Rainbow Black: A Novel

Rainbow Black: A Novel

by Maggie Thrash
Rainbow Black: A Novel

Rainbow Black: A Novel

by Maggie Thrash

Paperback

$17.09  $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Wrestling with important themes of sexuality, transphobia, and identity, Maggie Thrash delivers an enthralling literary accomplishment that is deftly relevant and darkly humorous. Perfect for fans of Boy Parts and The Incendiaries.

I've loved Maggie Thrash's work for years, and Rainbow Black is going to set so many new hearts aflame—murder, intrigue, queer love, dark humor AND satanic panic? Welcome to the Maggie Thrash Fan Club, world!—Emma Straub, New York Times bestselling author of This Time Tomorrow

For readers of Donna Tartt and Ottessa Moshfegh comes a brilliant, deliriously entertaining novel from the acclaimed author of Honor GirlRainbow Black is part murder mystery, part gay international fugitive love storyset against the ’90s Satanic Panic and spanning 20 years in the life of a young woman pulled into its undertow.

Lacey Bond is a 13-year-old girl in New Hampshire growing up in the tranquility of her hippie parents’ rural daycare center. 

 Then the Satanic Panic hits. It’s the summer of 1990 when Lacey ’s parents are handcuffed, flung into the county jail, and faced with a torrent of jaw-dropping accusations as part of a mass hysteria sweeping the nation. When a horrific murder brings Lacey to the breaking point, she makes a ruthless choice that will haunt her for decades.

 As an adult, Lacey mimes a normal life as the law clerk of an illustrious judge. She has a beautiful girlfriend, a measure of security, and the world has mostly forgotten about her. But after a tiny misstep spirals into an uncontrolled legal disaster, the hysteria threatens to begin all over again.

 Rainbow Black is an addictive, searing, high-octane triumph, an imaginative tour de force about one woman’s tireless desire to be free.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063286870
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 03/19/2024
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 55,498
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Maggie Thrash is the author of the critically acclaimed graphic memoirs Honor Girl (a Los Angeles Times Book Prize nominee) and Lost Soul, Be At Peace, as well as two novels for young adults. Rainbow Black is her adult debut. Born and raised in Atlanta, she lives in New Hampshire.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews