×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Necropath (Bengal Station Series #1)
     

Necropath (Bengal Station Series #1)

4.3 3
by Eric Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

1. This is classic SF from the author of HELIX.

2. Will appeal to mystery fans, as well as a core science fiction readership.

3. Will appeal to fans of Richard Morgan and Alastair Reynolds.

4. This novel has generated interest from movie production companies.

5. Author will be promoting at conventions and events, including BEA.

Science fiction

Overview

1. This is classic SF from the author of HELIX.

2. Will appeal to mystery fans, as well as a core science fiction readership.

3. Will appeal to fans of Richard Morgan and Alastair Reynolds.

4. This novel has generated interest from movie production companies.

5. Author will be promoting at conventions and events, including BEA.

Science fiction meets crime noir, as Jeff Vaughan, jaded telepath, employed by the spaceport authorities on Bengal Station, discovers a sinister cult that worships a mysterious alien god. We follow Vaughan as he attempts to solve the murders and save himself from the psichopath out to kill him. This is Eric Brown's triumphant return to hard SF.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Mystery, fantasy and science fiction create a backdrop for this far-flung story with an uneasy conclusion. Jeff Vaughan, telepath in hiding, uncovers a bizarre shipment being smuggled from colony planet Verkerk's World: a young human girl, apparently an important cult figure, accompanying a mysterious shielded container. The colony is also the source of rhapsody, a potent drug, and when a friend overdoses under odd circumstances, Vaughan suspects a connection. He and cop Jimmy Chandra set off for Verkerk's World and soon uncover a plot around a rhapsody-fueled religion. As the body count rises, Vaughan starts to wonder whether he's battling a lethal alien force or blocking humanity from achieving transcendence. Brown (Kéthani) sketches a complex future world full of bitter idealists, strange aliens and fantastic landscapes where nothing is as it seems. (Oct.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781844166022
Publisher:
Rebellion
Publication date:
09/30/2008
Series:
Bengal Station Series , #1
Pages:
416
Sales rank:
1,130,231
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.20(d)

Meet the Author

Born in West Yorkshire, England in 1960, Brown has lived in Australia, India, and Greece. He began writing when he was fifteen and sold his first short story to Interzone in 1986. His story “The Time-Lapsed Man” won the Interzone readers’ poll for the most admired story of 1988. He has won the British Science Fiction Award twice for his short stories and has published over twenty books: SF novels, collections, books for teenagers and younger children, as well as radio plays, articles and reviews. His latest books include the collection Threshold Shift, the novella The Extraordinary Voyage of Jules Verne, and the children's book Crazy Love. He is married to the writer and mediaevalist Finn Sinclair, and has one daughter, Freya. His website can be found at: : http://ericbrownsf.port5.com/

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Necropath (Bengal Station Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Viewfrombehindthewheel More than 1 year ago
I was drawn to reading this book because of the interesting looking cover art and its setting of an intergalactic ship station in the Bay of Bengal. Its list of characters included not-often-used Thais and Indians. Its a story of love, mind possession, and a somewhat atheistic slant on religious belief as delusion.