BN.com Gift Guide

A Baby for Hannah

( 9 )

Overview

In Jerry Eicher's final, never-before-published book in the Hannah's Heart series, Jake and Hannah Byler are adjusting to life in their Amish community in rural Montana. While Jake works long days as a furniture maker and newly appointed minister, Hannah stays busy keeping their home in order. Both anticipate their baby's birth with joy.

When word of the Mennonite tent revival spreads and worry about losing church members mounts, Hannah's sister arrives and quickly catches the ...

See more details below
Paperback
$10.20
BN.com price
(Save 14%)$11.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (38) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $3.84   
  • Used (31) from $1.99   
A Baby for Hannah

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 12%)$11.99 List Price

Overview

In Jerry Eicher's final, never-before-published book in the Hannah's Heart series, Jake and Hannah Byler are adjusting to life in their Amish community in rural Montana. While Jake works long days as a furniture maker and newly appointed minister, Hannah stays busy keeping their home in order. Both anticipate their baby's birth with joy.

When word of the Mennonite tent revival spreads and worry about losing church members mounts, Hannah's sister arrives and quickly catches the eye of the young bachelor whose brother left the church during the last revival. At the same time, Jake and Hannah's neighbor—an Englisha—announces his interest in one of the Amish widows.

Drawing from his own Amish experiences, Eicher tells this rich story of colliding cultures and gives his growing readership one last glimpse at Jake and Hannah's determination to stay faithful to God and the traditions of their church.

About This Series: The Hannah's Heart series follows Hannah Byler's quest for true love within the traditions of the Amish faith. Although life in rural Montana is unfamiliar and at times dangerous, Hannah learns to thrive as she shoulders new responsibilities, deals with sudden hardships, and embraces her place in this small community of believers.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Living in rural Montana, Jake Byler and his wife, Hannah, await the birth of their first child. Jake works as both an Amish minister and a furniture maker, while Hannah takes care of things at home. Trouble soon develops when word of a Mennonite tent revival hits town. The church lost members during the last revival, and both Hannah and Jake worry they will lose more of their flock. Subplots feature an Englisher (non-Amish) who is interested in one of the Amish widows and a developing relationship between Hannah's sister and a member of Jake's congregation. VERDICT The character-driven, relaxed story line will appeal to readers of Mary Ellis and Suzanne Woods Fisher. As this is the final book in the series, there will be high demand from Eicher's fans.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780736943369
  • Publisher: Harvest House Publishers
  • Publication date: 7/1/2011
  • Series: Hannah's Heart
  • Pages: 277
  • Sales rank: 495,321
  • Product dimensions: 5.38 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 0.78 (d)

Meet the Author

Jerry Eicher taught for two terms in Amish and Mennonite schools in Ohio and Illinois. He writes of his experience growing up Amish in his memoir My Amish Childhood. Jerry has been involved in church renewal, preaching, and teaching Bible studies. He lives with his wife, Tina, and their four children in Virginia.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Authentic Amish Fiction- True to the letter!

    This book, A Baby for Hannah follows in Jerry's tradition of the writing of Amish fiction written true to the Amish faith in all aspects.
    I have read each and every one of his Amish novels and this one was every bit as good as the others. I love the series that Jerry has come up with- and follows through with!
    You feel as if you know and each and every character. When they are going through their periods of trials and challenges, you travel along beside them. Jerry's ability to exhibit the fact that the Amish, although they practice their faith, with peace and forgiveness, still go through difficult times the same as you or I. I felt Hannah's fear of losing her baby once again, as I did Miriam's happiness of finding true love. But this road to happiness had its bumps. Jake, Hannah's husband, as a young preacher, must deal with many difficult decisions , along with family concerns.
    This book, again exhibits humor, drama and the Amish romance as do all of Jerry's books. I just LOVED this book, couldn't put it down, once started!!!
    Can hardly wait to see what the next book brings.
    Book provided by Harvest House and Jerry Eicher in exchange for review purposes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Udhej

    Hzdhj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Third in the series of "Hannah's Heart

    Another Amish story and this is the third in the series of "Hannah's Heart", I didn't get to read the first two so I have no idea what happened before, but as this book begins, Hannah had lost a baby and is now pregnant again. Her young husband Jake has drawn the lot so he is a young preacher for the Amish community.



    There is trouble with some of their members as they are wanting to go to the Mennonites and the Bishop does not like that. Jake does not agree with the other two ministers in what they want to do to the people that decide to change over and the ones that go to the Mennonite revival that is being held near the Amish community.

    Young Jake has a lot of problems with being such a young preacher but everyone loves to hear him. Hannah's older sister is coming for a visit and she is wanting to find her a beau while she is there but the young man she chooses, is not the young man that her aunt wants her to date. Just because of his brother leaving the Amish they are holding that against him.

    Will Hannah be able to carry this baby to full term and will her sister Miriam get her a husband while in Montana?

    Thanks to the author Jerry and to Harvest House Publisher for sending me this book for me to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)