An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat

An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat

3.8 7
by Glen Cook
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The Dread Empire, a gritty world of larger-than-life plots, nation-shattering conflict, maddening magic, strange creatures, and raw, flawed heroes, all shown through the filter of Glen Cook's inimitable war-correspondent prose. The Dread Empire, spanning from the highest peaks of the Dragon's Teeth to the endless desert lands of Hammad al Nakir, from besieged

Overview

The Dread Empire, a gritty world of larger-than-life plots, nation-shattering conflict, maddening magic, strange creatures, and raw, flawed heroes, all shown through the filter of Glen Cook's inimitable war-correspondent prose. The Dread Empire, spanning from the highest peaks of the Dragon's Teeth to the endless desert lands of Hammad al Nakir, from besieged Kavelin to mighty Shinshan, the Empire Unacquainted with Defeat, with its fearless, masked soldiers, known as the Demon Guard... An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat collects all of Glen Cook's short fiction set in the vast world of the Dread Empire, from "The Nights of Dreadful Silence", featuring the first appearance of Bragi Ragnarson, Mocker, and Haroun bin Yousif, to the culture-clashing novella "Soldier of an Empire Unacquainted with Defeat"; from "Silverheels", Cook's first published work of fiction, to "Hell's Forge", a haunting tale of cursed pirates and strange lands, appearing here for the first time. Also including a detailed introduction and extensive story notes by Glen Cook, An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat charts the development of this influential American author and the massive, multifaceted world that he created.

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
These 10 shadowy short stories take place in the same world as Cook's 1980s Dread Empire sword and sorcery novels. “Ghost Stalk,” “Call for the Dead” and the previously unpublished “Hell Forge” form an episodic tale of a damned crew's quest to escape hell. The other stories stand alone but share settings and characters, including the despotic empire itself, which lurks as an unseen but omnipresent menace. In this gloomy world, all are subject to the whims of those above them, quests rarely end happily and comic elements are limited to gallows humor. Fans of Fritz Leiber and Steven Erikson will enjoy these unjustly overlooked tales. (Sept.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781597801881
Publisher:
Night Shade Books
Publication date:
07/01/2010
Series:
Dread Empire Series
Pages:
288
Sales rank:
551,867
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.90(d)

Meet the Author

Born in 1944, Glen Cook grew up in northern California, served in the U.S. Navy, and attended the University of Missouri. Cook began to write while working for General Motors at an auto assembly plant. He has published many science fiction and fantasy novels, including the Garrett P.I. series of novels about an occult-detective, and the very popular Black Company books, and the Dread Empire series. He retired from his job at GM and lives near St. Louis, Missouri, with his wife Carol.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Empire Unacquainted with Defeat 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked the characters and world of the Dread Empire series getting a bit more flsh on their bones, so to speak. It added depth to the existing story lines but it also made the world easier to envision. Without leaving spoilers, I will at least say that the three Vengeful Dragon stories were my favorites and made the entire read well worth the time. I liked all of the stories but even if I hadn't, those were enough for me to recommend the book.
ClippedWings More than 1 year ago
I've not yet read the other books in the series but I've enjoyed this collection of short stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
YumaReader More than 1 year ago
Fantastic background stories in the Dread Empire series. Each one has the Glen Cook gritty realism, twists and surprises and provide much appreciated information in the Dread Empire universe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago