our-monthly-picks

Our February Picks are Here!

Let’s fall in love … with books! Whatever your relationship status, there’s nothing quite like getting swept off your feet by a good read, and we’ve got the perfect books to take you away. Our February Monthly Picks are here and your dream book awaits! So, get wrapped up in a sprawling tale of history and magic, chase ghosts in a haunting chiller, investigate the lines between truth and fiction, uncover the hidden stories behind street names, set sail on an epic swashbuckling adventure and save the world in a thrilling new middle-grade spy novel.

A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians

A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians

Paperback $15.99 $17.99

A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians

H. G. Parry

In Stock Online

Paperback $15.99 $17.99

Our Monthly Speculative Fiction Pick 
A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians 
H. G. Parry
“Both wonderfully ambitious and achingly intimate, Parry’s second novel A Declaration on the Rights of Magicians has a sweeping scope in a magically infused 18th century. If you enjoy historical fiction, fantasy, well-paced mystery, political intrigue and absolutely splendid characterization, this alternative history is your next read.” —Shannon D, Fiction Buyer

Our Monthly Speculative Fiction Pick 
A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians 
H. G. Parry
“Both wonderfully ambitious and achingly intimate, Parry’s second novel A Declaration on the Rights of Magicians has a sweeping scope in a magically infused 18th century. If you enjoy historical fiction, fantasy, well-paced mystery, political intrigue and absolutely splendid characterization, this alternative history is your next read.” —Shannon D, Fiction Buyer

The Only Good Indians

The Only Good Indians

Paperback $14.99 $16.99

The Only Good Indians

Stephen Graham Jones

In Stock Online

Paperback $14.99 $16.99

Our Monthly Fiction Pick
The Only Good Indians 
Stephen Graham Jones
“At the crossroads of horror, poetry and history sits The Only Good Indians. “Poetic” should be called out in Jones’ writing. He gives a distinct voice to his four main characters. You will forever hear their stories in your mind, long after turning the last page. And in those stories is a deep history of Native American culture. Sometimes the true horror in a story goes beyond the passages that keep you up at night. First-rate all around for this novel.” — Jules H, Mystery & Thriller Buyer

Our Monthly Fiction Pick
The Only Good Indians 
Stephen Graham Jones
“At the crossroads of horror, poetry and history sits The Only Good Indians. “Poetic” should be called out in Jones’ writing. He gives a distinct voice to his four main characters. You will forever hear their stories in your mind, long after turning the last page. And in those stories is a deep history of Native American culture. Sometimes the true horror in a story goes beyond the passages that keep you up at night. First-rate all around for this novel.” — Jules H, Mystery & Thriller Buyer

Eight Perfect Murders

Eight Perfect Murders

Paperback $14.99 $16.99

Eight Perfect Murders

Peter Swanson

In Stock Online

Paperback $14.99 $16.99

Our Monthly Mystery & Thriller Pick
Eight Perfect Murders
Peter Swanson
Eight Perfect Murders is a thrilling journey. On the way, be prepared to investigate the blurry lines between truth and fiction. The novel opens on a snowy day in February and Swanson pulls us along into a phycological novel of suspense that pays homage to the thriller genre. In discussing ANY mystery novel, it’s tempting to want to disclose information on the whole plot. From the opening lines to the premise, this novel keeps us on our toes and guessing.” —Jules H, Mystery & Thriller Buyer

Our Monthly Mystery & Thriller Pick
Eight Perfect Murders
Peter Swanson
Eight Perfect Murders is a thrilling journey. On the way, be prepared to investigate the blurry lines between truth and fiction. The novel opens on a snowy day in February and Swanson pulls us along into a phycological novel of suspense that pays homage to the thriller genre. In discussing ANY mystery novel, it’s tempting to want to disclose information on the whole plot. From the opening lines to the premise, this novel keeps us on our toes and guessing.” —Jules H, Mystery & Thriller Buyer

The Address Book: What Street Addresses Reveal about Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power

The Address Book: What Street Addresses Reveal about Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power

Paperback $15.99 $17.99

The Address Book: What Street Addresses Reveal about Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power

Deirdre Mask

In Stock Online

Paperback $15.99 $17.99

Our Monthly Nonfiction Pick
The Address Book: What Street Addresses Reveal about Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power 
Deirdre Mask
“The numbers on a house, a building, an apartment — if we don’t need to know them, we hardly notice. But they do matter, and matter in ways far more complex than letter delivery and geolocation. Addresses tell stories of identity, caste, race, wealth and the shifts of power throughout human time. The Address Book is thoughtful and whimsical, startling and absorbing, a completely original historical tour and wholly entertaining.” —Sallye L, History Buyer

Our Monthly Nonfiction Pick
The Address Book: What Street Addresses Reveal about Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power 
Deirdre Mask
“The numbers on a house, a building, an apartment — if we don’t need to know them, we hardly notice. But they do matter, and matter in ways far more complex than letter delivery and geolocation. Addresses tell stories of identity, caste, race, wealth and the shifts of power throughout human time. The Address Book is thoughtful and whimsical, startling and absorbing, a completely original historical tour and wholly entertaining.” —Sallye L, History Buyer

All the Stars and Teeth

All the Stars and Teeth

Paperback $9.99 $10.99

All the Stars and Teeth

Adalyn Grace

In Stock Online

Paperback $9.99 $10.99

Our Monthly YA Pick
All the Stars and Teeth 
Adalyn Grace
“When it comes time for Princess Amora Montara to prove her magic to her people and claim her throne, something goes terribly wrong. Now forced to flee her island kingdom, Amora strikes a deal with a pirate named Bastian and joins him on an epic journey aboard his ship. This action-packed, high seas adventure is full of mermaids, pirates, sea monsters and, of course, magic. The lush world-building and captivating cast of characters will leave readers longing for a life at sea.” —Stephanie P, YA Buyer

Our Monthly YA Pick
All the Stars and Teeth 
Adalyn Grace
“When it comes time for Princess Amora Montara to prove her magic to her people and claim her throne, something goes terribly wrong. Now forced to flee her island kingdom, Amora strikes a deal with a pirate named Bastian and joins him on an epic journey aboard his ship. This action-packed, high seas adventure is full of mermaids, pirates, sea monsters and, of course, magic. The lush world-building and captivating cast of characters will leave readers longing for a life at sea.” —Stephanie P, YA Buyer

City Spies (City Spies Series #1)

City Spies (City Spies Series #1)

Paperback $8.99

City Spies (City Spies Series #1)

James Ponti

In Stock Online

Paperback $8.99

Our Monthly Young Reader Pick
City Spies 
James Ponti
“What happens when five kids from all over the world, each with a very particular set of skills, find themselves in the care of one British spy operating a secret M16 agency? Hacking, breaking and entering, and fighting crime, of course! James Ponti’s new action series is a wild romp around the world, with the first book culminating in an epic adventure in Paris. Perfect for fans of Stuart Gibbs’ Spy School series.” —Stephanie P, Young Reader Buyer

Our Monthly Young Reader Pick
City Spies 
James Ponti
“What happens when five kids from all over the world, each with a very particular set of skills, find themselves in the care of one British spy operating a secret M16 agency? Hacking, breaking and entering, and fighting crime, of course! James Ponti’s new action series is a wild romp around the world, with the first book culminating in an epic adventure in Paris. Perfect for fans of Stuart Gibbs’ Spy School series.” —Stephanie P, Young Reader Buyer