10 Must-Reads for Liane Moriarty Fans

Liane Moriarty’s books are my go-to recommendation for anyone who has found themselves in the unfortunate (but exciting!) position of not knowing what book they should pick up next. This Aussie authoress is a sheer joy to read! Her mysteries are enticing, but even more gripping are the completely relatable characters she brings to life in each book. It’s beyond easy to fall into a Moriarty binge; I can’t in good conscience tell you NOT to read everything she’s written in rapid succession, because that’s exactly what I did after starting with The Husband’s Secret. Still, should you follow in my footsteps, you will plow through all of Moriarty’s books and then feel mild-to-moderately bereft. If that’s the case, let me share with you some of the titles I dug into in order to placate the lack-of-Moriarty in my life. These ten books will help ease the pangs of having read Liane’s entire catalogue.

Landline, by Rainbow Rowell
Two words: Magic. Telephone. Georgie McCool is a successful TV writer whose marriage is on the brink of destruction. But through the use of a magic telephone (trust me, it’s awesome) she gets an opportunity to talk to her spouse in the past and, with any luck, fix everything.

All Fall Down, by Jennifer Weiner
In my opinion, one of Weiner’s best. On the surface, Allison Weiss has it all—handsome, successful husband, a beautiful kid, and a great house. But underneath the surface, there’s a problem: Allison has developed an addiction to pain pills and must try to find a way back to herself and away from the drugs.

The Best of Everything, by Rona Jaffe
If you haven’t read this late-50s classic, the time is now! It follows a trio of friends working in New York publishing as they try to make a name for themselves and reconcile their secret dreams with the realities of the real world. An awesome book about friendship that paints a killer portrayal of what it was to be a working woman in the 1950s.

Any Place I Hang My Hat, by Susan Isaacs
Amy Lincoln starts her life with a mother who abandons her and a grandmother with a bit of a shoplifting problem. But a scholarship to a hoity-toity boarding school ushers her into the world of the elite and gives her the opportunity to follow her dream of becoming a journalist. In the process, she unravels the truth behind her own mysterious past.

The Woman Who Stole My Life, by Marian Keyes
I cannot get enough of Marian Keyes, and I’m betting Moriarty fans will feel the same way about the Irish novelist. Stella Sweeney is living a totally normal life until she winds up critically ill and in the hospital for months. As if that’s not bad enough, when she wakes up she discovers her doctor has written about about her life, presenting Stella with unique challenges and difficult new decisions.

The Group, by Mary McCarthy
Set between the two world wars, this classic follows a clique of Vassar girls through the years after graduation. It’s a killer study of friendship, love, life, loss, and feminism. You’ll long to be a part of the Group by the time you’re done reading.

The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith
The first in J.K. Rowling’s Cormoran Strike detective series, and absolutely delicious. Strike is called in to investigate the mysterious death (and supposed suicide) of an up-and-coming young fashion model. Twists and turns galore, with Rowling’s instinctively good sense of plotting.

Bad Monkeys, by Matt Ruff
If you haven’t read anything by Matt Ruff, stop everything you’re doing and go buy all of his books right now. For the sake of brevity and specificity, I will say that Moriarty fans will definitely dig Bad Monkey, the story of Jane Charlotte, a woman arrested for murder who claims to be working for a covert agency responsible for taking out awful people, or “bad monkeys.” Is she crazy, lying, both, neither? Read it and find out. Ruff creates such specific, self-sustaining universes you’ll want to live inside them, this I promise you.

The Emperor’s Children, by Claire Messud
This novel is almost like the aughts’ answer to McCarthy’s book. It follows three friends who are turning thirty and how they’re making it (or not) while trying to forge lives for themselves in New York City. Messud’s writing is beautiful and cutting.

Behaving Like Adults, by Anna Maxted
Holly should be feeling like a grownup—she’s running her own successful matchmaking business, she’s kicked her immature fiancé to the curb, and she’s more together than ever. That is, until a sexual assault threatens to undo her world. With a stellar cast of characters and Maxted’s trademark wit, this book is as entertaining as it is affecting.

Have you discovered Liane Moriarty yet?

Comments are closed.

Follow BNReads