Ander & Santi Were Here: A Novel

Ander & Santi Were Here: A Novel

by Jonny Garza Villa
Ander & Santi Were Here: A Novel

Ander & Santi Were Here: A Novel

by Jonny Garza Villa

Hardcover

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$18.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe won’t want to miss Ander & Santi Were Here, a heart wrenching and beautiful romance about two teenagers falling in love while the weight of the world is stacked against them.

A STONEWALL YOUNG ADULT HONOR BOOK

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
meets The Sun is Also a Star in this YA contemporary love story from Jonny Garza Villa, Ander & Santi Were Here, about a nonbinary Mexican American teen falling for the shy new waiter at their family’s taqueria.


Finding home. Falling in love. Fighting to belong.

The Santos Vista neighborhood of San Antonio, Texas, is all Ander Martínez has ever known. The smell of pan dulce. The mixture of Spanish and English filling the streets. And, especially their job at their family's taquería. It's the place that has inspired Ander as a muralist, and, as they get ready to leave for art school, it's all of these things that give them hesitancy. That give them the thought, are they ready to leave it all behind?

To keep Ander from becoming complacent during their gap year, their family "fires" them so they can transition from restaurant life to focusing on their murals and prepare for college. That is, until they meet Santiago López Alvarado, the hot new waiter. Falling for each other becomes as natural as breathing. Through Santi's eyes, Ander starts to understand who they are and want to be as an artist, and Ander becomes Santi's first steps toward making Santos Vista and the United States feel like home.

Until ICE agents come for Santi, and Ander realizes how fragile that sense of home is. How love can only hold on so long when the whole world is against them. And when, eventually, the world starts to win.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250843999
Publisher: St. Martin's Publishing Group
Publication date: 05/02/2023
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 16,023
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

About The Author
JONNY GARZA VILLA (they/them) is an author of contemporary young adult literature with characters and settings inspired by their own Tejane, Chicane, and queer identities, including the Pura Belpré Honor Book Fifteen Hundred Miles from the Sun and Ander & Santi Were Here, a Bookshop.org Best YA of 2023 selection. Whatever the storyline, Jonny ultimately hopes Latines, and, more specifically, queer Mexican American young people will feel seen in their writing. When not writing, Jonny enjoys reading, playing Dungeons and Dragons, visiting taquerías, listening to Selena, and caring for their many cacti children. They live in San Antonio.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews