Parachute Kids: A Graphic Novel

Parachute Kids: A Graphic Novel

Parachute Kids: A Graphic Novel

Parachute Kids: A Graphic Novel

eBook

$7.99 

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Chock full of heart, humor and vibrant illustrations, Parachute Kids is a semi-autobiographical graphic novel based on the author's childhood living on her own with her siblings as undocumented immigrants in the US.

**National Book Award Longlist Title**

**Asian/Pacific American Award Honor Book**

This funny, fast-paced, and heartrending story about three siblings living on their own as undocumented new immigrants is perfect for fans of New Kid and Front Desk.

A DREAM TRIP TO AMERICA TURNS INTO A NIGHTMARE!

Feng-Li can't wait to discover America with her family! But after an action-packed vacation, her parents deliver shocking news: They are returning to Taiwan and leaving Feng-Li and her older siblings in California on their own.

Suddenly, the three kids must fend for themselves in a strange new world--and get along. Starting a new school, learning a new language, and trying to make new friends while managing a household is hard enough, but Bro and Sis's constant bickering makes everything worse. Thankfully, there are some hilarious moments to balance the stress and loneliness. But as tensions escalate--and all three kids get tangled in a web of bad choices--can Feng-Li keep her family together?


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781338832709
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date: 04/04/2023
Sold by: Scholastic, Inc.
Format: eBook
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 144,541
File size: 148 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Betty C. Tang is the creator of the graphic novel Parachute Kids, a 2023 National Book Award Longlist selection and an instant Indie bestseller. She has also illustrated the New York Times bestselling Jacky Ha-Ha series of graphic novels by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein. Before becoming a fulltime graphic novelist, Betty worked for various Hollywood animation studios, including Disney TV and DreamWorks Animation, and codirected an animated feature called Where’s the Dragon? Betty is a fourth-degree black belt in aikido. She immigrated to California as a parachute kid when she was ten and currently lives in Los Angeles. Learn more at bettyctang.com.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews