Our Most Anticipated New Kids’ Book Releases of November 2020

This year has given some of us way more family time than we bargained for — or  if you’re lucky, the perfect amount — but now we’ve reached the time of year when we look forward to spending time with family the most. Whether you’re a big kid, a little kid or just a kid at heart, gather your loved ones and cozy up, because we’ve got some great new Kids’ and YA releases for November that will help you transition to the cozier side of the season. And don’t forget, curbside pickup is available to make all your shopping quick and easy this season.

The Couch Potato
Jory John, Pete Oswald (Illustrator)

Over the years, we’ve had the pleasure of meeting The Good Egg, The Bad Seed, The Cool Bean and, now, here comes a brand-new character that is bound to bring a smile to your face. Meet your new best spud in The Couch Potato! Jory John and Pete Oswald are back with perhaps their most relatable (and necessary) story yet. Oswald’s recognizable illustrations creatively assist John’s playful commentary on the modern screen-dependent world. Though perfect for younger children, The Couch Potato is a quick must-read for every age.

And the People Stayed Home
Kitty O’Meara

When Kitty O’Meara penned her poem about the coronavirus pandemic back in March 2020, she had no idea her words would resonate around the world. After catching the attention of Oprah and Deepak Chopra, And the People Stayed Home solidified its place in the COVID zeitgeist. The world isolated for safety, and people found ways to pass the time—reading, gardening, dancing, reflecting. Now, with the help of beautiful illustrations, O’Meara’s words come to life for future generations to remember what happened and encourage everyone to find silver linings, think differently and never lose hope. 

Counting Creatures
Julia Donaldson, Sharon King-Chai (Illustrator)

Stunningly crafted by Sharon King-Chai, Julia Donaldson follows up Animalphabet with a visual, numerical voyage through the animal kingdom. With flaps, die-cuts and expertly designed pages, the earliest of learners and the most seasoned readers will enjoy Donaldson’s signature rhymes over and over. Counting Creatures is an admirable addition to any bookshelf and perfect for gift giving.

The World Needs Who You Were Made to Be
Joanna Gaines, Julianna Swaney (Illustrator)

Joanna Gaines knows a thing or two about creativity and turning a challenge into beautiful art. In her second picture book, an inspirational message of acceptance and celebrating uniqueness is paired with and elevated by Julianna Swaney’s harmonious illustrations. A perpetually relevant and necessary concept, teamwork and celebrating our differences can lead to a truly beautiful outcome. “See how beautiful it can be when our differences share the same sky.”

No Reading Allowed: The WORST Read-Aloud Book Ever
Raj Haldar, Chris Carpenter, Bryce Gladfelter (Illustrator)

Philadelphia rapper Raj Haldar is no stranger to wordplay. He and Chris Carpenter are back with another dose of hilarious hi-jinks (or is it high jinks?). Following up their bestselling P Is for Pterodactyl: The Worst Alphabet Book Ever, No Reading Allowed gloriously lays out variations of classic English phrases and spellings. It’s punny, preposterous and … perfect! Great for budding readers and adults navigating the alphabetic absurdity that is the English language. This book is the perfect gift for anyone who enjoys a good laugh.

Young Reader and YA

The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling
Wai Chim

While The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling tackles heavy topics, it does so with nuance and hope. Anna Chiu, a Chinese Australian teenager, struggles to take care of her family while her mother battles a debilitating mental illness and her father runs his restaurant. Many readers will relate to this candid, emotional, yet heartwarming read about cultural identity, familial expectations and the ways in which mental illness can affect our lives. “This is a book with a huge heartbeat and so much love infused in every page. The stoic resilience of the Chiu family is inspiring.” ─ Alice Pung, author of Lucy and Linh

Unlocked (Keeper of the Lost Cities series #8.5)
Shannon Messenger

Just when we thought we knew what was coming next in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series, Shannon Messenger surprised us with Unlocked! Picking up where Legacy left off, Unlocked is told in alternating perspectives from both Sophie and Keefe. Filled with the shocking twists and turns we’ve come to expect from the series, readers are also treated to extensive in-world bonus material. An absolute must-read for all Keeper of the Lost Cities fans.

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories
Holly Black

Finally, Holly Black is giving us the insight into Cardan’s life and mind that we’ve needed from the start. This beautifully illustrated addition to the Folk in the Air trilogy is a must-read for fans of the original series. This time around, the story follows Cardan before, during and after his reign over Elfhame, as well as his relationship with Jude. This rare opportunity to revisit the events of your favorite novels from another perspective is not to be missed. Join Holly Black on Friday, December 4th, at 7 PM ET live on B&N Facebook and YouTube to celebrate the newest release in the Folk of Air series, How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories. If you haven’t indulged in the magic that is Holly Black—what are you waiting for?!

The Ravens
Kass Morgan, Danielle Paige

Incoming freshman Vivi Devereaux and rising senior Scarlett Winter couldn’t be more different — except that they both happen to be secret witches in Westerly College’s mysterious and exclusive Kappa Rho Nu sorority. When cryptic messages begin appearing and threaten to uncover a dark Kappa secret, Vivi and Scarlett must work together to find out who is behind the threats and protect their beloved sisterhood. Equal parts creepy and fun, The Ravens is begging to be adapted for the screen and will make a great read for fans of Riverdale. Beginning Tuesday, November 3rd, when you purchase a copy of The Ravens, you can also grab the Modern Witch Tarot Deck for only $10!

Instant Karma
Marissa Meyer

Bestselling author of the futuristic fairy tale saga The Lunar Chronicles is back with an all new YA romance. What if you had the power to grant instant karma, both good and bad, to those around you? Marissa Meyer took a concept we have all probably wished to have at some point and turned it into a charming and fun story, complete with an enemies-to-lovers romance that will have you swooning. Lessons are learned, sea creatures are saved — what more could you ask for?

A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow
Laura Taylor Namey

Lila Reyes is about to graduate and, like most teenagers, thinks she has it all figured out. Unfortunately, the universe has other ideas, and her plans come crashing down around her without warning. Suddenly, Lila finds herself moving to England, worlds away from the life she knows and loves as a Cuban girl living in Miami. While sweet and charming, this story also explores loss, grief and the growth we experience when we get out of our comfort zone and embrace the unexpected.

The Lost Adventures and Team Avatar Tales (Avatar: The Last Airbender)
Gene Luen Yang, Faith Erin Hicks, Gurihiru (Illustrator), Sara Goetter (Illustrator)

Based on the popular television series Avatar: The Last Airbender comes the comic continuation, back for a wide-ranging exploration through their world. Loads of laughs and beautiful illustrations make this the perfect addition to your bookshelf! Join authors & illustrators Gene Luen Yang and Faith Erin Hicks as they discuss and demo illustrations from Lost Adventures and Team Avatar Tales on Tuesday, November 10th at 7 PM ET live on B&N Facebook and YouTube.

This Is Your Time 
Ruby Bridges

This year, Ruby Bridges celebrated her 66th birthday, cementing the reality that her historical importance as the first African American to desegregate a New Orleans elementary school took place only 60 years ago. Featuring historical photos from the 1960s civil rights movement, This Is Your Time was written as a letter and a symbolic torch passing to today’s youth, in the recent resurgence of the continued fight for racial justice. Norman Rockwell’s 1964 painting The Problem We All Live With (one of our personal favorites) serves as the cover art for the book and will awaken a new generation to our nation’s recent history and the work still to be done, while reminding another of how far we have come.

Comments are closed.

Follow BNReads