HATTERAS BLUE [NOOK Book]

Overview

"There can be no better writer of modern sea adventure around today." ? Clive Cussler

USA Today-bestselling author David Poyer writes gripping undersea thrillers in the tradition of Clive Cussler and John D. MacDonald. On a moonless night in March, 1945, a Coast Guard destroyer sank a German U-Boat fifty miles off Hatteras Island, the Graveyard of the Atlantic. Now, a half-century later, the mummified corpses of three of its crewmen, wrapped in a decaying rubber raft, come to light during the excavation for a ...
See more details below
HATTERAS BLUE

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.99
BN.com price

Overview

"There can be no better writer of modern sea adventure around today." – Clive Cussler

USA Today-bestselling author David Poyer writes gripping undersea thrillers in the tradition of Clive Cussler and John D. MacDonald. On a moonless night in March, 1945, a Coast Guard destroyer sank a German U-Boat fifty miles off Hatteras Island, the Graveyard of the Atlantic. Now, a half-century later, the mummified corpses of three of its crewmen, wrapped in a decaying rubber raft, come to light during the excavation for a new shopping development. Their reappearance unleashes a tide of powerful forces . . . neo-Nazis with a ruthless plan to corner the South American drug market, an Isreali intelligence operative, and a shadowy, wealthy "historian" with his own, even more dangerous plan.

When Hatteras native, salvage diver, and ex-con Lyle "Tiller" Galloway III starts digging into the discovery, he's forced by a black island family cheated of their beachfront land to take on a dangerous silent partner. Together, he and Shadrach Aydlett will track down what actually happened in the Carolina sand hills so long before, and what everyone's really after . . . tons of long-lost Nazi gold. And finally, face down a ruthless killer in a gut-wrenching battle that climaxes hundreds of feet beneath the surface.

Taut with vividly-told diving scenes, and delving deep into the rich lore and oral traditions of the Outer Banks, HATTERAS BLUE's rare original hardcover edition sells for over a hundred dollars. This new ebook edition has been revised and updated by the author to make it even more fast-paced, exciting, and authentic.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Muncie Star - Staff Writer
"Compelling! One of the best mystery adventures about the sea I've encountered."
Ocala Star-Banner - Staff Reviewer
"Plot twists and turns that chart a tricky course through the deep waters of human need and greed."
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940016168302
  • Publisher: Northampton House Press
  • Publication date: 1/1/2013
  • Series: The Tiller Galloway Novels , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 277,756
  • File size: 281 KB

Meet the Author

Millions of copies of Dave Poyer's thirty-plus bestsellers are in print, including THE MED, THE GULF, THE CIRCLE, THE PASSAGE, TOMAHAWK, CHINA SEA, BLACK STORM, THE COMMAND, THE THREAT, KOREA STRAIT, THE WEAPON, THE CRISIS, and THE TOWERS, bestselling novels of the modern Navy and Marine Corps; historical fiction set during the Civil War; the Hemlock County thrillers, THE DEAD OF WINTER, WINTER IN THE HEART, AS THE WOLF LOVES WINTER, and THUNDER ON THE MOUNTAIN; and the other Tiller Galloway diving adventures, BAHAMAS BLUE, LOUISIANA BLUE, and DOWN TO A SUNLESS SEA. Poyer's work has been translated into Japanese, Dutch, and Italian, and rights and options have been sold for films. A sport diver and sailor, he lives on Virginia's Eastern Shore and teaches writing at Wilkes University.

Facebook: David Poyer
Website: www.poyer.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    Shallow book about a deep dive

    Testosterone and sea water. This is fast, formulaic men's adventure fiction with no literary pretentions of any kind. What's the sunken German sub's cargo? Why did three men come ashore on the Outer Banks from the doomed u-boat? Haven't we seen these plot elements in other books? An okay way to kill time in an airport or in a crowded subway car where concentration is impossible. Heaven help us if Clive Cussler's book cover blurb is true and 'There can be no better writer of modern sea adventure around today.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)