Silent Enemy

Silent Enemy

4.2 18
by Thomas W. Young
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A novel of courage and terror from the author of Sand and Fire and The Warriors...
Estimated time of arrival: Never...

When a terrorist bombing strikes a police training center in Kabul, Afghanistan, many are killed. The wounded, including Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, are loaded onto a C-5 Galaxy bound for Germany. But after takeoff, aircraft

Overview

A novel of courage and terror from the author of Sand and Fire and The Warriors...
Estimated time of arrival: Never...

When a terrorist bombing strikes a police training center in Kabul, Afghanistan, many are killed. The wounded, including Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, are loaded onto a C-5 Galaxy bound for Germany. But after takeoff, aircraft commander Michael Parson receives a message: the jihadists have placed bombs on planes leaving Afghanistan—and his is one of them. They are trapped in the air. And if they descend, they will die.As the air­craft deteriorates and the patients grow worse, Parson, Gold, and the crew are pushed to the breaking point—and their biggest challenge has yet to show itself.
For the enemy is already closer than any of them can dare to imagine…
"Fans of Clancy, Coonts, and Dale Brown need to add Young to their must-read lists." (Booklist)

Editorial Reviews

Booklist

“Fans of Clancy, Coonts, and Dale Brown need to add Young to their must reads lists.”
Vince Flynn

 “One of the most exciting new thriller talents in years!”
Alex Berenson

“There are writers, and there are fighters—readers are lucky that Tom Young is both.”
From the Publisher
 “One of the most exciting new thriller talents in years!” — Vince Flynn, #1 New York Times bestselling author

 “There are writers, and there are fighters—readers are lucky that Tom Young is both.” — Alex Berenson, #1 New York Times bestselling author

 “Fans of Clancy, Coonts, and Dale Brown need to add Young to their must reads lists.” — Booklist

 “Young is an excellent storyteller, creating memorable characters with Hemingway-like understatement and precision.” — Kirkus Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Young's riveting follow-up to The Mullah's Storm is an airborne version of the movie Speed. Soon after takeoff from Afghanistan, Maj. Michael Parson, the pilot of a giant C-5 Galaxy flying patients injured in a terrorist bombing to Germany for medical care, receives the message that there's a bomb on board and it's set to go off if the plane descends to a lower altitude. Sgt. Maj. Sophia Gold, who starred with Parson in The Mullah's Storm, lends a helping hand as the members of the air crew struggle to survive. Besides the bomb threat, they're running out of fuel; they're beset by storms with deadly lightning, devastating hail, and hurricane force winds; an active volcano is spewing ash into the atmosphere; and unfriendly nations that won't allow them to land even if they can defuse the bomb are trying to shoot them out of the air. Aviation thriller aficionados will cheer, and readers of any genre will gnaw their fingernails to the quick. Author tour. (Aug.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425250280
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/05/2012
Series:
A Parson and Gold Novel Series
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
504,515
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 7.50(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Tom Young has logged nearly 4,000 hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Bosnia, Kosovo, and elsewhere, including Latin America, the Horn of Africa, and the Far East. Military honors include two Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He continues to serve with the Air National Guard as a Senior Master Sergeant.

He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Silent Enemy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just a fair read. An old story done over again. Almost a flashback on every page. The author clearly lets you know he's a pilot. So what? Too much detail about stuff nobody cares about.
Kittyb1 More than 1 year ago
Tom Young again keeps you captive with this heart stopping saga of a bomb aboard a C-5 Galaxy with Major Parsons at the controls. As with his previous book, The Mullah's Storm, he grabs you from the first page and never lets go. Mr. Young is capable of putting you right there in the cockpit with the amazing Major and you feel every emotion he experiences. Sgt. Major Gold is back and she is stong, capable and enduring through this action filled flight. If you want to get completely absorbed in a book...this is the one for you.
oriole25b More than 1 year ago
A riveting sequel to The Mullahs Storm. I enjoyed this book and found it hard to put it down. I am hoping there will be a third book to come.
tottman More than 1 year ago
Silent Enemy begins with a bang, literally. The Afghan National Police training center is attacked with a bomb. The survivors, many of them injured, are evacuated by transport planes. Once the planes are airborne, it is discovered that bombs have also been placed aboard several of the planes. The story is told from alternating viewpoints through the eyes of the pilot, Major Michael Parson, and one of the teachers from the school, Sergeant Major Sophia Gold. The plane can't descend without triggering the bomb and no country wants to let them land. Almost the entirety of the story takes place in the air. The plane is on autopilot most of that time, and unfortunately, so is the storytelling. The two main characters are supposed to be engaging, I suspect, but I didn't feel much for either of them. There's an odd romantic angle, as Parson has romantic feelings for Gold; she seems unaware and doesn't really reciprocate. They never talk about their feelings and that element of the plot sort of remains limp and unresolved. Thin characterization in a thriller can be forgiven if the story or the threat they are facing is itself exciting, but that falls flat here as well. There are a few action sequences scattered throughout, but the intensity isn't quite there. The thrill of a mid-air refueling is not terribly exciting when all is said and done. There are exchanges with Major Gold's Afghani students, reminiscences from both Gold and Parson about past trials they faced together, and several passages describing clouds and water as viewed from 30,000 feet. There are a couple of obvious "what are they thinking" moments, but I wasn't invested enough by that point to really be upset. There are a few mildly exciting moments, but not enough to make this a recommended read. The premise seems like it had potential, and I was looking forward to it on that basis, but instead the book misses it's mark. I received an ARC of Silent Enemy by Thomas W. Young through Library Thing's early reviewer giveaway.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is truly a thriller. New frightening problems continuously arise throughout the book and all this taking place in flight abroad a military aircraft that has a live bomb hidden in the tail section. The sensory emotions of his characters were in sync with the harrowing situation that they were facing. Their Silent enemy was with them throughout the book. I also liked that the author also related the conditions in his novel with real life historical events. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a real thriller and also to those who love stories about military aircraft and those who fly them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WallyWC More than 1 year ago
Great book. Very riveting. Still enjoying the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ronrose More than 1 year ago
This book is a fitting tribute to the men and woman of our armed services, who face danger throughout the world in an effort to bring peace and stability to people here and abroad. Told from the viewpoint of one who knows. No this isn't the first book about a bomb on an airplane. The uniqueness lies in the fact that the aircraft is a U.S. military aircraft. Terrorist bombs have supposedly been placed on this and other aircraft while they were at a secure base in Afghanistan. If you can get past this and allow the story to unfold, you will get a real thrill ride. The main characters are Air Force Major Michael Parson and Army Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, who met in Young's first novel, The Mullah's Storm, while transporting a terrorist for interrogation. This time they are trapped on a C-5, the U.S. Air Force's largest transport aircraft, with a load of critically wounded victims of an Afghan terrorist's attack. Major Parson doesn't know until after takeoff that terrorists have possibly planted bombs on many of the aircraft from his base of departure. When his worst fears are confirmed, he finds himself, his crew, and passengers trapped miles above the earth unable to land for fear the aircraft's descent will trigger the bomb. Add to this the mechanical failures of an aircraft built before any of it's crew were even born, as well as the creeping fear that any of the wounded on board may be another terrorist and you have a volatile situation ready to explode at any time. I would have liked to see a bit more character development in the secondary characters. This book was provide for review by the well read folks at Library Thing and G.P. Putnam's Sons.
goodbook More than 1 year ago
It is a should read, and already ordered his new book Renagad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book a thriller from start to finish! I loved it even though there was a decent amout of profanity
Gnugnu More than 1 year ago
Excellent, exiting read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book read in a long time