B&N Reads

Our Most Anticipated New Kids’ Book Releases of May 2022

With Children’s Book Week, the upcoming announcement of our Children’s & YA Book Award winners, and a bunch of newly published books, we could not be more excited for the month of May! From a vibrant and beautifully illustrated story about the sun to get us excited for summer to a battle between good and evil, mysterious trains, and two debut young reader fantasy novels from some of our favorite YA authors, here are the best new kids’ books to look out for this May. 

Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

A.F. Steadman

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

In a world not unlike our own, 13-year-old Skandar dreams of becoming a respected unicorn rider and competing in the Chaos Cup. You see, unicorns are very real in Skandar’s world — and in fact, they are deadly, bloodthirsty creatures who are extremely dangerous unless bonded to a rider. But shortly after Skandar bonds with his unicorn, he learns an even greater danger is afoot — and it’s up to them to stop it. This adventure of epic proportions is set to take the world by storm.

In a world not unlike our own, 13-year-old Skandar dreams of becoming a respected unicorn rider and competing in the Chaos Cup. You see, unicorns are very real in Skandar’s world — and in fact, they are deadly, bloodthirsty creatures who are extremely dangerous unless bonded to a rider. But shortly after Skandar bonds with his unicorn, he learns an even greater danger is afoot — and it’s up to them to stop it. This adventure of epic proportions is set to take the world by storm.

The Marvellers

The Marvellers

Hardcover $14.99 $16.99

The Marvellers

Dhonielle Clayton , Khadijah Khatib

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $16.99

Arcanum Training Institute is known for celebrating magical cultural traditions from around the world, but Conjurors have never been allowed to attend. That is, until 11-year-old Ella is accepted. The Marvellers is a spellbinding tale about friendship, belonging, and self-love set against the backdrop of a magical school in the sky that is perfect for fans of The School for Good and Evil.

Arcanum Training Institute is known for celebrating magical cultural traditions from around the world, but Conjurors have never been allowed to attend. That is, until 11-year-old Ella is accepted. The Marvellers is a spellbinding tale about friendship, belonging, and self-love set against the backdrop of a magical school in the sky that is perfect for fans of The School for Good and Evil.

Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor

Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor

Hardcover $15.99 $17.99

Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor

Xiran Jay Zhao

In Stock Online

Hardcover $15.99 $17.99

Bestselling YA author Xiran Jay Zhao is back with an action-packed middle grade debut about a boy who learns that he descends from the first emperor of China. To save the mortal realm from dangerous spirits escaping the underworld, Zachary Ying must journey across China collecting artifacts and defeating fabled figures one by one. This thrilling adventure combines history, fantasy, and myth to deliver a tale for the ages.

Bestselling YA author Xiran Jay Zhao is back with an action-packed middle grade debut about a boy who learns that he descends from the first emperor of China. To save the mortal realm from dangerous spirits escaping the underworld, Zachary Ying must journey across China collecting artifacts and defeating fabled figures one by one. This thrilling adventure combines history, fantasy, and myth to deliver a tale for the ages.

The World Belonged to Us

The World Belonged to Us

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

The World Belonged to Us

Jacqueline Woodson , Leo Espinosa

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

As if by time travel, Jacqueline Woodson and Leo Espinosa transport us to 1970s Brooklyn — an era when the kids ruled the street. She treats us to the sounds of honking horns and children laughing, the spray of the fire hydrants and the smell of hot pavement. The World Belonged to Us, like all of Woodson’s best work, is simultaneously specific and universal. Another must-read installment in the Jacqueline Woodson library and Leo Espinosa collection that will be enjoyed for years to come.

As if by time travel, Jacqueline Woodson and Leo Espinosa transport us to 1970s Brooklyn — an era when the kids ruled the street. She treats us to the sounds of honking horns and children laughing, the spray of the fire hydrants and the smell of hot pavement. The World Belonged to Us, like all of Woodson’s best work, is simultaneously specific and universal. Another must-read installment in the Jacqueline Woodson library and Leo Espinosa collection that will be enjoyed for years to come.

Sun Wishes

Sun Wishes

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

Sun Wishes

Patricia Storms , Milan Pavlovic

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

A gorgeous companion to Patricia Storms and Milan Pavlovic’s Moon WishesSun Wishes is a balm for the eyes. This celebration of the sun follows its journey throughout the sky, as it’s seen around the world. Sun Wishes is a special hybrid of non-fiction and art.

A gorgeous companion to Patricia Storms and Milan Pavlovic’s Moon WishesSun Wishes is a balm for the eyes. This celebration of the sun follows its journey throughout the sky, as it’s seen around the world. Sun Wishes is a special hybrid of non-fiction and art.

Don't Eat Bees: Life Lessons from Chip the Dog

Don't Eat Bees: Life Lessons from Chip the Dog

Hardcover $16.99 $17.99

Don't Eat Bees: Life Lessons from Chip the Dog

Dev Petty , Mike Boldt

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $17.99

Meet Chip the Dog. When in need of life advice, there really is no one better to turn to than Chip. Although he’s only 7 (but that’s really like 50!), Chip has figured out several important dog things — like how cats are awfully self-important for animals who poop in a box. From the creative force behind I Don’t Want to be a Frog, Dev Petty and Mike Boldt’s Don’t Eat Bees is a fun, highly enjoyable read-aloud that’s sure to become a favorite.

Meet Chip the Dog. When in need of life advice, there really is no one better to turn to than Chip. Although he’s only 7 (but that’s really like 50!), Chip has figured out several important dog things — like how cats are awfully self-important for animals who poop in a box. From the creative force behind I Don’t Want to be a Frog, Dev Petty and Mike Boldt’s Don’t Eat Bees is a fun, highly enjoyable read-aloud that’s sure to become a favorite.

Rise of the School for Good and Evil

Rise of the School for Good and Evil

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

Rise of the School for Good and Evil

Soman Chainani

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

Fans of The School for Good and Evil series won’t want to miss this epic prequel set years before the events we all know and love, back when the battle between two brothers, one good and one evil, first began.

Fans of The School for Good and Evil series won’t want to miss this epic prequel set years before the events we all know and love, back when the battle between two brothers, one good and one evil, first began.

Remarkably Ruby

Remarkably Ruby

Paperback $12.99 $13.99

Remarkably Ruby

Terri Libenson

In Stock Online

Paperback $12.99 $13.99

Terri Libenson fans rejoice! The bestselling Emmie & Friends graphic novel series is back for the sixth installment with Remarkably Ruby. This time, ex-best friends Ruby and Mia discover what it means to come into themselves, and maybe, just maybe, come back to each other. The Emmie & Friends series is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Kayla Miller.

Terri Libenson fans rejoice! The bestselling Emmie & Friends graphic novel series is back for the sixth installment with Remarkably Ruby. This time, ex-best friends Ruby and Mia discover what it means to come into themselves, and maybe, just maybe, come back to each other. The Emmie & Friends series is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Kayla Miller.

Growing an Artist: The Story of a Landscaper and His Son

Growing an Artist: The Story of a Landscaper and His Son

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

Growing an Artist: The Story of a Landscaper and His Son

John Parra

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

In his author-illustrator debut, John Parra’s Growing an Artist: The Story of a Landscaper and his Son is a creative and heartwarming story about a boy who shadows his landscape architect father for the day. Brimming with creativity that taps into important STEM topics, Parra created something beautiful that’s both educational and emotional.

In his author-illustrator debut, John Parra’s Growing an Artist: The Story of a Landscaper and his Son is a creative and heartwarming story about a boy who shadows his landscape architect father for the day. Brimming with creativity that taps into important STEM topics, Parra created something beautiful that’s both educational and emotional.

The Golden Swift

The Golden Swift

Hardcover $14.99 $16.99

The Golden Swift

Lev Grossman

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $16.99

The second book in Lev Grossman’s The Silver Arrow series is a thrilling return to the Great Secret Intercontinental Railway, complete with more animals to save, a missing uncle, and even more mysteriously, another train riding the tracks. Follow Kate and Tom as they work to save their uncle — and the world.

The second book in Lev Grossman’s The Silver Arrow series is a thrilling return to the Great Secret Intercontinental Railway, complete with more animals to save, a missing uncle, and even more mysteriously, another train riding the tracks. Follow Kate and Tom as they work to save their uncle — and the world.

A Mouthful of Minnows

A Mouthful of Minnows

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

A Mouthful of Minnows

John Hare

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

John Hare, creator of the Field Trip series takes us on a hilarious and educational fishing adventure. Hare’s expressive art in Mouthful of Minnows is delightful as we follow Alphonso the snapping turtle as he negotiates with himself over whether or not his breakfast is too likeable to eat. The surprise ending makes this a perfect Storytime read-aloud. Great for fans of We Don’t Eat Our Classmates and Grumpy Monkey.

John Hare, creator of the Field Trip series takes us on a hilarious and educational fishing adventure. Hare’s expressive art in Mouthful of Minnows is delightful as we follow Alphonso the snapping turtle as he negotiates with himself over whether or not his breakfast is too likeable to eat. The surprise ending makes this a perfect Storytime read-aloud. Great for fans of We Don’t Eat Our Classmates and Grumpy Monkey.

Steve L. McEvil

Steve L. McEvil

Hardcover $11.99 $12.99

Steve L. McEvil

Lucas Turnbloom

In Stock Online

Hardcover $11.99 $12.99

Middle schoolers beware — Steve L. McEvil is roaming the halls, and this supervillain-in-training is certainly up to no good. This colorful laugh-out-loud graphic novel is the first book in a brand-new series about a sixth grader torn between the teachings of his villainous grandfather and the influence of his not-so-evil friends.

Middle schoolers beware — Steve L. McEvil is roaming the halls, and this supervillain-in-training is certainly up to no good. This colorful laugh-out-loud graphic novel is the first book in a brand-new series about a sixth grader torn between the teachings of his villainous grandfather and the influence of his not-so-evil friends.