Driven

Driven

by Lisa Nowak
Driven

Driven

by Lisa Nowak

eBook

$4.99 

Available on Compatible NOOK devices, the free NOOK App and in My Digital Library.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The last thing on Jess DeLand's wish list is a boyfriend. She'd have to be crazy to think any guy would look twice at her. Besides, there are more important things to hope for, like a job working on cars and an end to her mom's drinking. Foster care is a constant threat, and Jess is willing to sacrifice anything to stay out of the system.

When luck hands her the chance to work on a race car, she finds herself rushing full throttle into a world of opportunities—including a boy who doesn't mind the grease under her fingernails. But can a girl who keeps herself locked up tighter than Richard Petty's racing secrets open up enough to risk friendship and her first romance?

This companion to Running Wide Open and Getting Sideways is a heartwarming story of friendship and trust. Popular with both stock car racing enthusiasts and readers who don't know a tailpipe from a tie-rod end, it's perfect for fans of Chris Crutcher, Laurie Halse Anderson, and John Green.

"The first romance is captured beautifully--just the right combination of natural and awkward, of eager and scared." ~ Bob Martin, writing professor, Pacific Northwest College of Art

While Driven is the third book in the Full Throttle series, it serves as an alternate entry point, particularly for girls who love science or sports.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940014482011
Publisher: Webfoot Publishing
Publication date: 05/02/2012
Series: Full Throttle , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 340
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

In addition to being a YA author, Lisa Nowak is a retired amateur stock car racer, an accomplished cat whisperer, and a professional smartass. She writes coming-of-age books about kids in hard luck situations who learn to appreciate their own value after finding mentors who love them for who they are. She enjoys dark chocolate and stout beer and constantly works toward employing wu wei in her life, all the while realizing that the struggle itself is an oxymoron.

Lisa has no spare time, but if she did she'd use it to tend to her expansive perennial garden, watch medical dramas, take long walks after dark, and teach her cats to play poker. For those of you who might be wondering, she is not, and has never been, a diaper-wearing astronaut. She lives in Milwaukie, Oregon, with her husband, several feline companions, and two giant sequoias.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews