The Heretic: A Templar Chronicles Novel

The Heretic: A Templar Chronicles Novel

4.0 43
by Joseph Nassise
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Looking for an urban fantasy series in the tradition of Jim Butcher, Richard Kadrey, and Kevin Hearne? Check out the high-octane thrills and supernatural chills of the Templar Chronicles!

Cade Williams was just an ordinary cop until the night he came face to face with a fallen angel known as the Adversary and nearly died. Now he commands the Echo Team, a special ops

…  See more details below

Overview

Looking for an urban fantasy series in the tradition of Jim Butcher, Richard Kadrey, and Kevin Hearne? Check out the high-octane thrills and supernatural chills of the Templar Chronicles!

Cade Williams was just an ordinary cop until the night he came face to face with a fallen angel known as the Adversary and nearly died. Now he commands the Echo Team, a special ops squad of modern Templar knights, and the things they hunt are far darker and much more deadly than your average criminals.

When Templar bases are attacked by unknown foes, Cade and his team are called out to investigate. They discover a cabal of necromancers allied with the Adversary and are forced to take the battle to the enemy to keep them from stealing the power of an ancient relic for their own nefarious ends.

Vengeance is mine, sayeth the Lord, but Cade's been known to bend a rule or two and right now he's got a score to settle...

Praise for THE HERETIC - book one of the internationally bestselling urban fantasy series by the author of EYES TO SEE and BY THE BLOOD OF HEROES.

"First-rate, stylish work from Mr. Nassise, with a steady escalation of the story's speed that makes it almost literally breath-taking." -- Clive Barker

"A breakneck-paced thriller that delivers on the thrills and tosses in more than a few more chills." -- Kelley Armstrong

"THE HERETIC is a genre-bending thrill ride that heralds the debut of a urban fantasy series to watch...and enjoy." -- Cemetery Dance Magazine

File in your ebook library under supernatural thrillers, urban fantasy series, templar, dark fantasy, top fantasy novels, supernatural creatures, action adventure books

ALSO AVAILABLE:
A Scream of Angels (Templar Chronicles dark fantasy series)
A Tear in the Sky (Templar Chronicles dark fantasy series)
Infernal Games (Templar Chronicles dark fantasy series)
By the Blood of Heroes (Zombie steampunk alternate history)
On Her Majesty's Behalf (Zombie steampunk alternate history)
Eyes to See (Jeremiah Hunt supernatural thriller)
King of the Dead (Jeremiah Hunt supernatural thriller)
Watcher of the Dark (Jeremiah Hunt supernatural thriller)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780615515670
Publisher:
Harbinger Books
Publication date:
02/29/2012
Pages:
252
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.53(d)

Meet the Author

Joseph Nassise is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than a thirty novels, including the internationally acclaimed TEMPLAR CHRONICLES series, the JEREMIAH HUNT trilogy, and the GREAT UNDEAD WAR series. He also writes epic fantasy under the pseudonym Matthew Caine.

His work has been nominated for both the Bram Stoker Award and the International Horror Guild Award and has been translated into half a dozen languages to date. He also served two terms as president of the Horror Writers Association, the world's largest organization of professional horror and dark fantasy writers.

For more information about Joe's work, visit him on the web at josephnassise.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Heretic 4 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 43 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is start of a series I waited to read them until thought was all finished. Now am waiting for one #5 to be finished. I hate to start reading then not be able to read all. The first 4 are very short so you may want to just get all at one time if you are a fast read fast. The books are very good and keep you interested until end. Just too short.
chilepepper99 More than 1 year ago
A bad-ass modern day Templar Knight who fights evil and monsters.....What's not to like? Get this book; you won't be disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So the Templars are full of Stallone, Willis, Van Damme types. Tough guys that work for the church. Cade Williams is just another tormented action hero (or anti-hero, more like it) who's bent on revenge. I guess this will sound all too familiar: his wife's been taken by a powerful, evil enemy, and Cade's life has been marked by this. Same old story but the heroes here do not belong to the the marines, the police force... but templars. If you're in the mood for some mindless action, this book will be fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written. The plot was very interesting and the characters had a lot of depth. Worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are a multitude of novels out there that use gods and magic as a plot device - and most of them follow the same path in how these supernatural concepts are used. Thankfully, this novel is different. The Knights Templar are modernized, and their duties and purpose are made current as well. The way the powers of both benevolent and malevolent forces are used is entertaining, as is the way these powers are obtained and used by those with them. This novel is short and sweet, and is a very entertaining read. I'm definitely looking forward to reading the rest of this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book, I found it engrossing and plan to read the rest of the series. If you like military Sci Fi this is woryh a look.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you dont mind minor profanity and the mix of magic and religion this is something you might like. The story will suck you in doesn't slow down till the end. Its a free book pick it up and i bet you will buy the rest. I did
niah More than 1 year ago
it was alright to read but the editing or whatever you do to put it into e-book format needs some looking at.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. Fast paced from start to end. Worth your time
Hosanna More than 1 year ago
Engrossing and twisted. Dancing on the edge of apocalyptic disaster, Cade and his knights templar fight to keep the world from falling into ruin. Loaded Catholic symbolism, this dark urban fantasy series should draw a following. 4.5 Stars *I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review*
jlgc More than 1 year ago
Looking forward to reading more. Templars, creatures, modern day setting, fast action.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story line. Going enjoy reading the next two.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Loved it! Great story redemption to be had
Anonymous 11 months ago
Excellent read. Could not guess what was coming next. Can't wait to read more in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If the succeeding books are as full of action, buy them all! Cade is one of the best bad boy heroes I have read lately!
Anonymous 19 days ago
Honestly did not get very far before realizing it was not a book for me to read
Anonymous 5 months ago
The action really moves this book along. Good characters and a good plot. Really worth the read.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Anonymous 11 months ago
Action packed full of black magic and powerful good guys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my normal reading material but really enjoyed this book! Looking forward to reading the others in this series. Great story with likeable characters.
DLH47 More than 1 year ago
Well written and moves quickly. Anyone who likes Science fiction and adventure will enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago