B&N Reads, New Releases, paperbacks

New in Paperback June 2024

Our favorite part of kicking off summer is plopping down on a beach chair and devouring paperbacks by the water. If you’re like us, these new paperback releases are perfect for reading on the sand, poolside or road tripping. With stories ranging from the romantic to the historical, literary to magical, you’ll want to stock up on these paperbacks all month long. 

Good Night, Irene: A Novel

Paperback $19.99

Good Night, Irene: A Novel

Good Night, Irene: A Novel

By Luis Alberto Urrea

In Stock Online

Paperback $19.99

A hit B&N Book Club pick now in paperback — based on a true story, this stunning historical epic highlights the untold stories of women’s bravery on the front lines of WWII.

A hit B&N Book Club pick now in paperback — based on a true story, this stunning historical epic highlights the untold stories of women’s bravery on the front lines of WWII.

Fire Weather: On the Front Lines of a Burning World

Paperback $20.00

Fire Weather: On the Front Lines of a Burning World

Fire Weather: On the Front Lines of a Burning World

By John Vaillant

In Stock Online

Paperback $20.00

City dweller, country dweller; climate change impacts us all, even if we’re not facing the kind of deadly forest fire that this critically acclaimed book details. We’re definitely smarter about our natural world after reading this book.

City dweller, country dweller; climate change impacts us all, even if we’re not facing the kind of deadly forest fire that this critically acclaimed book details. We’re definitely smarter about our natural world after reading this book.

A Fever in the Heartland: The Ku Klux Klan's Plot to Take Over America, and the Woman Who Stopped Them

Paperback $18.00

A Fever in the Heartland: The Ku Klux Klan's Plot to Take Over America, and the Woman Who Stopped Them

A Fever in the Heartland: The Ku Klux Klan's Plot to Take Over America, and the Woman Who Stopped Them

By Timothy Egan

In Stock Online

Paperback $18.00

National Book Award winner Timothy Egan takes us back to Jazz Age America to deliver a true story of an American woman shutting down a con man’s plans. This is a smart, entertaining read for fans of David Grann and Erik Larson.

National Book Award winner Timothy Egan takes us back to Jazz Age America to deliver a true story of an American woman shutting down a con man’s plans. This is a smart, entertaining read for fans of David Grann and Erik Larson.

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Paperback $19.00

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

By Gabrielle Zevin

In Stock Online

Paperback $19.00

If you believe in a thing called love (in all of its forms), hop into this journey across time and distance (and pixels) and dig into the universal importance of friendship, human connection, and beyond.

If you believe in a thing called love (in all of its forms), hop into this journey across time and distance (and pixels) and dig into the universal importance of friendship, human connection, and beyond.

The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story

Paperback $25.00

The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story

The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story

Created by Nikole Hannah-Jones , The New York Times Magazine
Editor Caitlin Roper , Ilena Silverman , Jake Silverstein

In Stock Online

Paperback $25.00

New in paperback, this bestselling, conversation-driving anthology features some of our top journalists, historians, poets, essayists, and photographers examining the lasting impacts of slavery in America.

New in paperback, this bestselling, conversation-driving anthology features some of our top journalists, historians, poets, essayists, and photographers examining the lasting impacts of slavery in America.

How to Make a Horror Movie and Survive: A Novel

Paperback $17.99 $19.99

How to Make a Horror Movie and Survive: A Novel

How to Make a Horror Movie and Survive: A Novel

By Craig DiLouie

In Stock Online

Paperback $17.99 $19.99

Equal parts campy and creepy, this ode to slashers will have you pressing play on all your favorite old horror flicks.

Equal parts campy and creepy, this ode to slashers will have you pressing play on all your favorite old horror flicks.

Daydream (Maple Hills Series #3)

Paperback $17.99 $19.99

Daydream (Maple Hills Series #3)

Daydream (Maple Hills Series #3)

By Hannah Grace

In Stock Online

Paperback $17.99 $19.99

Hannah Grace stole our hearts with Icebreaker and Wildfire — and she’s back to do it all over again. Here is a brand new bookish romance to fall in love with.

Hannah Grace stole our hearts with Icebreaker and Wildfire — and she’s back to do it all over again. Here is a brand new bookish romance to fall in love with.

Banyan Moon (A Read with Jenna Pick)

Paperback $18.99

Banyan Moon (A Read with Jenna Pick)

Banyan Moon (A Read with Jenna Pick)

By Thao Thai

In Stock Online

Paperback $18.99

This B&N Discover pick is now in paperback with a multigenerational story of mothers and daughters — and the complicated relationships that come with them.

This B&N Discover pick is now in paperback with a multigenerational story of mothers and daughters — and the complicated relationships that come with them.

The Art Thief: A True Story of Love, Crime, and a Dangerous Obsession

Paperback $18.00

The Art Thief: A True Story of Love, Crime, and a Dangerous Obsession

The Art Thief: A True Story of Love, Crime, and a Dangerous Obsession

By Michael Finkel

In Stock Online

Paperback $18.00

This is the stranger-than-fiction true story of Stéphane Breitweiser’s infamous and incredible career as — you guessed it — one of the world’s most notorious art thieves.

This is the stranger-than-fiction true story of Stéphane Breitweiser’s infamous and incredible career as — you guessed it — one of the world’s most notorious art thieves.

What an Owl Knows: The New Science of the World's Most Enigmatic Birds

Paperback $19.00

What an Owl Knows: The New Science of the World's Most Enigmatic Birds

What an Owl Knows: The New Science of the World's Most Enigmatic Birds

By Jennifer Ackerman

In Stock Online

Paperback $19.00

Fans of our monthly pick An Immense World by Ed Yong and Amy Tan’s The Backyard Bird Chronicles: prepare to obsess over this exploration of a mysterious and magnificent creature.

Fans of our monthly pick An Immense World by Ed Yong and Amy Tan’s The Backyard Bird Chronicles: prepare to obsess over this exploration of a mysterious and magnificent creature.

Summer Romance

Paperback $17.10 $19.00

Summer Romance

Summer Romance

By Annabel Monaghan

In Stock Online

Paperback $17.10 $19.00

Secret romance and mistaken identity are some of our favorite romance tropes, and they come to life in this perfect addition to any beach bag. (This sits nicely next to books from Carley Fortune and Elin Hilderbrand.)

Secret romance and mistaken identity are some of our favorite romance tropes, and they come to life in this perfect addition to any beach bag. (This sits nicely next to books from Carley Fortune and Elin Hilderbrand.)

Kala: A Novel

Paperback $18.00

Kala: A Novel

Kala: A Novel

By Colin Walsh

In Stock Online

Paperback $18.00

What if a Sally Rooney novel read like a thriller? Kala combines relatable characters with a propulsive mystery (on par with that of Tana French) in this electric novel about fleeting youth and the ties that bind.

What if a Sally Rooney novel read like a thriller? Kala combines relatable characters with a propulsive mystery (on par with that of Tana French) in this electric novel about fleeting youth and the ties that bind.

Wellness: A novel

Paperback $19.00

Wellness: A novel

Wellness: A novel

By Nathan Hill

In Stock Online

Paperback $19.00

Nathan Hill (The Nix) knows how to open a novel — we promise you’ll be hooked from the first page — and keep his story moving as his characters learn that the grass isn’t always greener next door.

Nathan Hill (The Nix) knows how to open a novel — we promise you’ll be hooked from the first page — and keep his story moving as his characters learn that the grass isn’t always greener next door.

Women: A Novella

Paperback $16.99

Women: A Novella

Women: A Novella

By Chloe Caldwell

In Stock Online

Paperback $16.99

Messy, truthful and raw — Caldwell’s novella of Queer identity and painful love may be a quick read, but its impact is lasting.

Messy, truthful and raw — Caldwell’s novella of Queer identity and painful love may be a quick read, but its impact is lasting.

Loot: A novel

Paperback $18.00

Loot: A novel

Loot: A novel

By Tania James

In Stock Online

Paperback $18.00

Go from India to France to England in this rollicking (and very smart) tale about who gets to tell stories and make art.

Go from India to France to England in this rollicking (and very smart) tale about who gets to tell stories and make art.

Open Throat: A Novel

Paperback $17.00

Open Throat: A Novel

Open Throat: A Novel

By Henry Hoke

In Stock Online

Paperback $17.00

An absolute marvel of a book, Open Throat packs a serious punch in its 176 unforgettable pages. Both a literal and emotional journey told in the completely original voice of a mountain lion living beneath the Hollywood sign, this is unlike anything you’ve ever read.

An absolute marvel of a book, Open Throat packs a serious punch in its 176 unforgettable pages. Both a literal and emotional journey told in the completely original voice of a mountain lion living beneath the Hollywood sign, this is unlike anything you’ve ever read.

Hearts on Thin Ice: A Novel

Paperback $17.09 $18.99

Hearts on Thin Ice: A Novel

Hearts on Thin Ice: A Novel

By Katie Kennedy

In Stock Online

Paperback $17.09 $18.99

Love is in the air — on and off the ice. If you’ve been obsessing over hockey romances here’s the next one to add to the top of your TBR.

Love is in the air — on and off the ice. If you’ve been obsessing over hockey romances here’s the next one to add to the top of your TBR.

Dragonfall

Paperback $16.20 $18.00

Dragonfall

Dragonfall

By L. R. Lam

In Stock Online

Paperback $16.20 $18.00

Packed with secrets, shapeshifting dragons, romantic tension and non-stop action — you’ll be hooked.

Packed with secrets, shapeshifting dragons, romantic tension and non-stop action — you’ll be hooked.

Wolfsong (Green Creek #1)

Paperback $19.99

Wolfsong (Green Creek #1)

Wolfsong (Green Creek #1)

By TJ Klune

In Stock Online

Paperback $19.99

In the first in the Green Creek series, TJ Klune introduces you to a complex cast of characters that you’ll immediately fall in love with. With werewolves, a hunt and an endearingly tender narrative voice, this is a rewarding read that will ignite a fervor for the rest of the series.

In the first in the Green Creek series, TJ Klune introduces you to a complex cast of characters that you’ll immediately fall in love with. With werewolves, a hunt and an endearingly tender narrative voice, this is a rewarding read that will ignite a fervor for the rest of the series.

Ink Blood Sister Scribe (A Good Morning America Book Club Pick)

Paperback $18.99

Ink Blood Sister Scribe (A Good Morning America Book Club Pick)

Ink Blood Sister Scribe (A Good Morning America Book Club Pick)

By Emma Törzs

In Stock Online

Paperback $18.99

We love books about books, and this one is extra special thanks to the complicated family relationships, extraordinary worldbuilding, and magical edge that has us spellbound.

We love books about books, and this one is extra special thanks to the complicated family relationships, extraordinary worldbuilding, and magical edge that has us spellbound.