×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Silver Serpent (The Absent Gods, #1)
     

The Silver Serpent (The Absent Gods, #1)

3.9 9
by David Debord
 

See All Formats & Editions

The frost creeps again...

Taught the sword from childhood, Shanis Malan's only dream is to be a soldier, but a woman cannot join the Galdoran army. She thinks her dream has come true when Prince Lerryn hosts a tournament in her town, but circumstances snatch her from her home and carry her into the midst of a quest for a legendary artifact that can save

Overview

The frost creeps again...

Taught the sword from childhood, Shanis Malan's only dream is to be a soldier, but a woman cannot join the Galdoran army. She thinks her dream has come true when Prince Lerryn hosts a tournament in her town, but circumstances snatch her from her home and carry her into the midst of a quest for a legendary artifact that can save the world from the minions of the Ice King. Join Shanis and her friends on a perilous quest for the Silver Serpent.

“A enjoyable blend of adventure, intrigue, and humor. Fans of Terry Brooks and David Eddings could easily enjoy The Silver Serpent.” Fantasy Book Critic

 “A superb story told believably and unpretentiously by a superb new author.”  Hugo Award Winner Ron Miller

 

 

Product Details

BN ID:
2940152223200
Publisher:
Gryphonwood Press
Publication date:
05/18/2015
Series:
Absent Gods , #1
Sold by:
Draft2Digital
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
105,003
File size:
416 KB
Age Range:
13 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Silver Serpent 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Vargo_Hoat More than 1 year ago
The Absent Gods promises to be a great fantasy series. It's a bit like Robert Jordan, a bit like Feist. The characters are very believable. Everyone has their good and bad points and little quirks. You find yourself forgetting this is just a book, and soon you are absorbed in the story. Good stuff!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In a land where magic is dying and nations teeter on the verge of war, three young people are preoccupied with their own concerns. Shanis is a tomboy who wants to be a soldier. Hierm is an unappreciated second son who wants to escape his father's expectations. Bookish Oskar wants to see the places he's heard of in stories and read about in books. They all believe their dreams have come true, but they soon learn that a greater evil lurks beyond the mountains, and they find themselves on a quest for the Silver Serpent- a mysterious talisman that can save their land. There is plenty to like in this story: plot twists abound, the lands and cultures are intriguing, and Debord adds a layer of mystery to the story. The characters are searching for the Silver Serpent, but they don't know what it is what it does, much less where to find it. The sai-kurs, an order of sorcerers/ambassadors operate with their own agenda that is not revealed in this, the first volume of The Absent Gods. The plot focuses on two competing factions who are on identical quests, yet completely unaware of one another. The best part of this story, though, is the characters. No character is totally good or bad. The characters who annoy you at first tend to grow on you, and the ones that seem great at the outset have their own warts. All of the main characters grow and change over the course of the book. The most memorable is Prince Lerryn, a truly complex 'flawed hero.' Debord offers hints of an expansive world replete with a variety of unique cultures and political motivations, but we are introduced to only a small corner of this world. Magic exists, but plays a minimal role, as we are told that magic has been dwindling for some time. Many colorful secondary characters are introduced, but the reader gets the feeling that this first book in the series only scratches the surface of what promises to be an expansive series. Debord has cited Robert Jordan as his biggest influence, which makes one wonder if he will spin his web as wide as Jordan did, as the groundwork appears to have been lain for an epic of great breadth if he chooses to go in that direction. The negative for many will be the fact that this story is a 'quest' story like so many that have come before. The characters begin in the small, rural village and embark upon a journey to find the talisman that will save the world. Of course, the story is unique, but if you don't like the traditional quest story, you'll have a hard time enjoying this book. The Silver Serpent is a gripping epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan, Raymond Feist and David Eddings. If you are looking for a fresh, new voice in the traditional form, I highly recommend this first installment of what promises to be a memorable series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
314 nook pages. Fantastic book all on its own. But being the first in a series, this book was exciting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jlgc More than 1 year ago
The Silver Serpent is the first in the three part fantasy series The Absent Gods by David DeBord (aka David Wood). It is written for young adults, however everyone would enjoy the series. Our main players are Shanis, Hierm, Oskar, and Khalyndryn, a group of 16 year olds. Excitement has come to their little village in the form of the Prince of the realm and a tournament. Shanis and Hierm make it to the final rounds of the sword competition however, something goes awry, and they find themselves along with their two friends running from the prince’s elite guard. Fairly soon in their travels they assist two young men in repealing a group of thieves. Seems the young men, Larris and Allyn, are on a quest following clues from prophesy to find a weapon that has been hidden for centuries. In a world of magic and missing gods, the kids are on the adventure of a lifetime. With several storylines interweaving we are introduced to a wonderful world with all too human problems. Those who enjoy fantasy, magic, adventure, and, yes, some fun, will find it well worth their while to spend some time getting to know this special world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JSK1950 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was a steal on E books. Reminds me a bit of Raymond Feist. The characters were good, the story moved along well, and there was a good amount of action. I am ready for book 2.