to read in a book. Excitement, danger, romance deceit. What more could you ask for. I will definitely be reading the next book when it comes out. Great job Laura, Thanks,
lhill82125 3 months ago
It is’nt often that a book can grab my interest from the very beginning and hold it to the very last page but that is exactly what this book did. It has everything you want to read in a book. Excitement, danger, romance deceit. What more could you ask for. I will definitely be reading the next book when it comes out. Great job Laura, Thanks,
Anonymous 8 months ago
Great read. Couldn't put it down !
Anonymous 8 months ago
Great characters all the way around. Strong storyline, and the secondary characters could least to excellent sequels. Definitely worth the read. It was fun to read who the author worked in one of the characters from the Delphi Center.
Lost-N-Love-N-Hopeless 8 months ago
Twist, turns, suspense, mystery, intrigue, danger, romance. All this coupled with a sexy, hot, protective ex-secret serviceman and an intelligent, feisty, determined defense attorney. Brynn was tough, sexy, smart, determined, tough, and in need of protection. Life and its circumstances have caught up with her and she finds that she needs help protecting her life. I say help because Brynn was one of those women that wouldn’t give up her life even when it was in danger. With each step she took in the case, she was putting her life in more danger and more opportunities for her life to end. She was stupid smart, but seemed to lack general common sense. This may have been due to her job. She soon realizes that she needs to give up something to get more. Erik finds that he becomes tasked with the one job that he could have done without. He also learns that sometimes work is not all there is. Erik was strong, stern, sexy, intense, calm, calculating. He could think clearly when needed and had those moments that allowed you to see the human/male in him. Wolfe Security is the new series from Laura Griffin and it comes out with the action, drama, suspense, tension, intensity all turned up a few notches. Two hard working, work obsessed people learn a valuable lesson this time around. They learn that there is more to life than the job. The find something more to value. Laura Griffin for me has always been the one of the authors to go to when you are leaning more to the suspense, intensity, mystery of a romance. There is and for me has always been less of the romance and more of the intrigue of the danger, action, murder. The tones and notes of the broader picture. When I want a romance but one that is not the dominant character of the read. The Wolfe Security series seems to be picking up the gauglant from the Tracer series. Looking for suspense, intrigue, mystery, murder with added hints of romance. You need not look further.
ledLD 8 months ago
Enjoyable read. The story has a few bland spots but picks up and recovers. There are some plot twists, intrigue, a little mystery, the saving grace of this story. The romance is kind of redundant, has been done many times before, not a bad thing, just same ol’, same ol’. One of my questions is where did the title come from? Sure murder of girls/women, however this is a book about one woman. All in all a decent read.
SugarNSpice1 9 months ago
A new series kicks off with a manhunt for an escaped vicious murderer turned vigilante killer who is on the quest for revenge against those in the legal world who he feels did him wrong. Fans of the Tracer series will remember Liam Wolfe and his wife Tara from Shadow Fall. Liam runs Wolfe Security and this new series will be about the men and women that work for him and the clients they are tasked with protecting. Clients – Defense attorney Brynn Holloran and her co-counsel Ross Foley. They were part of the prosecution team team that put James Corby away. Now people that were part of convicting him are being murdered and Brynn and Ross know they are on his list.. Their boss wanting to take no chances hires Wolfe Security to protect them. Wolfe Security – Erik Morgan is tasked with running the security detail for Brynn and Ross. He is a former marine who then become a secret service agent that resigned after an op went bad. That mistake from the past makes him even more dedicated to protecting the clients. Along with Erik we meet the rest of the team that make up Wolfe security who I assume will be getting future stories. There are multiple plots going on at the same time. The hunt for Corby which involves a task force of cops and US Marshals. The current trial Brynn is head defense lawyer for trying to prove her client innocent all while being protected by Wolfe Security. I have to say that it took me a while to warm up to Brynn – she was not the most likable character at the start of the book. She is a force to be reckoned with in the courtroom but outside of it she was a bit of a pushy witch. With a great cast of secondary characters and a surprising twist at the end this was an enjoyable read and start to a new series. Look forward to more.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Loved the book. Great suspense, well-drawn characters, strong heroine, and a hero that melted my heart.
besu 9 months ago
A defense attorney, Brynn Holloran, is working on defending a wrongly accused young man when a dangerous escaped convict out for revenge, targets all those involved in his conviction. Brynn and her co-worker worked on his case so her firm hires an elite security firm as bodyguards. Brynn isn't thrilled but as murders pile up, the manhunt is unsuccessful and the danger increases she begins to accept that there is a real danger. It also doesn't hurt that Erik, an attractive former military and ex-secret serviceman, is her bodyguard. This story has plenty of intrigue, suspense and romance. I enjoyed the mix of crime, police procedure, and courtroom drama. There is a big twist at the end and it is a doozy but it was believable and I liked it. Overall this was a light refreshing romance that was suspenseful and well written. The characters were well developed and there was plenty of action. I look forward to more from this author. The only criticism I have of the book is the title, Desperate Girls, does not fit this story at all. I received ARC from NetGalley (Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books) in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.
TarrahMarie 10 months ago
This was my first experience with this author and I was pleasantly surprised. It was a great Sunday afternoon read. Griffin had excellent character development and did a superb job creating that “spark” between people. The plot was fluid in shifting between the different aspects of the story, so much so you are blindsided by the twist. Love to be surprised like that! The story follows defense attorney, Brynn Holloran, who does not like people telling her what to do. She is one of her firms top defenders and is strong willed both inside and outside of the courtroom. She works long hours and lets her work consume her, which may be why relationships in her personal life are such a struggle. But everything changes for Brynn when she is forced to accept the protection of a private security firm after circumstances surrounding an old case start to present danger to her and those involved in the case. A ruthless killer that she helped prosecute and convict has escaped from prison and those intimately related to his trial are being murdered. Former Marine and Secret Service Agent, Erik Morgan, is put in charge of Brynn’s security detail but she is not making it easy on him. Brynn refuses to listen, follow his rules, and questions everything about her protection. Her constant talking and her lingering stares are making him crazy - in more ways than one. Brynn will have to learn to trust Erik and his team of muscle if she wants to survive. She will have to change her outlook on life and come to terms with under estimating the truth about those we’re closest to. The book does not go into gruesome detail on crimes and did not get too explicit during the romantic scenes. It would be a good read for someone just getting into Romance/Crime/Mystery. Overall, a good read - I look forward to read more from this author.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Loved it!! Has suspense and romance. Fantastic until the very last page.
Monnie777 10 months ago
I loved this book. Once I started reading this book I could not put this down. The whole thriller part of this book was interesting to follow. Brynn is a fierce, independent, powerful woman and Erik is her perfect match. She fights him tooth and nail through this whole book and he loves and hates it.It was such fun to read about these two and watch them try and fight their attraction. I hope there are more books with Wolf Security cause I loved reading about all the guys there and think it would be great to have more from them. *I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley and am voluntarily leaving a review.*
Anonymous 10 months ago
I received a netgalley of Desperate Girls by Laura Griffin, in exchange for an honest review. This book has romance and is a full of suspense, murder and passion. Defense attorney Brynn is involved in a trial when she hears that her former colleague has been murdered. The main suspect is a man she helped put in jail, who’s now free and looking for revenge. Reluctantly she is being protected by Erik, They both search for the killer in this thriller. There are many twists in this book and it was enjoyable.
BooksAndSpoons 10 months ago
A gripping, breathtaking, increasing tension in a story that blew me away with the brilliant twists in the plot, where no one is safe, with memorable characters who make an impression, as they are fighting for truth, justice, happiness, and love. Defense attorney Brynn Holloran is a woman easy to admire. She is smart, capable, and bright. She knows what she wants and she is not afraid to go after it. She has guts and she is brave, but she does recognize that she needs help, that she needs protection, and that the team handling it knows more about their expertise than she does. She is no doormat and giving up control is not easy for her, but sometimes it is necessary. I loved the chemistry between Eric and Brynn. Eric is protective, professional, smart, commanding, even intimidating, and more than capable to handle the demanding job. I loved the mutual respect and admiration Eric and Brynn have for each other, they are equal in the other’s eyes, and so well suited for each other. The story has three major components that are cleverly twined together, each component bringing its own intensity to the tale. There is the case Brynn is defending in the courtroom where a young man’s life is on line. There is the mad killer on the lose who escaped from the prison and is hunting for his own kind of justice, the burning need to find the killer, and to learn the truth of what happened during his trial. And then there is the love story developing between Eric and Brynn, a romance that is ardent, tender, and adorable at the same time, bringing in the swoon factor on a high level, with the hero who lives to protect, and with the heroine who is not afraid to ask what she wants. Laura Griffin writes stories that capture my mind and heart while I’m completely immersed in the destinies of the characters. The images are vivid and sharp, the cases twisted and complicated, the emotions deep and wide, and the fear, tension, and suspense as palpable as the tangible passion sizzling between the protagonists. Desperate Girls was an absolutely riveting story, and I can’t wait to read more about the intriguing and powerful men and women working at the Wolf Security. ~ Five Spoons
Anonymous 10 months ago
This book was as good as all the others I have read by this author. A tion packed, with a twisty plot that kept me reading.
RobinLovesReading 10 months ago
My rating: 4.5 Stars After friend and judge Jen Ballard is murdered, defense attorney Brynn Holloran and her partner need protection as the suspected killer of the judge may be after them. The suspect in question is a recently escaped murder convict with a mission to go after everyone responsible for his conviction. Erik Morgan is her primary protection from the recently hired security agency. He is a former Marine and Secret Service Agent and takes his job very seriously. The team includes three agents for each lawyer as the threat is intensely real, especially when another attorney connected with the murder case has been murdered. Brynn doesn't take being guarded so closely very easily. She is strong woman, primarily when it comes to her job, but her personal life is quite off the rails. Brynn is quite stubborn about having three bodyguards. Meanwhile, there is a powerful and undeniable attraction between her and Erik. Desperate Girls is a fast-paced romantic thriller. I was gripped from the first page and was engaged to the very end. This was a very quick read, and while I am quite pleased that I was able to read this book cover to cover in two sittings, I hated to have to take the interruption that I did. I was enthralled with the exciting suspense. Since this is also a romance, I expected and enjoyed the happy ending, but I was shocked at the conclusion. This is the first book in a new series by Laura Griffin. The security agency is full of hunky heroes which leads to the potential of fantastic books to follow. I look forward to reading every one. Thank you Gallery Books and NetGalley for this ARC to review; this is my honest opinion.
Boohimdanno 10 months ago
Stars: 4 1/2 stars Review: I have read many book by Laura Griffin and while each one if different and unique she has the ability bring readers into her world of action, romance, mystery and suspense. The characters are human with their abilities to bring their lives front and center where readers began to care about what happens to them. Desperate Girls is a mix of legal dialogue and police procedural that readers will drown in but than the action starts to pick up once again keeping readers hooked needing to know who and why. The story is told from different points of view which doesn't pull away from the story and only adds to the mystery and action that will pack a punch. Filling readers of suspense with what they have been missing and romance readers enough to keep them wanting more. Readers will want to yell at Brynn Holloran several times in the book trust me I did. The lack of emotions from the male lead characters don't detract from the book but readers might have a hard time connecting with him. This might sound funny but this story I think would be a solid 5 if there had been a little humor added into the story. The story has a large cast of characters that are introduced and the author did a great job of keeping everyone in a line and I can't wait to see where this series goes from here. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher Gallery Books for the advance copy of Laura Griffin Desperate Girls
blonde_betty 10 months ago
I have been a fan of Laura Griffin Delphi Series since the beginning. In the first book in her new series, Desperate Girls, Laura pulls in the Wolfe Security team to protect a team of attorneys. It’s a compellingly good read with great characters. I can hardly wait to see where she takes this new series. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this novel.
Caljane 10 months ago
Successful defense lawyer Brynn needs a bodyguard when it gets apparent that a felon she helped prosecute is on a revenge trip after he escaped prison. Eric, former military and CIA, works for Liam Wolfe’s Security Company (readers of Laura Griffins’ Tracer novels will remember Liam from “Shadow Fall”) as a team leader. With his five colleagues he protects Brynn and her co-worker as well as helps solving a mystery and, of course, falls in love. While the story was, as usually, well written, action filled and in general a page turner, I did not connect with it very well. The bodyguard-ward love-connection is too clichéd for my taste and the problems implicated with it are very predictable. And in this case, I could not even feel any sexual or emotional tension between the two protagonists, it felled somewhat forced to me. I also can not feel for a heroine in criminal defense. Call me prejudiced. But someone who puts his/her whole heart into bringing felons back on the streets – not my thing (sorry to all you defense lawyers reading this!). I assume the author saw this coming, thus the book dealt a lot with the current case Brynn was working on, with snappy and very entertaining courtroom dialogs and a second mystery, because it was sometimes not clear if her client was really as innocent as she claimed. Ironically, due to this side trip in Brynn’s work I enjoyed the story more, as I always cheer for smart dialogs! Narration: 3rd person female protagonist’s POV, sometimes also some insight into male POV Sexual content: couple of scenes fairly descriptive Main Location: contemporary Dallas, Texas
Anonymous 10 months ago
Another great Read,
Jnnlbrd 10 months ago
Have you ever gone to the grocery store and not sure of what you want for dinner? You grab a cart and go up and down the aisles looking for something that hits you and say "now this looks good, I think I'll try it!" After what seems like an eternity, suddenly something that you've never had before catches your eye and you eagerly go home now excited for dinner. Unfortunately, the reality of the meal isn't quite what you hoped for but it still turns out to be ok and you keep eating. Desperate Girls by Laura Griffin was that meal for me. The cover and book description gave me the thought that this was going to be a super spicy thriller. But what I got was something milder and not sure what flavor wanted to dominate more, the legal aspect, the case from the past or the relationship drama between the two main characters, Brynn and Erik. The book kept me interested enough to keep reading and finish it but not love it. This "spicy-lite" book will leave you full but not completely satisfied. I received an advance copy of this book from Netgalley. #netgalley #desperategirls
TropicalDelusions 10 months ago
Desperate Girls – Laura Griffin I was fortunate to receive this novel as an Advance Reader Copy, in exchange for an objective review. Brynn Holloran is a top-notch attorney, who, once a prosecutor, now makes her living as a defense attorney. She is busy preparing the defense of a young man who is accused of murder, when she learns of the death of a judge and former colleague of hers, Jen Ballard. Coincidentally, she learns of the escape of a serial rapist and killer that she and Jen had once worked hard to convict. And another police officer who worked the case is found dead. Alarmed by the escape of James Corby, Brynn’s boss hires the security services of the elite Wolfe Security Services to keep his team safe. Brynn feels the around-the-clock protection is intrusive and unnecessary; yet finds herself unwillingly attracted to one of her body guards, Eric Morgan. Then another team member is ambushed and severely injured and the security team goes on high alert. Tensions and passions run high as Brynn and Eric are forced to spend even more time together. As they review the case against James Colby, the question arises of planted evidence… Is Colby avenging a set up? And can Wolfe Security keep Brynn safe? I first discovered Laura Griffin a few years ago, when I read several novels of her Tracers series. But with so many authors to read and so little time, she somehow fell off my ‘reading radar’. Thanks to Netgalley, she is right back on top, and well within my sights again! A great read!! I’m looking forward to more of the Wolfe Security series!!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Another great story! I can't wsit until tbe next one
Anonymous 10 months ago
Loved the book. I have read most of her books and loved them all.