Claudius

Claudius

by Douglas Jackson
     
 

Claudius desires total conquest. Caratacus will fight for freedom. An epic battle is coming, in this second gripping and visceral novel of the Roman invasion of Britain, for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.
 
43 AD: in Southern Britain, Caratacus, chief of the Britons, watches from a hilltop as the scarlet cloaks of&

Overview

Claudius desires total conquest. Caratacus will fight for freedom. An epic battle is coming, in this second gripping and visceral novel of the Roman invasion of Britain, for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.
 
43 AD: in Southern Britain, Caratacus, chief of the Britons, watches from a hilltop as the scarlet cloaks of the Roman army spread across his land like blood. Among them is Rufus, keeper of the Emperor’s elephant, an unwilling participant in the invasion of Britain. The Roman legions smash into the British forces, but just as victory seems at hand, they wait. Reinforcements are coming, led by Emperor Claudius himself. And Rufus will have a very special part to play in the coming epic battle. Heroes will be made and kings will fall in a struggle that will echo through the annals of history.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Jackson triumphs . . . If I were Conn Iggulden or Simon Scarrow, I'd be rather worried by the new Scottish kid on the block."  —Scotsman

"What stands out are Jackson’s superb battle scenes. I lost myself in the riveting depictions of combat . . . I was gripped from start to finish."  —Ben Kane, author, The Forgotten Legion

"A master of his discipline rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today."  —Daily Express

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780552156950
Publisher:
Transworld Publishers Limited
Publication date:
02/01/2011
Pages:
464
Sales rank:
800,132
Product dimensions:
4.50(w) x 7.00(h) x 1.10(d)

Meet the Author

Douglas Jackson is an assistant editor at the Scotsman.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >